Homebrew grape, an Apple II emulator

lemonmeister

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 7, 2013
Messages
18
Trophies
0
XP
140
Country
United States
Hello there, it seems that the Nintendo DS scene is hard to die heh

https://github.com/LemonBoy/grape

Go grab it (no builds, compile it yourselves) and report back :P
You need a loader that supports the argv protocol (Woodr4/Woodrpg/whatever) as there's no file chooser menu.
For Wood* users just slap this in your /__rpg/associations.ini file (adjust the path if you didn't place grape.nds in the root)
Code:
[nib]
launcher=fat0:/grape.nds
[dsk]
launcher=fat0:/grape.nds
[po]
launcher=fat0:/grape.nds
[do]
launcher=fat0:/grape.nds
Also, place the basic rom along with the nds file, named BASIC.ROM (DL)
Press start to pause the emulation and enter the menu. When the keys are mapped to the joystick BXY are the three joystick pushbuttons, the keyboard mapping is a temporary one that should work for most games (HJKL are assigned to direction keys, A is return and B space).
Read the damn README before asking questions.
Bug reports and feature requests are welcome.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ipwndeveloper

Snailface

My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
4,324
Trophies
1
Age
38
Location
Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
XP
2,221
this sounds fun but installing software to compile this myself does not. why not just release a binary?

-another world
Strange isn't it? I can't imagine working on a program for weeks or months and then deciding not to spend an extra 5 minutes to compile it so my audience can enjoy it. The lolsnes guy did this same goofy thing.

Anyway, enough of my griping, here's the attached binary:
 

Attachments

  • grape-master.zip
    125.2 KB · Views: 483

Xexyz

GBATemp's™ Official Xexyz
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2013
Messages
1,404
Trophies
0
Location
沖縄県
XP
820
Country
United States
Strange isn't it? I can't imagine working on a program for weeks or months and then deciding not to spend an extra 5 minutes to compile it so my audience can enjoy it. The lolsnes guy did this same goofy thing.

Anyway, enough of my griping, here's the attached binary:
It doesn't work no$gba. :(
 

the_randomizer

The Temp's official fox whisperer
Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2011
Messages
31,284
Trophies
2
Age
37
Location
Dr. Wahwee's castle
XP
18,927
Country
United States
Strange isn't it? I can't imagine working on a program for weeks or months and then deciding not to spend an extra 5 minutes to compile it so my audience can enjoy it. The lolsnes guy did this same goofy thing.

Anyway, enough of my griping, here's the attached binary:


Lolsnes has automatic builds now, so you don't have to wait for anyone to compile the source :P
 

Snailface

My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
4,324
Trophies
1
Age
38
Location
Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
XP
2,221
Lolsnes has automatic builds now, so you don't have to wait for anyone to compile the source :P
Well good, maybe the dude in this thread will be inspired to reform his ways as well. :P
It doesn't work no$gba. :(
Its was a successful build with no errors on the latest devkitpro, but I can't vouch for the quality of the source code. It did boot fine on my DSi. Use real hardware when possible.
 
  • Like
Reactions: the_randomizer

Arisotura

rise of melonism
Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2009
Messages
839
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
center of the Sun
Website
kuribo64.net
XP
2,452
Country
France
Strange isn't it? I can't imagine working on a program for weeks or months and then deciding not to spend an extra 5 minutes to compile it so my audience can enjoy it. The lolsnes guy did this same goofy thing.
The "lolsnes guy" first did this goofy thing because lolSnes wasn't ready for a release yet.

You'll notice that now, it is released as a build, and there are even Git builds available (one new build every time a commit is made).


It doesn't work no$gba. :(
I guess this is because NO$GBA doesn't emulate a flashcard. If you really want to use an emulator, you can try the latest DeSmuME. Or just use a DS.
 

lemonmeister

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 7, 2013
Messages
18
Trophies
0
XP
140
Country
United States
I've released grape here to collect some feedback as I can't play every damn Apple II game, it's alpha quality after all! (A damn good alpha quality tho)
Anyway, you *need* to use it on real HW, not even Desmume can handle it properly right now.
 

lemonmeister

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 7, 2013
Messages
18
Trophies
0
XP
140
Country
United States
I've made a couple of fixes here and there, it's slightly faster than before (playing karateka w/o vsync is awesome) heh
The bottleneck here is the hi-res video rendering routine, I'm glad to accept pull requests if you can make it faster :)
Also, there are plans to support the AppleIIc hardware (did anyone say Prince of Persia ?) in the (near/far) future...
TL;DR Here's a compiled build :)
 

Vague Rant

Deceptively cute
Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
2,389
Trophies
0
Location
Melbourne
Website
vaguerant.tumblr.com
XP
2,485
Country
Have you or do you plan to support file selection within the app, for those of us who don't have flash cards with argument support? Or is there an alternative method to run it like launching it through Moonshell or something?
 

lemonmeister

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 7, 2013
Messages
18
Trophies
0
XP
140
Country
United States
WinterMute's HBmenu provides argv support, just create a file named grape.argv with the path to the grape rom and the path to the AppleII rom you want to load.
I know it's a bit difficult to setup but writing the code for the file selector is definitely boring. Really boring.
Anyway, a good news, I've found a nice way to speed up the graphic rendering \o/
 
  • Like
Reactions: ipwndeveloper

Vague Rant

Deceptively cute
Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
2,389
Trophies
0
Location
Melbourne
Website
vaguerant.tumblr.com
XP
2,485
Country
I'm not sure what's changed, but now I'm having trouble with grape, even after dropping back to the version from last month. It seems to be running fine, but crashes upon opening the menu. I tried backing up my card, formatting it, and putting grape back on, but I'm still getting the same behavior. Since I'm getting the same behavior across versions, it can't be related to any code changes in grape, so I don't know what I'm doing wrong.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Afrocandy looks like a good movie