1. Badda

    OP Badda Nu Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    295
    Country:
    Tokelau
    1.png

    This is a port of Chui's UAE4ALL Amiga 500 emulator (http://chui.dcemu.co.uk/uae4all.html) to Nintendo 3DS.

    Many Amiga games are well playable - a compatibility list (incomplete) can be found using the link above. The emulator runs pretty well on both O3DS and N3DS, however the extra speed on N3DS makes it even more enjoyable.

    Download here: https://github.com/badda71/uae3DS/releases

    Installation:
    • Create directory /3ds/uae3DS on your 3DS SD-card
    • Put your kick.rom file in directory /3ds/uae3DS on your 3DS SD-card. It must be called kick.rom, be a kickstart 1.3 image, and be the 512KB overdumped version. The kickstart ROM is copyrighted material so don't ask me where to get it from. You might get lucky by asking big G for "uae kickstart rom" ...
    • Copy any Amiga disk images that you might have (.adf, .adz) to a directory of your choice on your SD card
    • Install CIA with FBI, run 3dsx from homebrew launcher (put 3dsx file in /3ds/uae3DS dir) or run 3ds from flash card.
    • Apart from this, a DSP-dump is required for sound to work correctly in the CIA version.
      https://gbatemp.net/threads/dsp1-a-new-dsp-dumper-cia-for-better-stability.469461/
    Emulator usage:
    • SELECT: open menu
    • START: Toggle SuperThrottle
    • Bottom Screen: Virtual Keyboard / Touchpad (tap-to-click, double-tap-to-double-click, tap-and-drag)
    • A button: joystick fire
    • B button: joystick UP
    • R button: joystick autofire
    • X button / ZL-button / tap touchpad: left mouse button
    • Y button / L button: right mouse button
    • DPad: joystick
    • CPad: joystick or mouse (configurable in menu)
    • CStick up/down: adjust vertical image position
    • CStick left/right: adjust zoom
    Menu usage:
    • CPad / DPad: Navigate cursor
    • A button: select current entry
    • B button: cancel / back
    • X button: delete save state in "Load state"-menu
    • other button functions given in parentheses in menu
    Current version is v1.0 Pancit

    v1.0
    • enhancement: Save state handling revamp: screenshots, config saved in save states, ...
    • enhancement: SHIFT, Amiga & ALT keys now differentiate left and right press
    • enhancement: option to move mouse with C-Pad, configurable in main menu
    • enhancement: added list of 10 last used disk images in "Load disk image"-menu
    • optimization: settings are autosaved on exit
    • optimization: removed sound settings from main menu
    • bugfix: fixed sound speed
    • lots of other small optimizations and bugfixes
    v0.3.1
    • fixed emu running too fast on N3DS
    • reverted emulation to 320px width - 400px caused screen not rendring below line 229. 400px width is still on the wishlist but needs more research and thorough testing.
    • fixed a bug in key mappings
    v0.3
    • full mouse pad functionality on bottom screen (tap-to-click, double-tap-to-double-click, tap-and-drag)
    • support for key mappings, configurable in menu
    • mouse sensitivity configurable in menu
    • zoom / adjust vpos with C-stick
    • emulation/menu uses full topscreen width
    • autofire on R-button
    • status bar moved to bottom screen
    v0.2
    • online autoupdater
    • soft keyboard and mouse pad on bottom screen
    • CIA build w/ banner image, banner sound and logo
    v0.1
    • Initial version
    ToDos:
    • full 400px width emulation
    • nice to have (and hard to implement): attach an SD-card directory as Amiga hard drive
    If anybody wants to help with these ToDos, you are welcome to help me with a pull request on github :D
    Any other bugs can be reported here or on https://github.com/badda71/uae3DS/issues

    Have fun!
     
    Last edited by Badda, Jun 23, 2020
    Traace, Hinikah, ChibiMofo and 40 others like this.
  2. Rahkeesh

    Rahkeesh GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    1,892
    Country:
    United States
    This is the first homebrew I've heard of needing this... cant your app just enable the New speeds itself?
     
    SLiV3R and Elwyndas like this.
  3. Badda

    OP Badda Nu Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    295
    Country:
    Tokelau
    It sure could, but this is the alpha version, so you need to wait a bit until this is implemented :D If you don't like it, don't use it ...
     
    Last edited by Badda, Feb 21, 2020
    alexander1970 and Zense like this.
  4. Rahkeesh

    Rahkeesh GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    1,892
    Country:
    United States
    Well just asking since it wasn't on the to-do list.
     
    SLiV3R likes this.
  5. xxangelxx

    xxangelxx Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    super, waiting for CIA Version
     
    SLiV3R likes this.
  6. ElectricJelly

    ElectricJelly Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you so much for your work! People around me are wondering why I just shrieked at my phone.
     
    Itzumi and Badda like this.
  7. Zense

    Zense GBARunner2 config: Touch the touchscreen + press R
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,839
    Country:
    Italy
    Wow this is amazing work! I know a lot of other people who will also be happy to hear about this :D
     
  8. urherenow

    urherenow GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,830
    Country:
    United States
    Perhaps it would help if you specified that the 1.3 rom is specifically needed? (amiga kick13)
     
  9. Badda

    OP Badda Nu Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    295
    Country:
    Tokelau
    Really? I actually tested with 1.3 only and wasn‘t aware that the other versions are not working. Did you check?
     
  10. urherenow

    urherenow GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,830
    Country:
    United States
    first one I tried was 3.1, and it didn't do anything
     
    Badda likes this.
  11. Badda

    OP Badda Nu Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    295
    Country:
    Tokelau
    Thanks for finding out. I updated the OP and will check the other versions as well .,.
     
  12. ber71

    ber71 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2019
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    Spain
    Thank you!!
    I noticed that the second link in the first post points to the vice64 bug report page, instead of uae3ds
     
    Badda likes this.
  13. ArugulaZ

    ArugulaZ GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    672
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for putting in the effort. I'll definitely be looking forward to later versions of this emulator when new features are included.
     
  14. Psionic Roshambo

    Psionic Roshambo GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2,126
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you!!!

    Very grateful!!!!

    Not sure when I will have time to play with it, but I will keep an eye on this thread in case it is updated before I get time.

    Again thank you!!!
     
    Zense likes this.
  15. mrsoczi

    mrsoczi Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Hungary
    Thank You for your work. An Amiga emulator with a constantly available keyboard on the bottom screen would be a BOMB. This would make it probably the best Amiga emulator ever on a handheld. Even the custom controls/mapping keys to buttons would not matter that much.

    I am not that tech savvy with UAE and all, but why bother with mounting a directory as hard drive since most UAEs just use HDF files as harddrives? I thought it was some sort of a standard in UEA that this is the way harddrive emulation is done. Also isn’t it a bit overkill to add HDD emulation to A500? I believe mostly A1200 mode would benefit the most from that.
     
    Last edited by mrsoczi, Feb 24, 2020
    Zense likes this.
  16. Rahkeesh

    Rahkeesh GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    1,892
    Country:
    United States
    Directory is more convenient to add stuff to outside of the program, plus you don't run into 4GB+ size issues with Fat32. A500 won't run WHDload very well but if you want to use it as an actual computer, the option is nice to have.

    Moreso than keyboard even I think stylus pad -> mouse would be pretty good, opening up a ton of games that aren't so playable portably on other systems.
     
    Last edited by Rahkeesh, Feb 24, 2020
    Badda likes this.
  17. ital

    ital GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,187
    Absolutely fantastic release @Badda, the Amiga is perfectly suited to the 3DS thanks to the resolution and touchpad for mouse/key emulation. That alone would make it one of the best implementations on a handheld.

    Really looking forward to further updates once I've tried this one out, appreciate it and best of luck in your endeavours.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Would something like this help for the keyboard screen or are you looking for something more stylized?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Zense likes this.
  18. Zense

    Zense GBARunner2 config: Touch the touchscreen + press R
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,839
    Country:
    Italy
    Wouldn't those bevome a bit too small on the touch screen?
     
  19. Rahkeesh

    Rahkeesh GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    1,892
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah the resolution is so low. You can't really do more than boxes with letters in them.

    Don't suppose you can bring up the system keyboard while keeping the game running, that would be wild.
     
  20. ital

    ital GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,187
    Thats why I linked different styles, the fancy arty one above and the basic layout on the bottom.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Release], Emulator, Nintendo