1. Badda

    OP Badda Nu Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    257
    Country:
    Tokelau
    Thanks for the feedback and the images. The keyboard image needs to be exactly 320 pixels wide - otherwise it will not fit the 3DS botton screen. 3DS system keyboard is not an option because it has different keys than the real amiga keyboard.
     
    Last edited by Badda, Feb 25, 2020
  2. replicashooter

    replicashooter GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    935
    Country:
    Wouldn't it be easier to grab the on screen keyboard overlay graphic/template from the UAE source code as implemented and use that? Its a very rudimentary graphic but functional and should be much easier to implement?

    The PS3 and PS Classic ports of UAE used the same style of keyboard I mentioned if it isn't in the main source code you're using.
     
  3. ChibiMofo

    ChibiMofo NPC Chibi-Robo for Wii needs a fan translation
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2019
    Messages:
    314
    Country:
    Canada
    Add a lower-screen keyboard and I'll be all over this! Thanks for your efforts up until now.
     
  4. replicashooter

    replicashooter GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    935
    Country:
    @Badda I can't get this to run, crashes on startup.

    New 3DS, Luma v 6.6, Homebrew Launcher 1.1.1

    Red bottom screen, black top and console just freezes. Tried changing the Clock, L2, Off settings for CFW and its still the same?
     
  5. Badda

    OP Badda Nu Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    257
    Country:
    Tokelau
    Luma v6.6 is an awfully old version, I have not tested it with this. I'm using luma 10.0.1 and it works fine. did you create the /3ds/uae3DS - directory and did you put the kickstart rom there?
     
  6. worldeclipse

    worldeclipse Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Germany
    with old luma and homebrew launcher -> red screen so it is better you release a cia
     
  7. replicashooter

    replicashooter GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    935
    Country:
    Yeah, never updated Luma because it all works perfectly as is with everything else. Would a CIA fix this issue?
     
    SLiV3R likes this.
  8. Badda

    OP Badda Nu Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    257
    Country:
    Tokelau
    Not sure about this ... you would need to wait until the CIA version is out (will be in next release)
     
    SLiV3R, replicashooter and Zense like this.
  9. stranno

    stranno Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    I have done a few tests (804+L2) and I havent seen any fully playable game, maybe Xybots, if you can hold some stutter here and there.



    Is there any room for performance improvements? Virtual keyboard/mouse would be a great addition.
     
  10. tomasowa

    tomasowa Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for working on this; it is very appreciated.

    To be fair, I'm not sure the basis for judgement on such Emulators.
    There are already very functional MAME cores on Arcade Emulators for the 3DS so why would anyone try to play the exact games on anything inferior.

    The Adventure games are what this machine had over the Consoles and Arcade machines.

    I already have the C64 Emulator in my Homebrew and I came looking for this because of the great Pixel Art this generation of machines had.
    They fit so well on the handheld form factor and the 3DS does a much better job of creating the computer feel with its two monitors compared to the Switch.

    Looking forward to its full development.
     
    Zense and Computer_Freak_2004 like this.
  11. replicashooter

    replicashooter GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    935
    Country:
    Amiga has some really good exclusive games (as well as a boat load of ports) but its apps like the music trackers that have my interest because making chiptunes on the go would be out of this world.
     
    SLiV3R and Zense like this.
  12. PetePetePetePete

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    I think here is much more room for improvements. Uae4all on GP2X ran almost fullspeed games, including games like Agony or Lionheart. GP2X had two 240mhz arms (could be overclocked to near 300mhz) with 64mb ram. Mostly only one core was used (some emulators used 2nd core for sound). Most of next uae4all ports (nokia smarphones etc) was based on such this port.
     
    Last edited by PetePetePetePete, Feb 29, 2020
    SLiV3R likes this.
  13. xxangelxx

    xxangelxx Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    v 0.2 cia runs very well big thx!
     
    SLiV3R and Badda like this.
  14. Badda

    OP Badda Nu Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    257
    Country:
    Tokelau
    Here comes v0.2. Changes to v0.1 are:
    • online autoupdater
    • soft keyboard and mouse pad on bottom screen
    • CIA build w/ banner image, banner sound and logo
    Check updated OP for the new button mappings

    https://github.com/badda71/uae3DS/releases

    Have fun! :yay3ds:
     
  15. Crusaders

    Crusaders Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just tested this excellent work so far!
    Did you use the source code from the rg350/gcw zero version? It's based on the dingoo source code which has lots of issues with slower sound rate and missing graphics especially in flight sims.
    I have the gp2x version and it doesn't have any of them problems, dont think the source code is readily available for that old version though!
    Have you looked at the uae4all2 source?
    Would it be portable to the 3ds?
     
    Last edited by Crusaders, Feb 29, 2020
  16. ArugulaZ

    ArugulaZ GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Country:
    United States
    Anybody try Ruff 'n Tumble yet?
     
  17. ber71

    ber71 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2019
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    Spain
    Badda likes this.
  18. Badda

    OP Badda Nu Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    257
    Country:
    Tokelau
    I used the source code from https://www.emutopia.com/index.php/emulators/item/324-commodore-amiga/501-uae4all
    That was actually the only code that compiled without a lot of changes. I tried with other versions as well, e.g. the gp2x version 0.7.2 from https://notaz.gp2x.de/other.php#GP2X. This one would not compile because it contains a lot of proprietary code which would have been too much effort to fix.
    I checked uae4all2 as well (https://github.com/lubomyr/uae4all2 - this is what the switch-version is based on). I actually got it to compile ok but it always crashes :-(
    Do you have any info on the pros and cons between the different version? If I switch to another base version, I would want to do it before I include too many 3ds-specific changes in the current one ...

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Thanks for the info - good to know that the 256kb version works as well. I updated the OP.
     
    SLiV3R and ber71 like this.
  19. Crusaders

    Crusaders Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Both versions have their pros and cons and both dont have 100% compatibility.
    Uae4all2 is the best version I've used as it's highly configurable with hd/whdload and cpu/ram options and higher compatibility. It will probably struggle on 3ds with anything aga related.

    With your ported version lots of games work really well, your gui and touch screen keyboard is awesome!
    Touch screen mouse seems a bit hit and miss like trying to move the mouse cursor with the stylus some times registers as a mouse click instead of actually moving the cursor, causing dragging icons/ toolbar instead of just moving the cursor
    I only noticed that this version is the same as the dingoo one after trying a few games like wings and fi18 interceptor both have missing textures making them unplayable also high res screens dont work like the blood money title screen as example.
     
    SLiV3R likes this.
  20. stranno

    stranno Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    What about E-UAE?

    It was ported to Wii in 2011 and peformance was quite good.

     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Release], Emulator, Nintendo