1. gonefishing1975

    gonefishing1975 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    Canada
    [PLUGIN]
    displayname=FCEUltraGX
    magic=46434555
    coverfolder=NES
    dolfile=fceugx-mod12.dol
    romdir=fceugx/roms
    filetypes=.nes
    consolecoverid=nintendo
    covercolor=ff0000
    bannersound=nes.ogg
    arguments={device}:/{path}|{name}|{loader}
    rompartition=1
     
  2. gonefishing1975

    gonefishing1975 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    Canada

    So I copied my complete working sd setup to my USB i placed the usb drive into the bottom port of the wii. I launch WiiFlow and you get the large wiiflow banner then the animated wiiflow but then the screen goes and flickers like crazy and never boots any further
     
  3. Tetsuo Shima

    Tetsuo Shima GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,066
    Country:
    Italy
    @gonefishing1975
    I see no issues in your plugin ini file.
    The flickering screen is something I never heard of.
    You could try these last steps.
    This will reset Wiiflow settings to default, so that you'll be able to reconfigure it.

    -Delete the wiiflowlite.ini file from USB apps/wiiflow (make a backup if you want)
    -If you haven't already done so, completely remove Wiiflow from the SD card.
    So that every Wiiflow folder is on USB only.
    -Connect the USB drive to the Wii and boot Wiiflow.

    Now go to settings and set
    -Game partitions (USB1 for everything)
    -Emunand settings (select your emunand if you have any)
    -Boot settings (USB port:0 and SD only: No)
     
    Last edited by Tetsuo Shima, Mar 28, 2020
  4. gonefishing1975

    gonefishing1975 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    Canada
    I actually have no sd card on the Wii and I get it to load from USB (just cloned my sd setup to my usb) but now the only box covers that don't come up are the gameboy/color/advance but they work on the sd card
     
  5. Tetsuo Shima

    Tetsuo Shima GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,066
    Country:
    Italy
    I remember you were having an issue with the 3 gameboys, sometime ago.
    Check their ini files, maybe there's something wrong with romdir or rompartition
     
  6. gonefishing1975

    gonefishing1975 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks for all your help it's all working. Now I have a question. Can I make WiiFlow open the duck hunt dol file that allows you to use the wiimote as a the zapper
     
  7. Tetsuo Shima

    Tetsuo Shima GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,066
    Country:
    Italy
    Is there a duck hunt homebrew?
    Are you saying the nes emulator?
    Well all major nes emulators should support the wiimote as a zapper
     
  8. gonefishing1975

    gonefishing1975 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    Canada

    Yup there is a duck hunt in homebrew. I would like to make it so i can launch it from WiiFlow
     
  9. Tetsuo Shima

    Tetsuo Shima GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,066
    Country:
    Italy
    Ah ok, I see it's a clone of the original game, never heard about it. However it seems to be a little unfinished.
    The easiest way, using my theme, is to go to the Wii tier and then to the Homebrew coverflow and launch the game.
    The process of adding it as a 'regular' game is not a simple one, and there are chances that it would not work, requiring actual modifications to the source code of the app.
    It will also require platform.ini support from wiiflow and, last but not least a cover.
    Maybe it will be added in the future, who knows.
     
  10. gonefishing1975

    gonefishing1975 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    Canada

    Thanks that works just wish it didn't show all homebrew icons
     
  11. Tetsuo Shima

    Tetsuo Shima GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,066
    Country:
    Italy
    You can hide the ones you don't want.
    Select the homebrew app with the A button on wiimote.
    Click on Category (white drawer icon)
    Go to page 3 and put a checkmark on Hidden.
    Close with B.
    That HB icon will be hidden from view.
     
  12. gonefishing1975

    gonefishing1975 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    Canada

    Got it working Thanks for all the help
     
    Last edited by gonefishing1975, Mar 29, 2020
    Tetsuo Shima likes this.
  13. r3ev

    r3ev Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hi,

    Newcomer here. I just dusted off my Wii, for my boys to play with. And I've been searching for something to play SNES ROMs with on the Wii. Stumbling on Wiiflow lite in the process of that.

    Fast forward.

    I've patched, updated the whole shebang. After that I installed wiiflow lite. Everything works as expected, on 1 minor detail. I can't get the covers to show for SNES/nes etc ROMs. Now I have them in usb1/wiiflow/boxcovers/snesgx/covers/cover.sfc.PNG

    I also have a question, is it possible to not have the grid as source menu, but the 1 row interface when from Rhapsodii, when you have chosen for example consoles?
     
  14. Tetsuo Shima

    Tetsuo Shima GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,066
    Country:
    Italy
    From Rhapsodii Shima install instructions:
     
  15. r3ev

    r3ev Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thank You.
    Gonna try that, must have read over it.
    Covers I got fixed now.

    :huh:

    Edit:

    Some covers still don't show up.
    I guessed that I had set them up correctly...
    I use a SD card for the apps, and a USB drive for the games and covers. I defined them in the wiiflow_lite.ini file as this:

    dir_box_covers=usb1:/wiiflow/boxcovers
    dir_cache=usb1:/wiiflow/cache
    dir_cart=usb1:/wiiflow/cart_disk
    dir_fanart=usb1:/wiiflow/fanart
    dir_flat_covers=usb1:/wiiflow/covers

    And in the covers folder I have a folder referenced from the defined plugin ini file
     
    Last edited by r3ev, Apr 9, 2020
    Tetsuo Shima likes this.
  16. Tetsuo Shima

    Tetsuo Shima GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,066
    Country:
    Italy
    Your wiiflow_lite.ini is ok. The first thing I'd check is if you have 'rompartition=1' in your plugin ini file.
    If you already have that line, maybe you didn't define the correct folders in there.

    Open the ini files in your wiiflow/plugins folder and look for
    romdir=....
    coverfolder=...
    If you're not sure which ini file to edit, compare its magic number with the one in your source menu .ini.

    e.g. you have no covers for NES, and there are many different .ini's for that (fceugx.ini, fceumm.ini, nestopia.ini, quicknes.ini)
    Open these files and look for
    magic=...
    Then go to wiiflow/source_menu (or if you're using my theme, wiiflow/source_menu/Rhapsodii Shima)
    Open your source menu ini file and find the magic number used for NES. If it's the same then that's the correct ini.
     
    r3ev likes this.
  17. r3ev

    r3ev Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hi Tetsuo,

    I think I found out what the problem was, in the wiiflow ini file,
    there were almost no plugins enabled. Which is odd, because I have enabled some at multiple times.
    I trashed that file and copied a new one, and now it's ok. When I enable a plugin, it is also changed in the wiiflow ini file.
    Maybe it has to do with the SD card? It's an old one, 1GB.
     
  18. protivakid

    protivakid Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United States
    One thing I didn't see immediately called out is that WiiFlow Lite is now a direct replacement for the old Wii Flow:

    "As of v5.2.0 WiiFlow Lite will simply be a replacement for WiiFlow. Put it in apps/wiiflow and use wiiflow forwarder's to launch it via the wii system menu."
     
    Tetsuo Shima and r3ev like this.
  19. Tetsuo Shima

    Tetsuo Shima GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,066
    Country:
    Italy
    I'm glad that it's solved for you. But you really don't have to edit the wiiflow_lite.ini to setup your plugins.
    And you don't need to enable them in Wiiflow, either. Plugins configuration is not working this way.
    All you have to do is follow the instructions from my previous post, or follow the official Wiiflow Wiki guide that explains all wiiflow basics better than I possibly could.
     
    r3ev likes this.
  20. biggzsizzle

    biggzsizzle GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Country:
    United States
    Awww, don't be coy @Tetsuo, lol @fledge68 is the only one that can explain wiiflow basics better than you :D:rofl::D
     
    r3ev likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Tutorial, WiiFlow, Setup