1. Wiimpathy

    OP Wiimpathy GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    891
    Country:
    France
    By default, Retroarch loads a configuration file called retroarch.cfg. When mixing different retroarch versions, this file may cause conflicts and bugs. Here is a quick way to prevent this kind of issue without recompiling the source code. In this example, I'll take one of the mame2003 cores: mame2003_plus_coreA_libretro_wii.dol.

    1. You need an Hex editor for your operating system. For Windows, you can use HxD or Frhed(a bit old). For linux, you have Bless.

    2. Open the dol with your hex editor with 'File->Open' or by drag'n'drop.

    3. In the Search menu, select Find, type 'retroarch.cfg' and click OK. Select retroarch.cfg text in the main window.
    [​IMG]
    4. Now, you're going to replace 'retroarch.cfg' with another name with the same length. Here, we can chose mame2003A.cfg for example.
    [​IMG]
    5. Save your file and copy this modified dol to your sd card. You should have a 'welcome' message when you load this dol. You can check there's a new mame2003A.cfg in sd:/retroarch.

    6. This is optional but you could also rename retroarch-core-options.cfg. It's the same process. Just give a name of your choice with the same length as the original cfg.
    [​IMG]
     
    cheloruiz79, Jate, kokokool and 5 others like this.
  2. coraline2

    coraline2 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Mexico
    Hi Wiimphaty, sorry for the inconvenience, but I already got frustrated with so many attempts ...
    To want to run some core of mame2003 + in wiiflow, create the folders and the default .cfg file on my sd card.
    Could you please tell me which part of the .dol file should I modify so that the cores create and execute the files that I have on my hard drive only?
     
  3. Wiimpathy

    OP Wiimpathy GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    891
    Country:
    France
    Not sure but what you're asking has nothing to do with the trick described here. Normally, you don't modify the dol itself to change the paths. You do it in Retroarch's menu or in WiiFlow.
    Maybe try if it works in Wiiflow first before doing this optional trick.

    Things to check:
    - Be sure to download the cores from this thread : https://gbatemp.net/threads/mame-2003-plus.499497/
    - Check you have all the .ini in /WiiFlow/plugins/. mameA.ini ...
    - The /WiiFlow/plugins/ folder should be on your usb drive. But if on sd card, you may force USB game's partiton by adding rompartition=1 in the .ini files.
    - Copy your dol files in /WiiFlow/plugins/retroarch-wii folder.
    - On your hard drive, create this folder structure : /roms/MAME2003/coreA /roms/MAME2003/coreB etc...
    - Copy your games in the right folder (coreA ...)
    - Launch WiiFlow and select a Mame plugin. Change the partition if necessary. Open settings, Game Partitions, Plugins Default Partition and chose USB1.
    - Start the game.

    Note it's always better to 'start fresh' and delete previous retroarch files before testing.
    You may have better support there or in Wiiflow lite thread.
     
  4. coraline2

    coraline2 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Mexico
    I appreciate your advice and an apology for not knowing where to focus my question, I will try to do what you say, hopefully that is the great solution to my problem ... thank you very much!
     
  5. MrCrynox

    MrCrynox Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @Wiimpathy does this mean I can have two versions of RA on the same card ? Is this the intended use for your config file name change trick ?

    If so great, as Im currently using your FBANEO version so that I can play the larger games but I have also just started dabbling with your Mame 2003 plus one and at first I thought I could be clever and just copy the A-G cores across but no that didn't work, so I guess I've got to have two different versions of RA but I'm not sure if that's possible on one card ? Sorry for my lack of knowledge, the last time I used RA was years ago on version 1.0.0.2...
     
  6. kokokool

    kokokool GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    Chile
    @Wiimpathy, wiimote mapping issue while jumping to one core to another can be fixed doing this renaming?
     
  7. fledge68

    fledge68 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2,022
    Country:
    United States
    @Wiimpathy is that the only retroarch.cfg that we need to change? when i do a search i find 4 other retroarch.cfg. in mameA dol.
     
  8. Tetsuo Shima

    Tetsuo Shima GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,340
    Country:
    Italy
    Changing the other retroarch.cfg entries seems to make no difference to me, but I may be wrong. However. I always change retroarch-core-options.cfg too
    e.g. for fceumm
    retroarch.cfg ---> nesfceumm.cfg
    retroarch-core-options.cfg ---> nesfceumm-core-options.cfg
     
    fledge68 likes this.
  9. Wiimpathy

    OP Wiimpathy GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    891
    Country:
    France
    There's only 1 retroarch.cfg entry to modify indeed. It should be the first found occurrence just before 'system'.
    The other strings are part of the help messages.
     
    Tetsuo Shima and fledge68 like this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - configuration, Retroarch, emulator