?
  1. Linux

    90 vote(s)
    7.8%
  2. Android

    132 vote(s)
    11.5%
  3. Router

    225 vote(s)
    19.5%
  4. Windows

    418 vote(s)
    36.3%
  5. A pony with a wifi antenna O.o?

    287 vote(s)
    24.9%
  1. shadowdogg

    shadowdogg Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Country:

    Ok, keep me informed but for now, i know my solution works at least.
     
  2. antlion88

    antlion88 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Guys, i think this is my problem..

    I got it to connect to attwifi, and used macshift to change the MAC address to 4E53504F4F46.

    I detect the nintendo zone and have internet connection on my 3DS however, I do not get any streetpasses.

    I tried to change the MAC address on TMAC however, I get an error (something about the starting MAC address should be 02), then I notice something (shown in the screenshot)

    I guess macshift did indeed work, however the MAC address is inactive.

    Maybe that's why I can't get any streetpasses. Can anyone help me remedy this?
     

    Attached Files:

  3. alpha_noj

    alpha_noj GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    United States
    Would you mind forwarding me the fix? I'd like to test it myself
     
  4. Max Power

    Max Power Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Italy
    Tmac wasn't functioning also for me, I made a script to avoid using it: http://gbatemp.net/threads/how-to-have-a-homemade-streetpass-relay.352645/page-23#post-4741755
     
  5. Kawo

    Kawo GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    Country:
    Italy
    Some question on the android, should I connect through 3G? I just noticed the wifi icon dissapear everytime I activate the tether app.
    I know, how is possible I don't noticed it?, Simple, I'm a total android N00B.
    There is no way to use a iphone for the same purpose?
    Is possible someone is working on a makeshift app for the HomePass?
     
  6. triumph01

    triumph01 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Yes you Need an Internet connection through 3G because your wifi will make the hotspot.
     
  7. Kawo

    Kawo GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    Country:
    Italy
    Thank you for confirming my idiocy, will try to think more next time.
     
  8. HMTKSteve

    HMTKSteve Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    I am currently using a netgear WGR614v9 which does not support the DD-WRT firmware. I don't see any way to change the wireless MAC on this device but their is a backup option for the configuration file and it might have telnet running on it (or so I have read). Does anyone have experience with this router? Which cheap router can I buy off the shelf today locally that has the option built in without having to download anything?
     
  9. Chaldron

    Chaldron GBATemp's Official Attorney
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    434
    Country:
    United States

    in CMD, CD to the macshift directory, and type:

    Code:
    macshift -i "Wi-Fi" 4E53504F4F46
    And connect your 3DS. After getting a hit, cycle to a new MAC. See if your 3DS drops the connection. If it does, try my script, it fixes the issue for atheros, which you might have: http://gbatemp.net/threads/homepass-chaldrons-mac-cycler-for-windows.352935

    If your 3DS doesn't drop it, then go ahead and keep cycling, or use my script to do it automatically.
     
  10. NITROFOX

    NITROFOX Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Where is "11. MSS clamping: checked" ?
     
  11. Chaldron

    Chaldron GBATemp's Official Attorney
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    434
    Country:
    United States

    This router supports dd-wrt. About $20 on amazon, $18 on walmart.
     
  12. Kawo

    Kawo GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    Country:
    Italy
    I'm using it on a more updated android now, same error but now it ask me to allow the superuser thing, what should I do?
    Ok the device have superuser and the 3G enabled, same damned error with the mac ad.
     
  13. MisoSoup

    MisoSoup Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Good news, I got the Windows 8 method working. I previously tried with two wireless adapters, but I've tried using a wired ethernet and the built in wireless adapter and it works, so my problem was the two wireless adapters for some reason.

    Although I can't seem to call my WiFi connection Wi-Fi because it states that the name is already in use even though nothing is using it, so I can't give the automated script a go, but at least some progress has been made!
     
  14. Chaldron

    Chaldron GBATemp's Official Attorney
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    434
    Country:
    United States

    Can you PM me a screenshot of your network connections? I can send you a personal version which uses the name of your wifi.

    Thanks!
     
  15. MisoSoup

    MisoSoup Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    No need anymore, I just went to the device manager and uninstalled a past wireless device which used this name, and I could rename the wireless connection to Wi-Fi, so I'm giving it a shot now!
     
  16. The Mystical One

    The Mystical One Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States

    In your image, you macshifted "Wireless Network Connection" , right?
     
  17. MisoSoup

    MisoSoup Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Ok, the MAC cycler doesn't seem to be working for me. With the virtual router manager,, I was able to access the internet through the created virtual router, but with the MAC cycler, it doesn't seem to allow me to do that. The MAC changes are sticking, and the 3DS can "talk" with the virtual router, but there isn't an internet connection happening, so it's not downloading the streetpass.

    Weird. I've tried leaving it for a few minutes, but no dice. Guess I'm going about this the manual way :/

    Edit: switched to using Connec8 because I find it to be a faster method of creating the wireless network over the virtual router manager. Also confirmed it worked, so I must be missing a step with MAC cycler since it works with other people, but I'm happy I've got this to work this far in.

    Thanks to all of you who have helped with this, it's a pretty impressive project!
     
  18. Dartz150

    Dartz150 Hat Gurl Official Fan™
    Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    Mexico
    dicamarques Could it be possible to make the Linux script to have 100 MAC adresses like the Chaldron's MAC autoshifter? This would maintain everyone on the same chanels :)
     
  19. Phanox

    Phanox GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    Colombia
    I did every step for Windows 7 and my 3DS can't connect to the internet when I change the MAC but when the MAC is the original, it goes online.

    When I change the MAC, the laptop's one changes, as you can see at bottom but the Wifi Miniport Adapter doesn't change. Maybe that's the issue and I don't know what to do:

    [​IMG]
     
  20. MisoSoup

    MisoSoup Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    How are you changing the MAC? With macshift, or another application?

    If it's macshift, can you post that cmd window?

    Also I'll just tell you now, I tried with two wireless adapters, but couldn't get it to work, but it worked when I plugged into ethernet. Are you able to get an ethernet connection?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Streetpass, homemade, Relay