Boulder Dash Rocks! - flickering lines in top screen?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by CoconutCake, Jan 26, 2009.

  1. CoconutCake
    OP

    Member CoconutCake GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    Using AKAIO 1.3 Final, AK2, Transcend 8GB Class 6.

    GAME: 1703 - Boulder Dash - Rocks! (E)

    Anyone else noticed occasional flickering bars in the top screen in this game? It's a minor issue, just annoying visually and sometimes the music sorts screeches.

    It runs better with non-DMA mode(hold A) but still gets some flickering bars. I notice that turning the music off fixes this, but is there any way to make it normal with the music?

    Also tried the latest official loader too, same thing.

    Actually if anyone can just confirm this behavior that would be fine. It's a nice little game but not that important really.
     
  2. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    What's your microSD brand and size, and how do you format it?
     
  3. CoconutCake
    OP

    Member CoconutCake GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    Transcend 8GB Class 6, formatted by Panasonic formatter.

    Runs everyting else great, even POR, DoS video, TWEWY intro etc.

    It's not a big deal, just wanted to confirm the issue with someone.
     
  4. ShAdOwFuRi

    Member ShAdOwFuRi GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    Australia
    Maybe try fiddling with the patches, but otherwise it's just a single game. You could report it to Normatt, but its up to him whether he can be bothered looking into it.
     
  5. CoconutCake
    OP

    Member CoconutCake GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    Like I said it's not that important to me. I don't really plan to play the game much altho it's a decent retro remake. I just wanted to see if others had the same flickering issue. The game is fully playable anyway, it's just a small aesthetic issue.
     
  6. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Probably the same issue as the flickering in worms open warfare 2 which iirc is related to the saving. I should try to optimize the saving system so i can disable the interrupts like the official firmware does (which causes slowdowns in some games).
     
  7. CoconutCake
    OP

    Member CoconutCake GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    Interesting Normatt. Thanks.

    But one thing to note, is that when I turn music off in the game's options, the lines issue stops. Seems like it's the streaming music that causes it.
     

Share This Page