Homebrew A new NesDS

Recorderdude

Musician, Animator, Buffoon.
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Messages
1,392
Trophies
0
Age
27
Website
Visit site
XP
262
Country
United States
A new NESDS has been released by a (seemingly) new developer intending to re-code the emu to be open-source, and that's just what it is.

Emu here:

http://sourceforge.net/projects/nesds/files/

It seems that he has also added support for cheats
smile.gif
 

Recorderdude

Musician, Animator, Buffoon.
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Messages
1,392
Trophies
0
Age
27
Website
Visit site
XP
262
Country
United States
Schlupi said:
Woah. Where did you find this? Who made it?

And the biggest question... Does Earthbound Zero work on it?

Haven't had a chance to test it yet. But I will. Oh, I WILL. I'll have to test it on my SLOT2 for now so I'm not sure if it'll boot but I'll defenetely see what's changed when I get mah DSTWO.

Saw the news on EmuCR (they're pretty much a site that relies on the community to cite new releases of emus) and got it right away, while simultaneously posting it to bigger sites.

The guy making it appears to call himself "huminghao".
 

Schlupi

Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™
Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2007
Messages
3,985
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
Website
Starmen.net
XP
705
Country
United States
Well... it appears that there are no gameplay changes at all. I tested several problem titles (TMNT 2, Earthbound, Zelda 2) and they do not show any changes.

Any other ones people are welcome to try -- but it seems as if cheat support is the only new addition.

Also, Since it is open source now (be thankful) people can work on compatibility.
happy.gif
 

Shabutie78

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2010
Messages
437
Trophies
0
Age
12
XP
201
Country
United States
RoboticBuddy said:
Schlupi said:
Aww fuckbeans. Earth Bound still does not work... but Cheats I still have to test. what type of cheat file is needed? I'll try to figure it out.
darn it. i was really looking forward to playing Earth Bound.

then start the game on an nes emulator on a computer, get past the name entry screens, save at the telephone and then put the *.sav on your card like a normal NES .sav. just don't use savestates.
 

Schlupi

Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™
Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2007
Messages
3,985
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
Website
Starmen.net
XP
705
Country
United States
Shabutie78 said:
RoboticBuddy said:
Schlupi said:
Aww fuckbeans. Earth Bound still does not work... but Cheats I still have to test. what type of cheat file is needed? I'll try to figure it out.
darn it. i was really looking forward to playing Earth Bound.

then start the game on an nes emulator on a computer, get past the name entry screens, save at the telephone and then put the *.sav on your card like a normal NES .sav. just don't use savestates.

That works? I swore I tried that before with my old version of NESDS and it did not work. Ill try again.
 

Recorderdude

Musician, Animator, Buffoon.
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Messages
1,392
Trophies
0
Age
27
Website
Visit site
XP
262
Country
United States
I think cheat function might mean game genie (that was the only one around during the days of NES, right?) so it may be a matter of it appearing or not, so I suggest trying nesDS_cheat.NDS on the Sourceforge page instead of the NesDS.nds, if you weren't already.

Probly can't run any extensive tests on this tonight. Hell, it took six months of trial and error just to get the OLD NESDS to run on my ancient cart (which is the main reason I'm replacing it)

So ya, look for Game-genie or something, I guess.
 

Schlupi

Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™
Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2007
Messages
3,985
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
Website
Starmen.net
XP
705
Country
United States
personuser said:
I think cheat function might mean game genie (that was the only one around during the days of NES, right?) so it may be a matter of it appearing or not, so I suggest trying nesDS_cheat.NDS on the Sourceforge page instead of the NesDS.nds, if you weren't already.

Probly can't run any extensive tests on this tonight. Hell, it took six months of trial and error just to get the OLD NESDS to run on my ancient cart (which is the main reason I'm replacing it)

So ya, look for Game-genie or something, I guess.

I'll be sure to give that a try then.
 

cruznik71450

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
125
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Cleveland, OH
Website
Visit site
XP
161
Country
United States
Schlupi said:
Shabutie78 said:
RoboticBuddy said:
Schlupi said:
Aww fuckbeans. Earth Bound still does not work... but Cheats I still have to test. what type of cheat file is needed? I'll try to figure it out.
darn it. i was really looking forward to playing Earth Bound.

then start the game on an nes emulator on a computer, get past the name entry screens, save at the telephone and then put the *.sav on your card like a normal NES .sav. just don't use savestates.

That works? I swore I tried that before with my old version of NESDS and it did not work. Ill try again.
I played through the whole game doing this. Works great.
 

Schlupi

Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™
Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2007
Messages
3,985
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
Website
Starmen.net
XP
705
Country
United States
cruznik71450 said:
Schlupi said:
Shabutie78 said:
RoboticBuddy said:
Schlupi said:
Aww fuckbeans. Earth Bound still does not work... but Cheats I still have to test. what type of cheat file is needed? I'll try to figure it out.
darn it. i was really looking forward to playing Earth Bound.

then start the game on an nes emulator on a computer, get past the name entry screens, save at the telephone and then put the *.sav on your card like a normal NES .sav. just don't use savestates.

That works? I swore I tried that before with my old version of NESDS and it did not work. Ill try again.
I played through the whole game doing this. Works great.

You're right! Sweeeeet. People should know about this! I will tell them. Thanks for the info.

@ Yuan -- Yeah, like I said, it does not seem game compatibility has increased. Just cheats now.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Badcatalex @ Badcatalex:
    basically you just screw off the bottom and bam everything is fixable
    +1
  • Badcatalex @ Badcatalex:
    it also has an official
    hardware repair guide
  • Badcatalex @ Badcatalex:
    as all thinkpads do
  • Badcatalex @ Badcatalex:
    as well as an official parts list
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Even better.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Glad you're happy about that.
  • Badcatalex @ Badcatalex:
    They're called HMMs, or Hardware Mainte
    nance Manuals
  • Badcatalex @ Badcatalex:
    they include diagrams of the system and an exploded diagram of the computer
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Badcatalex, I know what those are.
  • Badcatalex @ Badcatalex:
    ThinkPads are cheap btw
  • Badcatalex @ Badcatalex:
    eBay is full of them and as long as they don't have Computrace enabled (computer tracking stuff)
    they are great
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    The ones that are parts and/or not working are from what I can see.
  • Badcatalex @ Badcatalex:
    companies use them for three years or so
    before they are dumped on the market
  • Badcatalex @ Badcatalex:
    nah you can find lots of working ones if you look carefully
  • Badcatalex @ Badcatalex:
    but it depends on the gen
  • Badcatalex @ Badcatalex:
    T480 for example is from 2018 and is common nowadays
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    I could prob look on a car boot to find any that is cheap.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    I doubt it but who knows.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    eBay is more of the way to go.
  • Badcatalex @ Badcatalex:
    that's why I said eBay lol
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Exactly.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    That's what I've heard.
  • Badcatalex @ Badcatalex:
    also my T470s has a backlit keyboard
    +1
  • Badcatalex @ Badcatalex:
    togglable via Fn + Spacebar
  • Badcatalex @ Badcatalex:
    with several levels- off, medium, and high
    Badcatalex @ Badcatalex: with several levels- off, medium, and high