Windows 7 Aero Help

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Keeley, Jan 21, 2009.

Jan 21, 2009

Windows 7 Aero Help by Keeley at 2:50 AM (1,107 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Keeley
    OP

    Member Keeley GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Saskachewan
    Country:
    Canada
    I just recently installed Windows 7 Beta, i tried the registry hack for Aero but it won't work! maybe i'm not following the instrustions rite [​IMG] can some show me how to do it right? But i'm pretty sure i'm doing it rite
     
  2. Foxle

    Member Foxle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Country:
    United States
    Registry Hack for Aero...? It should work as long as you've got a graphics card that can handle it and up to date drivers for it. If Windows 7 isn't showing you an option for Aero, it's probably for good reason.
     
  3. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    no need for a hack. windows 7 is set on basic for default (for some reason, maybe u need to update your graphic driver). to fix this, click on the start button, and in the search bar, type in aero. click on
    "find and fix etc..."

    cheers
     
  4. Keeley
    OP

    Member Keeley GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Saskachewan
    Country:
    Canada
    haha my grafic card doesn't suport aero so the registry bypasses the check or i could just wait for a Aero Emulator
     
  5. skyman747

    Member skyman747 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    399
    Country:
    United States
    If you are running it on a Virtual Machine, then you are out of luck. Period.

    If you are running it on a Multi-Boot, then just do what the above have posted.

    nvm, posted at same time as you. Now where is that delete button...
     
  6. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    wow that sucks
     
  7. Keeley
    OP

    Member Keeley GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Saskachewan
    Country:
    Canada
    i'm pretty sure i'm doing it rite but i probbably just don't know how to enable aero, xD and i don't think there's a vid tut if some already did it could they help me? Also i don't have multiboot.

    Offtopic: When i search Windows 7 aer help this topic is on the top xD
     
  8. Gman 101

    Member Gman 101 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    438
    Location:
    Karkand & Mashtuur City
    Country:
    Australia
    What exactly is your graphics chip/card? Anything that can run DX9 can run Aero, unlike in Vista which needed support for Pixel Shader 3.0 as well.

    Have you tried right clicking on desktop and going into Personalise? And then after that, you change it to one of the other themes (which should have Aero, or at least show it does).
     
  9. Keeley
    OP

    Member Keeley GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Saskachewan
    Country:
    Canada
    my graphic card is Radeon 9200 SE i think btw how exackly turn on Aero? it should be on Windows theme and the one that looks like its aero?

    1. Click on Start and type regedit at run

    2. Go to the following registry key:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\DWM

    3. In the right details pane, create following Three DWORD (32-bit value) entry. If not there create a new key.


    * UseMachineCheck, and set its value to 0.
    * Blur, and set its value to 0.
    * Animations, and set its value to 0.

    4. Close Regedit

    5. Click on Start and type CMD with administrative Priviliges

    6. Now type following command to stop and start Desktop Window Manager Session Manager.

    * Net Stop uxsms
    * Net Start uxsms

    7. Now Enable Aero by right clicking on desktop-> Personalize ->Windows Colors.

    This Registry Hack to enable Aero in Windows 7 can also be used on Windows 7 install on Virtual Machine like Virtual PC 2007 but this wont work on Vmware Player which doesn’t have DirectX 9 or support physical machine video Drives.

    I don't get it if the DWM isn't there and u create a new one is that okay? cuz i have it and if some people don't have that doesn't that mean that the things in that registry key are useless?

    Also i thought you needed a WDDM compatbile graphic card
     
  10. Keeley
    OP

    Member Keeley GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Saskachewan
    Country:
    Canada

Share This Page