Gaming Windows 7 Aero Help

Keeley

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2008
Messages
421
Trophies
0
Location
Saskachewan
Website
Visit site
XP
98
Country
Canada
I just recently installed Windows 7 Beta, i tried the registry hack for Aero but it won't work! maybe i'm not following the instrustions rite
hate2.gif
can some show me how to do it right? But i'm pretty sure i'm doing it rite
 

Foxle

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
194
Trophies
0
XP
90
Country
United States
Registry Hack for Aero...? It should work as long as you've got a graphics card that can handle it and up to date drivers for it. If Windows 7 isn't showing you an option for Aero, it's probably for good reason.
 

da_head

A dying dream..
Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2008
Messages
2,944
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Toronto, Canader!
Website
Visit site
XP
343
Country
Canada
no need for a hack. windows 7 is set on basic for default (for some reason, maybe u need to update your graphic driver). to fix this, click on the start button, and in the search bar, type in aero. click on
"find and fix etc..."

cheers
 

skyman747

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
399
Trophies
0
XP
187
Country
United States
If you are running it on a Virtual Machine, then you are out of luck. Period.

If you are running it on a Multi-Boot, then just do what the above have posted.

nvm, posted at same time as you. Now where is that delete button...
 

Keeley

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2008
Messages
421
Trophies
0
Location
Saskachewan
Website
Visit site
XP
98
Country
Canada
i'm pretty sure i'm doing it rite but i probbably just don't know how to enable aero, xD and i don't think there's a vid tut if some already did it could they help me? Also i don't have multiboot.

Offtopic: When i search Windows 7 aer help this topic is on the top xD
 

Gman 101

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2007
Messages
438
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Karkand & Mashtuur City
Website
Visit site
XP
164
Country
What exactly is your graphics chip/card? Anything that can run DX9 can run Aero, unlike in Vista which needed support for Pixel Shader 3.0 as well.

Have you tried right clicking on desktop and going into Personalise? And then after that, you change it to one of the other themes (which should have Aero, or at least show it does).
 

Keeley

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2008
Messages
421
Trophies
0
Location
Saskachewan
Website
Visit site
XP
98
Country
Canada
my graphic card is Radeon 9200 SE i think btw how exackly turn on Aero? it should be on Windows theme and the one that looks like its aero?

1. Click on Start and type regedit at run

2. Go to the following registry key:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\DWM

3. In the right details pane, create following Three DWORD (32-bit value) entry. If not there create a new key.


* UseMachineCheck, and set its value to 0.
* Blur, and set its value to 0.
* Animations, and set its value to 0.

4. Close Regedit

5. Click on Start and type CMD with administrative Priviliges

6. Now type following command to stop and start Desktop Window Manager Session Manager.

* Net Stop uxsms
* Net Start uxsms

7. Now Enable Aero by right clicking on desktop-> Personalize ->Windows Colors.

This Registry Hack to enable Aero in Windows 7 can also be used on Windows 7 install on Virtual Machine like Virtual PC 2007 but this wont work on Vmware Player which doesn’t have DirectX 9 or support physical machine video Drives.

I don't get it if the DWM isn't there and u create a new one is that okay? cuz i have it and if some people don't have that doesn't that mean that the things in that registry key are useless?

Also i thought you needed a WDDM compatbile graphic card
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Underwraps 2 is out checks all the Disney woke boxes