1. Lyrin

    OP Lyrin Annoying Weaboo Girl
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Messages:
    497
    Country:
    United States
    This tutorial is based on sections of tutorials listed below.
    https://sites.google.com/site/completesg/backup-launchers/gamecube/cmios
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/gameboy-advance-original-sp-micro-as-gamecube-controller-for-wii.435282/
    https://sdremix.com/installation/gamecube-installation/running-gcn-homebrew/
    This requires a Wii U + Gamecube Adapter, and a Wii with Gamecube Ports or a Gamecube capable of running Homebrew!
    You'll need to follow these steps each time you want to play using the GBA!
    1. Extract the ZIP located at the bottom of this post to the root of your SD Card.
    2. Obtain the latest MIOS version using NUS Downloader (the steps are located at the top of the first link).
    3. Place the MIOS wad renamed to "RVL-mios-v10.wad" on the root of the SD Card.
    4. Remove the SD Card from your computer, and place it into the Wii.
    5. Go to Homebrew Channel and launch "Installer for WiiGator's cMIOS."
    6. Set the install IOS to IOS 249 and Press A.
    7. Press the button it tells you when it pops up.
    8. Press the A button for the remaining menus.
    9. Launch WiiXplorer and navigate to the SD Card.
    10. Click on gbi.dol and select GC Homebrew.
    11. Connect your GBA to any port using the Link Cable.
    12. Turn the GBA on without a Game in the slot, and wait for the screen to turn blank.
    13. Press buttons on the DPad, If the values on the screen change, then that means it worked. If the values don't change, try plugging it into another port.
    2. Enter Homebrew through your preferred method.
    3. Launch gbi.dol.
    4. Connect your GBA to any port using the Link Cable.
    5. Turn the GBA on without a Game in the slot, and wait for the screen to turn blank.
    6. Press buttons on the DPad, If the values on the screen change, then that means it worked. If the values don't change, try plugging it into another port.
    The GBA should work if plugged into the GC adapter for a game like Super Smash Bros.
    However, you won't be able to control the characters as the DPad is mapped to the normal DPad.
    Thankfully there's HID to VPAD! https://github.com/Maschell/hid_to_vpad/releases (or the Wii U Plugin System by Maschell https://github.com/Maschell/WiiUPluginSystem/releases)
    I've included an ini file called "GBA Smash.ini" which I have tested with Super Smash Bros. It works somewhat well.

    Wii U Steps
    1. Take the SD Card out of your Wii/Gamecube and plug it into your computer.
    2. Add HID to VPAD to your SD Card.
    3. Remove the SD Card from your computer.
    4. Plug the SD Card into your Wii U.
    5. Launch Homebrew through your preferred method
    6. Run HID to VPAD.
    7. Assign the GBA to a controller slot, and press the Plus/Start button on your Wii U Gamepad/Wiimote.
    8. Start the game of your choosing and play with a GBA!
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by Lyrin, Feb 24, 2018
    DaMan, markehmus, VatoLoco and 8 others like this.
  2. Ryccardo

    Ryccardo watching Thames TV from London
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7,086
    Country:
    Italy
    PICTOCHAT and Lyrin like this.
  3. TotalInsanity4

    TotalInsanity4 GBAtemp Supreme Overlord
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    10,811
    Country:
    United States
    fwiw, Sm4sh allows you to natively remap the controls and save it to a profile, so you could play it vanilla
     
  4. Lyrin

    OP Lyrin Annoying Weaboo Girl
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Messages:
    497
    Country:
    United States
    The DPad would act as a DPad instead of a stick without HID to VPAD.
     
    Yoni Arousement and Kevinpuerta like this.
  5. TotalInsanity4

    TotalInsanity4 GBAtemp Supreme Overlord
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    10,811
    Country:
    United States
    Can you not map controls to the dpad in Smash?
     
  6. Lyrin

    OP Lyrin Annoying Weaboo Girl
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Messages:
    497
    Country:
    United States
    Not movement. I think you might be able to map attack or something, but no movement. They use DPad for taunts primarily.
     
  7. pasc

    pasc Newbie

    Wow. Talk about Hype. Wonder if this'll work on the Switch aswell...
     
  8. Kevinpuerta

    Kevinpuerta GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    524
    Country:
    United States
    Nope
     
  9. Cloudest

    Cloudest Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
    Wait, this means that we can use pokemon (GBA) through cable link for Pokemon XD/Collosseum in near future? (i hope so) (sorry my broken english though)
     
  10. Lyrin

    OP Lyrin Annoying Weaboo Girl
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Messages:
    497
    Country:
    United States
    No. This spoofs the GBA as a Gamecube controller.
     
  11. Argonitious

    Argonitious Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't think this could even be done. Nice find. :yayu:

    I could actually use this for the increasingly common occasion where I need an extra GC controller. I'm too cheap to buy extras right now. :rofl2:
     
  12. Billy Acuña

    Billy Acuña GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,014
    Country:
    Mexico
    This would be perfect to play GB(C/A) games on RetroArch for Gameboy Player feeling :)
     
    Yoni Arousement and RockRiver like this.
  13. enarky

    enarky owls?
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,163
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    Works perfectly fine on my Switch with the original WiiU Gamecube adapter and controller.gba from GBI running on the GBA. Kind of useless since it doesn't emulate all buttons, but it seems to work quite fine.
     
  14. Kevinpuerta

    Kevinpuerta GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    524
    Country:
    United States
    But thats different from this technique
    Still works though
     
  15. MikaDubbz

    MikaDubbz GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2017
    Messages:
    888
    Country:
    United States
    This is really cool, but I imagine we still can't use the GBA in Nintendont on the Wii U for the games that could link up with the GBA. I bet that simply is impossible, but I so would love it if somehow we could make that work, Four Swords and Crystal Chronicles deserve much more love.
     
  16. FIX94

    FIX94 Former Staff
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,284
    Country:
    Germany
    those wii instructions seemed way too complicated for me, so I made a process without the whole mios requirement.
    -Grab this little program I just wrote up:
    https://github.com/FIX94/gba-link-cable-rom-sender/releases/tag/v1.0
    -Put the gbaromsend_wii.dol renamed into sd:/apps/gba-link-cable-rom-sender/boot.dol
    -Put controller.gba from gbi into a folder called "gba" on your sd card
    -Boot up gba-link-cable-rom-sender with a powered on gba plugged into port 2 of your wii
    -Select controller.gba, you can use a gc controller in port 1 or wiimote/classic controller/wiiu pro controller thats player 1 for that selection
    -After screen on gba turns white you can then exit gba-link-cable-rom-sender and use it as a gamecube controller
     
  17. zerofalcon

    zerofalcon GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    636
    Country:
    With a gba flashcart you only need to run the payload embedded in a compiled gba rom. Extrems made it long time ago. Nice tutorial btw.
     
  18. Owenge

    Owenge GbaTemp browser
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    788
    Country:
    United States
    Next up we will be using a calculator as a controller for the WiiU :rofl2:

    (Tbh this is actual really cool :grog:)
     
    Metoroid0 likes this.
  19. Metoroid0

    Metoroid0 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,794
    Country:
    Japan
    I have EZflash for GBA SP, GBA to GC link cable, and a hacked wii runing Nintendont through WiiFlow to play GC games.

    I played Sonic adventure and tried to transfer chao from SA chao garden to sonic advance tiny chao garden, but its saying No gba is in port 2, but it is, and tiny chao garden is runing on GBA....whats wrong?

    Same goes for metroid prime and Zelda four swords...

    Thanks!
     
  20. Lyrin

    OP Lyrin Annoying Weaboo Girl
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Messages:
    497
    Country:
    United States
    You can't use a GBA (as a GBA) with the Gamecube Adapter.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Tutorial], controller,