1. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    10,849
    Country:
    United States
    Try using ReiNX.
     
  2. Walo

    Walo GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
    So I’m having a few issues after updating.
    I updated to 9.1 using ChoiDejourNX, set up the auto rcm and was getting the “fatal error: Unable to Identify package”

    Did a little googling and apparently I needed to update Atmosphere. Kinda seems like a big detail you guys didn’t mention. But I got a 9.1 compatible and got the switch to boot up.

    So I tried to launch the home brew menu by holding R and didn’t do anything, tried with L and it worked. But while the joy cons work when navigating the homebrew menu, once I launch an app, only the touch screen works and the home menu button. Which is strange and would love to know what happened.

    Then I tried booting up a game and it’s giving me an error and won’t let me boot them. The homebrew menu works so it’s not that I’m not on cfw when trying to launch them...

    So what gives? Any idea about what happened?
     
  3. LordKurisu

    LordKurisu Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you installed the sigpatches for 9.1? I would assume that would fix the game launch thing.
    as for home-brew having no controls make sure you have the latest version of the home-brew app as the latest version of atmosphere changed the way this is handled
     
  4. Walo

    Walo GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
    What are sig patches? What I did was basically just back up the sd card files and then just replace the existing ones with folders of “atmosphere” “sept” and “Switch” and a homebrew app on the root of the sd.

    Where can I get these files and what do I do with them?
     
  5. LordKurisu

    LordKurisu Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Walo likes this.
  6. Walo

    Walo GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
  7. LordKurisu

    LordKurisu Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  8. Walo

    Walo GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
    I ended up getting deleting the atmosphere folder and copying over the new one from scratch. Games do boot, but the the homebrew apps still won’t work with the joycons...
    I put the hbmenu.nro on the root of the sd card. V3.2.0
    Edit: to be clear, the homebrew menu does recognize the joy cons, it’s the apps themselves that don’t, like gold leaf or retroarch
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2020
  9. LordKurisu

    LordKurisu Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  10. Tackskull

    Tackskull GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    191
    Country:
    France
    Hi guys, basically I have 2 different SD cards, eachone with his own game installed. The fact is that despite whatever sd card I use, the gamelist showing on my switch is basically the total of both sd cards. This give a problem that I don't know wich sd I am using and would like that the system would let me see only the games are installed on the sd.
    How can I do it?
     
  11. strangeone1969

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    I got it to work, finally got the java to update and all is running smoothly!!!:) Thanks f
    I got it to work, finally got the java to update and all is running smoothly!!!:) Thanks for the help, greatly appreciated!
     
    pLaYeR^^ likes this.
  12. Dyloh

    Dyloh Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey sorry to bother guys just was wondering if I could get a lil help? I've just followed the sd setup through the switch homebrew site and have run into couple of troubles. My big one atm is that some games give me a "checking if software can be played" error, mainly resident evil atm. Sometimes I'll install a game and it will seem normal until I try and run it. It will then fail and my other successfully installed games will stop working and give me the same error. The checking if software can be played error seems to always be related to sigpatches but I'm pretty sure I've installed then either through doing it myself or the SD setup zip. Anything else I could be missing?
     
  13. pLaYeR^^

    pLaYeR^^ Doctor Switch
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,943
    Country:
    Austria
    As you said, it's most likely caused by wrong sigpatches. Try to only download sigpatches and put them on your micro sd card.
     
  14. Raj212

    Raj212 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    India
    1. What happens when you start a cfw installed switch without an mmc inserted?

    2. Also, i installed the cfw on sysnand and want to change it to emunand. is it possible now? a clean install is the way to go?

    I'm new to this and hence these questions..sorry for the trouble.
     
  15. Dyloh

    Dyloh Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah I've tried that a few times but not sure if I'm doing it correctly because doesn't seem to fix my issue. I always get kip patches as well whenever I download the newest sigpatches and I'm not sure if in supposed to bother with them although I'm sure I've tried em but not sure if I was putting them in the correct folder.
     
  16. pLaYeR^^

    pLaYeR^^ Doctor Switch
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,943
    Country:
    Austria
    You use Kosmos package?
     
  17. Dyloh

    Dyloh Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Australia
    If I didn't have the correct sigpatches wouldn't all games not work?
    Yeah I'm pretty sure that's what I'm using? Sd setup Kosmos Default. I'm giving it another go right now. I downloaded the newest patches from the GitHub and I'm using the one with the bootloader file because I wasn't exactly sure what to do with the others. 60seconds! Has been giving me trouble as well so ill give that a whack and see if it works. Takes forever to reinstall resident evil.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Yeah no good with installing the new patches, 60 seconds! Just gives the blank thumbnail "checking to see if this software can be played" error but Hotline Miami, Axiom Verge, Katana Zero and Dead Cells work fine. Not sure why.
     
  18. CrimsonWesker

    CrimsonWesker Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey all, just a quick one and I know there's no definitive answer but I thought I'd ask anyway.

    If this is against TOS please let me know.

    I've downloaded some XCI through Switch-XCI.com torrents but most seemt o get an NCA error through tinfoil.

    I know how to fix it but realistically.......whats the odds of a brick to my switch? Does it happen a lot with these? I just can't seem to find regular sources on XCIs that are considered safe by Tinfoil
     
  19. pLaYeR^^

    pLaYeR^^ Doctor Switch
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,943
    Country:
    Austria
    But the sigpatches with the bootloader folder should work fine. You also put the bootloader folder on your sd card? You are using FAT32 or exFAT?
     
    Dyloh likes this.
  20. ly0koS

    ly0koS Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    China
    I'm using the Emunand,and when I install an nsp in tinfoil I accidentally changed its location to NAND,will that affect my Sysnand?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE, SWITCH