1. hagai

    hagai Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Israel
    i ahve a hackable switch, when i enter recovery mode everything is ok but when i connect to my pc the switch turns on.

    is there any way to fix it?
     
  2. Lynn:-)

    Lynn:-) Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Hi all, I am about to hack my switch. I have been advised not to go online due to banning. What I want to know is, if I hack my switch is there anyway I can sort of unhack it for going online purposes or is it just a huge no?
     
  3. pLaYeR^^

    pLaYeR^^ Doctor Switch
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,946
    Country:
    Austria
    First of all you need to make a backup of your clean NAND with hekate before booting CFW. You can either create EmuMMC and use it for online or you use clean eMMC for online. But don't go online with the NAND where you install unlegit NSPs or XCIs.
     
    Lynn:-) likes this.
  4. Saicho7

    Saicho7 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Hi all, I've been running Hekate/Atmos0.9.4 on a 9.0.1 CFW emuMMC I created to play backups using the Kosmos bundle. Everything is working great. My OFW sysMMC is also 9.0.1. I use 90DNS on emuMMC and have no intention of going online there. However, I'd like to go online on sysMMC, and access the eshop to buy stuff like DLC, and play some carts online. Forgive my ignorance, I have a few basic questions:

    1. Is this relatively safe? As long as I keep and play my backups on emuMMC without going online, then going online on sysMMC there shouldn't be a risk of ban?
    2. If I want to go online on sysMMC, I'll need to update to the latest OFW, which is now 9.1.0, correct?
    3. What, if anything, do I "lose" by upgrading to OFW 9.1.0 on sysMMC?
    4. If I upgrade sysMMC to OFW 9.1.0, should I do this with a method that bypasses fuse burning? Why or why not?

    Thanks!
     
  5. Raj212

    Raj212 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    India
    I've got a used switch...it runs firmware 4.1.0....can i update it to 9.1.0 as it doesn't allow me to use the eshop and restore factory settings without updating...I've got this particularly to install nsp's....so will updating effect my plans to install atmosphere and hb??
     
  6. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    10,881
    Country:
    United States
    Enter RCM while it is connected to your PC.

    1. Yes
    2. Yes
    3. If you do so by burning fuses, you will be unable to downgrade to lower firmware versions. This is relevant in case a better exploit is released for lower firmware versions such as untethered coldboot
    4. Updating without burning fuses carries a certain ban risk since it can only be performed with hacks however the trade-off is allowing you to retain the ability to downgrade in case better exploits are discovered on earlier firmware versions
    If the console is unpatched, it is exploitable regardless of the firmware it is running.
     
  7. Walo

    Walo GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
    What’s the process behind updating the Firmware? I’m on 7.0 I think, not sure where to check with Atmosphere installed.

    Fire Emblem won’t let me update the game if I do t update the system’s firmware
     
  8. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    10,881
    Country:
    United States
    Use the homebrew application ChoiDujourNX.
     
    Walo and Lacius like this.
  9. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12,041
    Country:
    United States
    It is recommended that you update to 9.1.0 using ChoiDujourNX.
     
    Walo and Draxzelex like this.
  10. Walo

    Walo GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
    Ok I have that, do I need to put the files on an sd card? Are they public or do I have to search for them on my own?
    Also, the program only works with the touch screen? It’s v1.01
     
  11. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12,041
    Country:
    United States
    You need to find the 9.1.0 update files on your own. Put them onto your SD card.
     
    Draxzelex likes this.
  12. .d&n

    .d&n Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    Question:
    Whats the point of Partitioning the SD card before creating emuMMC (emuNAND) aka sysMMC (sysNAND) ?
    The guides recommends for you to do it before creating emuMMC, i just dont understand why the need to and lose ~30GB of SD storage.

    The point: 2 benefits
    ⁃ Keep sysMMC clean from any traces of homebrew and be able to play your legals online plus eShop (nintendo servers)
    ⁃ All homebrew stuff done internally is recorded in emuMMC folder in the accessible partition .
    Please correct me if im wrong here.

    What I understand:
    When created, a folder emuMMC appears in the root of the accessible partition (this folder makes the switch think as if it is the internal storage) so anything you do system internally like game saves or installing games it will instead go into this folder. Reason for this is to keep the sysNAND untouched (clean state) and to be able to play your legals online. The other inaccessible partition is the one in question, cannot be opened or rather not recognised and is roughy 30GB.
    Please correct me if my understanding of this is wrong.

    Question:
    Why go through the partition step but instead just go ahead create emuMMC saving you ~30GB. I assume you have your emuMMC folder either way which is the whole point of having emuMMC.
    Please correct me if my assumption is wrong.

    The problem:
    The SD card will have homebrew contents shown either way. Not like theres an emuSD where if you cold boot normally your SD will only have the ‘Nintendo’ folder on the first partition and when cold boot with atmosphere/hakete you switch to the 2nd partition and your SD will then display all homebrew files and folders. Am i right so far?

    Maybe Im misunderstanding somthing or doing somthing wrong with my setup
     
  13. strangeone1969

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    I have downloaded and extracted the NSP file, I try to add it to the SD card only to be told that the file is too large, it is 9GB and my card is 128GB, how do I get it added? I have SX OS, SX OS Installer and goldleaf
     
  14. pLaYeR^^

    pLaYeR^^ Doctor Switch
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,946
    Country:
    Austria
    Use USB install with goldleaf and Quark. You can download Quark from the goldleaf GitHub page.
     
  15. strangeone1969

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    i am having an issue with Java virtual machine on my pc. I am having the worse luck for what I am assuming is a simple thing to do. I did also in the meantime downloaded tinfoil and nut. I put the tinfoil.nro in my switch folder on my SD card, it shows up in my CFW, but when i select it i get a black screen. See I'm a noob.
     
  16. Wheaties~

    Wheaties~ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    Quick question, I made all my nand backups first before partitioning my emummc. I forgot and I booted up Atmosphere via Hekate on sys instead of emu, should I do a restore before doing a normal boot to play online? I didn't do any modifications or anything, just checked my sys info and saw I actually wasn't booted into emummc. I figure something is tainted or changed but I rather get confirmation before going thru the LONG process of a restore.

    Thanks.
     
  17. pLaYeR^^

    pLaYeR^^ Doctor Switch
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,946
    Country:
    Austria
    Follow this guide for Quark: https://github.com/XorTroll/Goldleaf/blob/master/Quark.md

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Better restore it to be safe.
     
  18. RGamer

    RGamer Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Italy
    Hello, i have a problem, i have a fat nintendo switch with atmosphere 0.94 and firmware 8.1.0 and every time i install any games it gives me this error 2154-0107, have you a fix for this error?
    Thanks for anyone that will reply my question.
     
  19. Raj212

    Raj212 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    India
    Thanks for the help!!
     
    Draxzelex likes this.
  20. strangeone1969

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2020
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE, SWITCH