Stickied News Thumbnails

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by Frederica Bernkastel, Aug 26, 2011.

Aug 26, 2011
  1. Frederica Bernkastel
    OP

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think that there should be more care taken with the handling of stickied news, as it would appear that someone has been rather lazy and hotlinked a 1280×1024 image from wallpaperbase.
    [​IMG]

    Now you may not think that this is very important, but considering that it's being used for a 100px tall image (so it doesn't even display properly) and that it adds an extra 4 seconds of load time.......
    [​IMG]
    (plus hotlinking isn't a very nice thing to do anyway)

    For future image optimization, I must recommend Yahoo's SmushIt tool.


    *it might be acceptable in regular threads, but on the page with the most traffic? I think not. Some webmasters are very strict about hotlinking and have referrer based images, so while someone is linking to a relevent image, it could appear to visitors as anything which in the worst case could be illegal and/or shocking material. Family friendly indeed.
     
  2. Ron

    Member Ron somehow a weeb now.

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    here
    Country:
    Canada
    Also the LoZ news thumbnail is just broken.
     
  3. Frederica Bernkastel
    OP

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's been stealthily resolved, and is now working. I was going to mention that too but didn't even notice that there wasn't an image there in the first place.

    EDIT: Here, have some proof. Totally not just because I can.
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Ron

    Member Ron somehow a weeb now.

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    here
    Country:
    Canada
    Whatchu' Talkin Bout?
    [​IMG]

    And before anyone asks, yes, I cleared my cache
     
  5. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    That's strange. It only takes about 2 secs for me to load that page. [​IMG]

    Though sometimes it takes a little longer.


    It's working just fine on my end.
     
  6. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Get told to use pix.gbatemp for news we're submitting to the front page

    Staff don't use it anyway
     
  7. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Cropped the mario one and reuploaded the LOZ one.
     
  8. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    Now it's working just fine, and the picture looks better too.
     
  9. Ron

    Member Ron somehow a weeb now.

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    here
    Country:
    Canada
    Both work fine for me now.
     
  10. Frederica Bernkastel
    OP

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's local content, not including external content. And it's relative to the browser you're using (Firefox and Chrome are designed to make pages look like they're loading faster). I'm looking at website optimization objectively, and any external resources are regarded as part of a page's final load-time.
    There's other things that really need to be implemented here, as summarized by Google's user-friendly test.
     
  11. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, I see (I'm using FireFox btw). I didn't noticed any slow down.

    But it's fixed now so now worries.
     
  12. Ron

    Member Ron somehow a weeb now.

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    here
    Country:
    Canada
    Hopefully it'll come with the new forum update.
     
  13. Frederica Bernkastel
    OP

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Some of the improvements are pretty easy to implement /without/ any major changes (though though they'd obviously have to be re-implemented with the update process anyways). Stuff like minification (which is literally just taking out all the unnecessary spaces, tabs and newlines - things that that is only left in to make later modification easier) and image optimization can be done in bulk via shell scripts.

    There are also a tonne of MySQL and PHP improvements that could be made, which could come whenever.
     
  14. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ummm... it's really messed up now... the thumbnail labelled 'The Secret World' links to the Pokemon GBAtemp hack.
     
  15. shadowmanwkp

    Member shadowmanwkp Your roms are on another rom site

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    486
    Location:
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Crude HTML editing ahoy!

    Now in all seriousness, I expected some simple img tags with some custom coding, or text pasted onto the image. However, it appears that the thumbnails are simple table cells with backgrounds with a hyperlink in front of it. Because tables don't resize the image, they get cut off as you can see in the screenshot of that wallpaper. What's even more bizarre is that it is set to be relevant to the width of the page! You can see that in the zelda article screenshot. If it is set as a background, it will repeat if the width is too great. Just try toying around with the width of your browser window, you'll see what I mean, images will get cut off, or get repeated, while other images don't.

    I'd just use an img tag up there that resizes its witdth along with the page, because the code with the thumbs is a frigging mess. A golden rule with making a website is resize images BEFORE using html to resize them. Otherwise you can get the thing anthology mentioned. It might take you an extra 10 seconds, but it also saves a lot of hassle for the users.
     

Share This Page