Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chaoskagami

    chaoskagami G̷̘̫̍̈́̊̓̈l̴̙͔̞͠i̵̳͊ţ̸̙͇͒̓c̵̬̪̯̥̳͒͌̚h̵̹̭͛̒̊̽̚
    Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,349
    Country:
    United States
    What's your folder setup? To be clear, the file 'config' has no extension, correct? It does odd things with an extension, because it doesn't use it.
     
  2. Raz0r

    Raz0r Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    I'm fairly new to gbatemp so I can't replicate the tree folder layout in the first page so bear with me. ROOT > anim > 0 > anim and config file.
    It's basically the same for the next few folders, some has bottom_anim obviously.
    And of course config has no extension >inb4 it only has 1 byte like it probably should.
    I should probably add that I made them into 30 fps aka 1E in hex, some anims had like 18 or 14 which is 24 and 20 fps iirc.
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2016
  3. chaoskagami

    chaoskagami G̷̘̫̍̈́̊̓̈l̴̙͔̞͠i̵̳͊ţ̸̙͇͒̓c̵̬̪̯̥̳͒͌̚h̵̹̭͛̒̊̽̚
    Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,349
    Country:
    United States
    That's weird then. What's the filesize of the anim file, in bytes?
     
  4. Raz0r

    Raz0r Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Let's just say most or all of them reaches above 20 million bytes, or at least 20 mb above in megabytes.
     
  5. chaoskagami

    chaoskagami G̷̘̫̍̈́̊̓̈l̴̙͔̞͠i̵̳͊ţ̸̙͇͒̓c̵̬̪̯̥̳͒͌̚h̵̹̭͛̒̊̽̚
    Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,349
    Country:
    United States
    The reason I ask is because one frame is 288K. That means the animation is somewhere around ~70 frames total.

    What speed is your SD card, then? If you're not using compression on animations, then the theoretical limits of SD speeds are:

    UHS-3 - No problem.
    Class 10/UHS-1 - 34 fps (top only)
    Class 6 - 20 fps (top only)
    Class <4 - Don't bother.

    On startup it does a SD speed test and if the delay exceeds acceptable for what config specifies, it ignores it and runs as fast as possible.
     
  6. Raz0r

    Raz0r Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    It's a class 10, it did improved when i upgraded my sd card from the one it came with, into a 32 gb class 10 one, but i dont see any differences to animations like the sony one or the gameboy one. For example, for the Danganronpa one, the gif looks great but on my 3ds its like it's running slow like hell.
    Just in case this gathers up confusion, i took animations from a Bootanim9 animation collection on a separate thread.
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2016
  7. chaoskagami

    chaoskagami G̷̘̫̍̈́̊̓̈l̴̙͔̞͠i̵̳͊ţ̸̙͇͒̓c̵̬̪̯̥̳͒͌̚h̵̹̭͛̒̊̽̚
    Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,349
    Country:
    United States
    I honestly have no clue at this point. Assuming you've done everything how you're supposed to (class 10 should be fine), I can't find a fault in your setup. I'm going to have to defer to @Wolfvak at this point. Sorry. :<
     
  8. Wolfvak

    OP Wolfvak nyaa~
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    909
    Country:
    Uruguay
    @Raz0r try encoding it with a lower framerate but use a higher fps in the config file.
    This is essentially frameskipping.
     
  9. urherenow

    urherenow GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,518
    Country:
    United States
    Theoretical doesn't do people any good. UHS-3 means nothing when the 3DS hardware doesn't read at UHS-3 speeds...
     
  10. chaoskagami

    chaoskagami G̷̘̫̍̈́̊̓̈l̴̙͔̞͠i̵̳͊ţ̸̙͇͒̓c̵̬̪̯̥̳͒͌̚h̵̹̭͛̒̊̽̚
    Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,349
    Country:
    United States
    Nothing truly reaches the peak speed because it's a calculated maximum. Heat negatively affects it, as well as factors like how scraped up the contacts are. And since that's variable by card I can't calculate that in. If I gave a 'worst possible' it would be 'don't even bother' because some SDs are just made wrong.

    There's no technical / manufacturing difference between UHS-1 and UHS-3 that should affect the 3DS, btw.
     
  11. SkyDX

    SkyDX Anime Signature Creator, PM me if you want one! :)
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    410
    Country:
    Germany
    Can someone confirm something for me since the first-post and the Github page contradict themselves a bit? I just freshly arrived in A9LH land and have everything working perfectly with Luma3DS and cloned my emuNAND to sysNAND and use the ScreenInit version of A9LH, everything works fine but I'm confused about BootAnim9.

    I made the animations I want to use already and put everything in the anim folder but I'm confused about the payload. Do I rename the Luma3DS payload from arm9loaderhax.bin to arm9payload.bin and place it in the anim folder and then put the BootAnim9 payload in the root as arm9loaderhax.bin and that's it?

    The Github says that Luma.bin loading has been removed and that the Payload will now be auto-patched so I'm a little bit confused, thanks for help in advance! :)
     
    Wolfvak likes this.
  12. Wolfvak

    OP Wolfvak nyaa~
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    909
    Country:
    Uruguay
    Yeah, sorry about that.
    Only payload that will get launched is "arm9payload.bin" in the "anim" folder, and it automatically gets patched if it's Luma.

    So what you just said is completely correct ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
     
    SkyDX likes this.
  13. SkyDX

    SkyDX Anime Signature Creator, PM me if you want one! :)
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    410
    Country:
    Germany
    Okay alright thank you very much, that worked like a charm, thanks for the great work! ^_^

    Now I just need to tweak my animations a bit and my 3DS will be perfect! :D

    Out of curiosity, BootAnim99 doesn't support using different keys to boot various Luma Payloads like Hourglass9, right? :o
     
    Wolfvak likes this.
  14. Wolfvak

    OP Wolfvak nyaa~
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    909
    Country:
    Uruguay
    No, I believe that job should be left to a proper bootloader instead of a CFW.
    Maybe I'll implement something similar though, seeing how many people ask about the same thing.
     
    SkyDX likes this.
  15. SkyDX

    SkyDX Anime Signature Creator, PM me if you want one! :)
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    410
    Country:
    Germany
    Hmm yeah I get your point it really shouldn't be BootAnim9's job :/ Though I ask because it would be good to have the Hourglass9 fallback in case of emergencies and to be honest I have no idea how I should boot UnCart now without the Luma redirection :P But these are two things that I'll rarely use so I'll keep using BootAnim9 for now :)
     
  16. urherenow

    urherenow GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,518
    Country:
    United States
    Correction: Luma gets automatically patched if it's named like /anim/luma.bin. If there is also an arm9payload.bin there also, it'll be loaded instead and won't be patched. (As of the current source, at least).
     
  17. Wolfvak

    OP Wolfvak nyaa~
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    909
    Country:
    Uruguay
    No.
    Do you even realize who you're talking to? I coded the damn thing.
    https://github.com/Wolfvak/BootAnim9/blob/master/loader/source/main.c#L6
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2016
    astronautlevel, hmp22, pbanj and 2 others like this.
  18. SkyDX

    SkyDX Anime Signature Creator, PM me if you want one! :)
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    410
    Country:
    Germany
    Nevermind I'm dumb, the payload-redirects still work even with BootAnim9 :P Though I have a last question, if I only use a top-screen animation, is it actually played fullscreen? I want to use a video with a white background but if it has a black border in the end I might aswell stay with the black background :o
     
    Wolfvak likes this.
  19. kedest

    kedest GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,289
    Country:
    Netherlands
    What does ' arm9payload.bin will be patched for Luma (if necessary)' mean?
    What exactly is it patching for Luma?
     
  20. zes

    zes Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    Reboot patches, so doesn't hang on black screen when playing gba, etc. patch needed if it isn't arm9loaderhax.bin on root
     
    Wolfvak likes this.
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - animations, [RELEASE], BootAnim9

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.