Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. urherenow

    urherenow GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,508
    Country:
    United States
    Do you even realize what your original post currently says? Honest mistake on my part, because of this:
    And... No, I obviously didn't pay attention to who I was replying to :blush:
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2016
  2. kedest

    kedest GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,289
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So that means using the path changer script on luma's bin is no longer necessarry?
     
  3. A_Random_Guy

    A_Random_Guy Officially That Dev
    Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Messages:
    859
    Country:
    Malaysia
    On newer version yes
     
    Wolfvak likes this.
  4. Wolfvak

    OP Wolfvak nyaa~
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    909
    Country:
    Uruguay
    Just noticed, it isn't :D

    https://github.com/delebile/arm9loaderhax/blob/master/license.txt

    Guess I won't need to learn asm that much then.
     
  5. chaoskagami

    chaoskagami G̷̘̫̍̈́̊̓̈l̴̙͔̞͠i̵̳͊ţ̸̙͇͒̓c̵̬̪̯̥̳͒͌̚h̵̹̭͛̒̊̽̚
    Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,341
    Country:
    United States
    Oh boy. Luma did something illegal then, considering it's baked in. It didn't inherit the license from delebile's repo and GPLv3 is not compatible with GPLv2. The use of the screeninit code may be illegal.

    Not that it affects me much - the entire ARM11 blob is external in my code, so regardless of that I'm personally safe - the GPL rules don't apply to external blobs.
     
  6. Pecrow

    Pecrow GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1,137
    Country:
    United States
    Ok.. so, I made an animation, created the /anim/ folder, in there is the arm9payload.bin, and a folder 0 under here, with the anim and config. I have a new 3ds, w/ cfmsysnand (luma) a9lh, I also enabled "Enable splash screen with no screen-init". but I still dont see the animations. Am I missing something?
     
  7. Khangaroo

    Khangaroo $ORIGINALTITLE
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2016
    Messages:
    456
    Country:
    United States
    Are you on screen-init A9LH?
     
  8. Pecrow

    Pecrow GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1,137
    Country:
    United States
    No. I think I installed the no-screen-init when I did the a9lh, could I should replace some files somewhere?
    On the Luma configuration I also enabled the ""Enable splash screen with no screen-init" option, so I do see small screen flash before it completes the boot.
     
  9. Khangaroo

    Khangaroo $ORIGINALTITLE
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2016
    Messages:
    456
    Country:
    United States
    BootAnim9 runs before Luma, so the Luma config doesn't matter.
     
  10. Pecrow

    Pecrow GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1,137
    Country:
    United States
    How can I install the screeninit now?
     
  11. Halvorsen

    Halvorsen GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,028
    Country:
    United States
    Menuhax animation when?
     
  12. A_Random_Guy

    A_Random_Guy Officially That Dev
    Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Messages:
    859
    Country:
    Malaysia
  13. Pecrow

    Pecrow GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1,137
    Country:
    United States
    (This is using the new 2 in 1 payloads)

    Jap N3DS system, using Luma/cfwSysnand and also USA Emunand.

    My current SD Layout:
    /arm9loaderhax_si.bin
    /anim
    /anim/arm9payload.bin
    /anim/0
    /anim/0/anim
    /anim/0/config

    As soon as I boot my n3ds, 2 seconds into boot I see a screen flash (bright back screen), a around 10 seconds later, I see another smaller flash 3ds finishes booting.

    My animations don't work, I have also tested a few others thinking it was an issue with the one I made, but still nothing. Anyone care to help? It could be something very simply, but I really dont know.

    I have also tested changing "arm9payload.bin" over to "luma.bin, or even moving the arm9payload.bin over to / (root) and still nothing.

    ==edit==

    NVM I found the solution.

    I needed to move my (default) "arm9loaderhax_si.bin" that was already on my SD card, and move it to /anim and rename it to "arm9payload.bin".
    Then I needed to use the arm9loaderhax.bin file that came with the bootanime9 zip file, and move it to / (root) named as "arm9loaderhax_si.bin"

    You'd think that something like this should of been in the steps.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2016
  14. Redferne

    Redferne GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    838
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You mean like a readme or info in the github?
    Because it's already there...
     
    pbanj likes this.
  15. Gow supremo

    Gow supremo I am playing my 2ds
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    Spain
    Good work.
     
    Wolfvak likes this.
  16. Wolfvak

    OP Wolfvak nyaa~
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    909
    Country:
    Uruguay
    You'd think people would actually read the instructions.

    "Extract the downloaded/compiled payload and create a folder called "anim" on root and place the payload to chainload as "/anim/arm9payload.bin"."
    From https://github.com/Wolfvak/BootAnim9/blob/master/README.md#how-to-install
     
    pbanj, Kirtai and A_Random_Guy like this.
  17. Pecrow

    Pecrow GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1,137
    Country:
    United States
    I did read those, but they were not clear enough. When I read them it just sound like. Download, create anim on root, and place the arm9loaderhax.bin included in the download zip file but rename it as arm9payload.bin. NOT that I had to name my arm9loaderhax.bin already on my SD card, to move that over to the /anim/ folder and rename that as arm9payload.bin and the one on the zip file I downloaded to use that on the root of the SD card. See, they are very different steps.
     
  18. StarGazerTom

    StarGazerTom GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    1,930
    Country:
    Anyone got any idea's on this one? a9lh works perfectly fine. This is what I did.

    made an anim folder in the root of my sd card.
    made a 1 folder in the anim folder.
    moved arm9loaderhax.bin from the root of the sd card to the anim folder.
    renamed arm9loaderhax.bin to arm9payload.bin

    extracted arm9loaderhax.bin from the BootAnim zip to my sd card root.
    extracted the animation file anim to the 1 folder.

    So this SHOULD play the animation. Instead it seems to just skip it and load straight into the homescreen.
     
  19. Temptress Cerise

    Temptress Cerise Miss Magic~ <3
    Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2,238
    Country:
    United States
    Are you using a screen-init fork of A9LH?
     
  20. StarGazerTom

    StarGazerTom GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    1,930
    Country:
    I BELIEVE so. The backlight turns on for a second, off for 3, and then back on when the homescreen starts. From what I'm reading, that's screen init isn't it?
     
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - animations, [RELEASE], BootAnim9

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.