MapleStory DS Image Editing -- Need help.

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by twiztidsinz, Nov 27, 2010.

Nov 27, 2010
  1. twiztidsinz
    OP

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    MapleStory DS English Patch v.0.02b+: http://www.mediafire.com/?gffhpzaz5odcug0

    I'm keeping the 'v0.02b' name as that is the patch I used as a base. All credit should go to the original team for the translation.

    Before -- > After

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    Features:
    • Keeps/Restores the original GameID: YMPK E30004EB
    • World Map names translated.
    • Island/Continent names translated.
    • Victoria Island names translated.
    • Ossyria Continent names translated. -- 2 extremely minor issues.
    • Maple Island names translated.
    • Taxi Map translated.
    • Map Buttons translated.
    • Some NPC/Item name fixed. -- ex. Runa -> Luna, Rines -> Riness //All per Concept Art or Hidden-Street.net
    • Some Place name fixed. -- ex. Earth Defense HQ -> Omega Sector //All per Global MapleStory names.
    • Fixed Town descriptions. -- Mostly alignment issues, some Engrish.
    • Key Item/Name (colored words) in story.
    • Fixed Skill descriptions. -- Alignments and Clarifications.
    • Completed Skill description translation.
    • Some Inn & Shop NPC texts. -- Essentially made up.
    • Some option choices. -- at least 1, maybe 2.
    • Other minor fixes.
    Thanks to jjjewel for the help and DarthNemesis for having the foresight to include unpacking/packing the image files in MapleTrans.

    Thanks as well to the original team that translated MapleStory DS, without whom this project wouldn't be.

    How to patch:
    • If you have a clean, untrimmed game, drop it onto Drop CLEAN ROM Here.bat

      -- It will patch the game with the original v0.02b patch, then a second time with my v0.02b+ update.
    • If you have a v0.02b patched game, drop it onto Drop PATCHED ROM Here.bat

      -- It will patch the game with my v0.02b+ update.
    Warning:
    • DO NOT trim the ROM. Trimming the ROM ends up cutting about 1MB from the end of the file.
    • In case you accidentally trim the ROM, I have created a recovery patch which you can get here: http://www.mediafire.com/?3p3ad6tgvbzi5ty
    In case anyone wants to mess around with the game, or add graphic edits or do whatever, I'm including a list of graphics files and a description:

    Graphics files list --incomplete (Warning: Long list)
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
    hayate891 likes this.


  2. king_leo

    Member king_leo Real Hero

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    755
    Location:
    De RigueurMortis
    Country:
    Australia
    hmm, ill go have a look and see what i can find

    if your wanting to edit, first thing is to find the file somewhere in the .nds, once found or you think is found (unpack it) open the file with something like tilemolester, (you might have to set it up to see the picture) once your set and you see a picture, edit when done save it repack the .nds and test (well thats what i did when editing the pokemon title in soul silver)
     
  3. twiztidsinz
    OP

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    I know more or less what to do to edit the images (might not be the best or fastest way, but I've got MY way down), my problem is dealing with compression and encryption. And it seems MapleStory DS is somewhat tricky -- not good for a noob hacker like myself.
    The bulk of the game unpacked is \data\RESOURCE.NXARC (I'm guessing NeXeon ARChive, so not only is it an archive but it's a custom one) which is 63.2MB, so I'm guessing it's somewhere in there. Combined with the sound file, \data\IN\RES\SND\MapleStoryNDS.sdat (32.9MB), that's 96.1MB out of the 109MB total so there's not much else place graphics could be really.

    I tried poking around in DarthNemesis' MapleTrans UNPACK folder but I haven't found anything yet, and it's kind of like looking for a needle in a heystack... only the needle doesn't look like a needle. [​IMG]
     
  4. rastsan

    Member rastsan 8 baller, Death Wizard

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    963
    Location:
    toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    time to slowly unpack look and rename remembering that you can always search for certain bytes even in compression. Does maple trans repack too?
    Cause the slow and sure method of going through every file might do it. Or you could do what noitara suggests unpack with one then repack with winrar with no compression then look through that giant file...
     
  5. twiztidsinz
    OP

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    The problem is, I'm pretty sure everything I'm looking for is inside one compressed file: \data\RESOURCE.NXARC.
    I don't know how to unpack that file (or unpack anything except the ROM itself) and I don't know if MapleTrans unpacks more than the text.

    I've been going through the files one-by-one in the MapleTrans folder looking for something that looks like an image, and I'm almost certain I've found some -- the character 'pop up' emotes -- but even those are horribly mangled not recognizable (possibly compression?).
     
  6. jjjewel

    Member jjjewel GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,004
    Country:
    United States
    Images in resource.nxarc aren't compressed. I can view a lot of images randomly but I don't know where the ones you are looking for are located. File are probably packed in some way. (You can find many NARC files packed together in there.)

    Oh, I just tried DarthNemesis's program. The NCGR files after you unpack the game are your graphics and NCLR files are your palettes.
    You can open the NCGR files in Crystaltile2 then import corresponding NCLR as the palette. (Or you can try TileMolester or any Tile programs but check first if it supports NCLR palette or not.)

    P.S. Try looking at how the files are arrange. Ex. 0.NCLR, 1.NCER, 2.NCGR, etc. So you know that if you open file 2.NCGR, you are supposed to try 0.NCLR as color palette first. (It might not always be the case, but most likely it should be the adjacent file.)

    Ex. Image from Out/Res/Glt/10.NCGR with 8.NCLR as palette.
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    If you can contact DarthNemesis, you might ask him if he could adjust the unpacker to leave the Narc files as they are. CrystalTile2 can read and sort NARC files and you can load graphics and palettes without opening/importing them one by one.
     
    hayate891 likes this.
  7. twiztidsinz
    OP

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    oh wow...
    No wonder I could never get Crystal Tile to work right, I've been using the wrong 'Tile' button (3 to the right).

    Is there a specific version of CT2 I should use?
    I have the newest version I could find (2010, 06, 12, 0) and it has slightly different options than what yours show, it also has a problem lining up the tiles (I have to switch views to get it to line up correctly).


    A lot of these seem to be character art, not the ingame images.
     
  8. jjjewel

    Member jjjewel GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,004
    Country:
    United States
    I used the older version of CT2 (2009-03-10) because the new one always crashes on my computer. But I think any version should work.

    For tile problem, there's a View-->Fit Window to Tile option. Check it and resize your window. Sometimes it works. [​IMG]
     
  9. twiztidsinz
    OP

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Found a way to work without TileMolester... Progress is being made (at least on the first part, there are 3 maps, though one just has two names).


    Thanks jjjewel for the help and image!
    A picture really IS worth a thousand words. [​IMG]

    If it's not too much of a bother, could you open up \UNPACK\IN\133.NCGR (Palette is \UNPACK\IN\131.NCLR)?
    I'm having a LOT of problems getting it to line up in ANY workable sense.

    -- removed images --
     
  10. twiztidsinz
    OP

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Hate to double post, but.. sort of changing the direction of the topic, rather than making a new one.
    If a mod could change the topic to remove the " -- Need help." part and maybe add " Project", it'd be appreciated.


    Turns out that editing the RESOURCE.NXARC directly causes problems (my guess is that it's got a checksum somewhere? maybe?) and to change things properly I have to use DarthNemesis' MapleTrans app... but it's not that simple: I need to actually have a change done to a text file before MapleTrans will repack the RESOURCE.NXARC, so I have to edit a file every time I update. And what started out as a little bit of image editing is becoming a project bigger than I intended... so, lets make it a project!

    Still having a hell of a time with the \UNPACK\IN\133.NCGR [​IMG]
     
  11. jjjewel

    Member jjjewel GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,004
    Country:
    United States
    Could you upload that NCGR file and maybe the corresponding NCLR file and post the link here? (I just deleted the unpacked folder and it took so long to unpack the rom. I didn't want to do that again. T_T) Also, other people who want to give it a try but don't want to go through the unpacking process can help as well. [​IMG])
     
  12. twiztidsinz
    OP

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Sure.
    Here's the file (133.NCGR) + palette (131.NCLR) and the settings I used: http://www.mediafire.com/?zl9gal9ogqxp6mk
     
  13. jjjewel

    Member jjjewel GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,004
    Country:
    United States
    You might need to use the Tile Composition Tool in the latest CrystalTile2 to arrange these tiles. (It's under Tool menu after you open your NCGR file.)
    I'd suggest using height of 8 or 4. (I can't read Korean so I don't know how the words should look like.)

    With the tool, you can drag and drop each piece of tile on the tool and arrange it to form a word. (It's like playing jigsaw puzzle.) Once you get a word, export the picture and edit it. Then, import the edited picture back with the tool and it will auto arrange the tiles for you. (I'm not good at explaining, so you can try it and see how it works. [​IMG])
     
    hayate891 likes this.
  14. twiztidsinz
    OP

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Hmmm... Interesting.
    It was giving me tons of problems at first (wouldn't work at all), but it's getting more manageable as I go.

    I think this will be what I need since I can get different things to line up with different settings, then just put them together. It needs a bit more 'polish' but, it works so I can't comlain. [​IMG]

    Thanks again for the advice!
     
  15. twiztidsinz
    OP

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry to bump/double post again...

    -- snipped old info and image --
    But here is where I am running into problems, what I've edited is only the 'selected' maps. There seems to be a full map below it that the selections sit on that I cannot find.

    I can see the full map with No$GBA Debugger by going to Window -> BG Maps -> BG3 Map and switching to Engine A.
    I get some ranges for the image between 6002000 - 60025FE for the Map Address and 6014000 - 6019FE0 for the Tile Address, but I have no clue what to do with them... CrystalTile2 has a MAP/OAM address field under Properties, but putting the address in does nothing with the full game and the RESOURCE.NXARC file.

    I also noticed that CT2 has a DS Emulator entry under File, but I can't find anything on how to use it.
    Any guides or pointers on how to use the above would be greatly appreciated.


    I have 'mapped' out what is in each of the the NCGR files, the ones that are big enough to contain anything even remotely recognizable.
    Maybe someone else can make use of this in the future. All are pretty standard GBA 8bpp, 32 wide/16 tall, some need 16/8 and some use both. Unless noted, the palette is the NCLR file 2 or 4 below the NCGR.
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  16. rastsan

    Member rastsan 8 baller, Death Wizard

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    963
    Location:
    toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    okay you have the tile address go there... did you find any images?
    next in hex mode goto the map adress find the 8 digit number and enter in map field in properties. May not be that simple and may not need to do this also may not find an map address there- finding the right attributes is more important.
    As you can carve the image with the tile composition tool and put it the right way.
    stuck on your palette? use the pallete pane and go to gray division or combo and use one of the black and white ones on the bottom. either way you can find a pallete to work with so long as it makes your image viewable.


    get yourself a copy of zoids battle coliseum and view the file system view the the tile address then view the map address for some of the images to see what I am talking about. The image is all garbled up with the tile address but not with the map address. the map address is not really needed. just handy to have.

    So somwhere in that range that 6014000 - 6019FE0 is the image stuff you need to edit. that is all you need to concentrate on.
     
  17. twiztidsinz
    OP

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    I think you're going a little too fast for me [​IMG]

    If I put the tile address into the offset of the ROM it sends me to the IN/RES/SND/MapleStoryNDS.sdat (past RESOURCE.NXARC) and the RESOURCE.NXARC isn't long enough to have that address, so I pretty sure I'm putting it into the wrong place.
    In hex mode, I don't see any 8 digit number (other than the offset) at the map address.

    -- snipped old info and image --
     
  18. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Are you making a full translation?
     
  19. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    I also was part of the MapleStory DS Translation team. If you want access to our work, let me know. As long as you keep our names in the credits I have no problem with you using the work that I helped contribute to.

    EDIT: I'm assuming you are doing more than a menu translation... that's already been done.
     
  20. twiztidsinz
    OP

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not doing a full translation, I also have no intention of modifying the credits.

    What I'm doing is mentioned in the first post, my main focus is on the graphic editing on the maps (which is mostly done).
    Additionally I'm cleaning up what has been translated (alignment and some small grammatical fixes), attempting to complete the Skill Descriptions as best I can, and 'filling in' the key items and names (colored words, wrapped in ? ?/{}//[]) as well as adding in the Shop and Inn/Fairy text (mostly made up).
    I'll also be repacking the game using a tool that doesn't change the GameID (NitroPE) so it will be the same as the original game's, unlike DSBuff.


    @Skyline969: As for the work, I don't really think I'll need it -- unless there's something newer than v.0.02b.
    What I was requesting was permission to include your work in one 'big' patch, to go from Clean -> Your Translation+My Graphic Edits in one go... but I've kind of re-though that, since I think many people who will be interested in this would already have your patch. So what I've done is made two 'Drag ROM Here' batch files, one is for Clean games and patches your patch then mine, the other does JUST mine and uses the ROM patched with v.0.02b as a base.
     

Share This Page