How to boot reatil Zelda Skyward Sword on Hacked Wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Dookieman, Nov 27, 2011.

  1. Dookieman
    OP

    Member Dookieman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    Country:
    United States
    I just bought the new Zelda game and I am super excited to play it. I've read lots of topics with no luck on getting the game to boot. I am on Wii 4.1U and want to retain my Wii's Hacked Status. I havent turned my Wii on in months so I have no idea what the new and ideal combination is for getting games to boot.

    Does anyone know how to get the game to boot from retail DVD using Neogamma? If someone could list all of the things I need that would be great...Sorry for the noob questions!
     


  2. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    The easiest solution is to rehack your Wii with ModMii. You can then play any retail game from the System Menu.
     
  3. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,853
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    People will tell you to "just use ModMii" without reading your questions, feel free to ignore them.


    Try using the 'use alt.dol' feature and select player.dol. After seeing the motion+ demo once you can play it with neogamma normally.

    Also we have another section of this site for small questions like this. The subforum you used is for wii backup loader discussion rather than short questions.
    Try using ask gbatemp in the future http://gbatemp.net/index.php?app=ask so the people that answer your questions that are already answered in many threads out there get a little more recognized.
     
  4. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Using NeoGamma isn't really a solution because the OP would still have to update his cIOS. I told him to use ModMii not because I'm lazy, but because doing so will prevent problems like this in the future.
     
  5. Dookieman
    OP

    Member Dookieman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    Country:
    United States
    Modmii, what does that do? It is something I have to launch from the Homebrew Channel?
     
  6. gamefan5

    Member gamefan5 Kid Icarus Uprising connoiseur

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,851
    Location:
    Somewhere in this Earth
    Country:
    Canada
    It's funny though. My wii is 4.2U. It's hacked. Did not use it for MONTHS. Bought Skyward Sword. Played it from Official wii disc channel. And IT WORKS 100%. Oh and the disc didn't even bring the update. O.O Then again, I blocked the discs update using StartPatch. ;)
     
  7. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Lol, people still use StartPatch? The last time I heard of somebody using that was when they bricked when applying a patch (no way to disable it like with Priiloader).

    The reason you could play was because you obviously had IOS56 installed.

    @OP: ModMii is a program that generates a guide and downloads the necessary files for you. There is a link in my signature.
     
  8. Viga Skywalker

    Newcomer Viga Skywalker Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United States
    StartPatch is the best, man.
     
  9. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    StartPatch is fail. It offers no brick recovery, applying patches (and removing them) is a huge PITA, and it lacks tons of other features that Priiloader offers.

    Quit typing everything in italics, it's really annoying.
     
  10. Dookieman
    OP

    Member Dookieman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    Country:
    United States
    So the solution is ModMii?
     
  11. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. It will solve this problem and will likely prevent many others in the future.
     
  12. Viga Skywalker

    Newcomer Viga Skywalker Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United States
    No. It's not the topic's question. StratPatch is better to working the retail imported games.
    Priiloader is optional, but good to no brick recovery. Priiloader is only necessary for desperate gamers because the mod/hack, man.
    StartPatch is less dangerous than Priiloader, because StartPatch it's reversible. Others features of Priiloader aren't so important.
    Spending well. :yaywii:
     
  13. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Lol, you really don't know what you are talking about. I suggest you do a bit of research.
     
  14. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
  15. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, that was a genuine "Lol" in my previous post. :D
     
  16. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    i really laughed when you said "PITA"
     
  17. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,853
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    Zelda Skyward Sword has no AP (Anti Piracy) nor update on the retail disc and only a few needed to install a d2x CIOS.

    The trick is in how he is using NeoGamma or the disc channel. Running ModMii and following its guide would not change this which is the question he is asking.


    I used StartPatch but I recommend PriiLoader instead, it is better. Do not attempt both on the same machine though.
     
  18. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    By using ModMii he would have the requirements for running the game from either place. I also doubt that the only game he will ever play is SS.
     
  19. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    ...

    Option 1:
    Make sure you have the latest HBC installed. If the game is from the same region as your Wii, just update from the disc. The game will now work from disc channel without any trouble. You will need to reinstall the cIOS though, but since you might want to update to the latest d2x cIOS, it's about the same work with and without the update.

    Option 2:
    Install the latest d2x cIOS with base IOS56. Then run the game in NeoGamma, base IOS56 might be important as the game uses IOS56.

    Option 3:
    Install the latest IOS56. Now set NeoGamma to use the correct IOS and it will load IOS56 for the game.

    Option 4:
    Install the latest IOS56 and make sure you have priiloader installed. Then set priiloader to block disc updates, and play the game from the disc channel.

    There are probalbly more options, but these are the ones i had in 10 seconds.
     
  20. vegemikee

    Member vegemikee GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    356
    Country:
    Australia
    I don't understand why you'd need a cIOS to boot a retail game, but try this instead.

    (Assuming you have Priiloader installed) Enable the options to block System Menu updates, both online and disc.
    Enter System Menu
    Boot game through Disc Channel
    Voila.

    I don't understand why everyone's solution is 'use ModMii'. Use ModMii for what? Installing the new Shop Channel? The options in that program are too extensive for people to simply say 'Use ModMii' when they only want to play a retail game.
     

Share This Page