Wood R4 Slowdown

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by tigris, Nov 6, 2010.

Nov 6, 2010

Wood R4 Slowdown by tigris at 9:23 PM (1,082 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. tigris
    OP

    Member tigris Sentient Existential Anthropomorphic Sweet Potato

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,689
    Location:
    The Tibetan Himalayas
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've noticed Wood R4 slowdown in a number of games, including the Sims 3 and DQIX.


    Games which usually use condensed larger sprites to show a better-quality character, like in DQIX. In DQIX, 4 characters with eqquipment on causes noticeable frame-rate drops, and monsters on-screen slow the game to roughly 3/4 of regular speed, which leaves you pressing the stylus on the screen for seemingly infinite time.

    In 'The Sims 3, Europe Version', leaving your lot and going out to the town, which uses a massive map with sprites on that can be zoomed onto, (ie condensed sprites again), the game becomes equally as sluggish as DQIX. Cheats off makes no difference.


    This, I believe, is not a bug but some kind of inherent flaw with the way Wood handles its games. As its filesize grew, so did the loading times, and games played with Wood 1.04 tend to play faster than 1.15. In case you'd like to know, I have a Kingston 2GB MicroSD with a genuine R4.
     
  2. emigre

    Member emigre Has complex motives

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7,919
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've got a headache so bear with me here. With the DQ9 example, is memory servesme correct that slowdown was on all carts. I remember having it on my AK2. So the slowdown could very well be on the actual retail carts as well.
     
  3. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    R4 with Wood 1.12/1.13 on a SanDisk 1GB MicroSD
    AceKard 2i with AKAIO 1.7.1 on an ADATA 4GB MicroSDHC

    I had no noticeable slowdowns in DQIX.
     
  4. Crass

    Member Crass Rock me Dr. Zaius

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    984
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    Try formatting your microSD.
     
  5. iluvfupaburgers

    Member iluvfupaburgers FUPA Luva

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    572
    Location:
    in front of my computer
    Country:
    Ecuador
    could be your sd card, format it, and try another card aswell and see if you have any problems
     

Share This Page