Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. samiam144

    OP samiam144 Régulier
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,876
    Country:
    Canada
    Alright, I'm gonna have to summon @Nestar for this since I am unsure of how to do step 2 (and thus, step 12). For step 1 and step 11, you need to use Emunand Tool. Other than that, the rest should be easy to understand!

    Hey Nestar, I have an idea. Do you think using TinyFormat would simplify this process a bit? It can format sysnand/emunand without wiping the SD card. I've never used it though.
     
  2. Justin20020

    Justin20020 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    764
    Country:
    Germany
    @samiam144 did you already put your method with "menuhax will boot to emunand and the other thing will you bring to the hbl" on your tutorial? Im so excited :D
     
  3. samiam144

    OP samiam144 Régulier
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,876
    Country:
    Canada
    Justin20020 likes this.
  4. Nestar

    Nestar GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    There is supposed to be an easier way, try this:
    From https://gbatemp.net/threads/tutoria...634-after-sysnand-unlink.405005/#post-5847253

    Probably. There is also Emunand9 to format emunand, but I haven't used either. But maybe the whole process is a bit too much work and Ammakos solution works.
     
    Last edited by Nestar, Jan 7, 2016
    samiam144 likes this.
  5. nylehino

    nylehino Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Thailand
    I installed FBI for the part 4a before you edited to BBM, (and many cia games for now).
    Is there any difference between FBI and BBM method? does BBM better than FBI?
    I'm lazy to do the 4a part again :P .
    Can i just use FBI to install the BigBlueMenu.cia without repeat 4a?

    Thank you in advance.
     
  6. Silaesu

    Silaesu Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    So, my dumb ass screwed something up pretty bad....I think.

    I was injecting BigBlueMenu, and instead of it replacing the Health and Safety app, the app is just gone. Can anyone tell me what I screwed up and how to fix it?

    Or is there a way I can just restart from scratch?
     
  7. Nestar

    Nestar GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Yes you can use FBI to install BBM. They both fill the same purpose, so its a matter of taste. Some people say BBM is faster, but I cant confirm that.

    Restarting from scratch is easy, just format emunand again. Do you have a backup for H&S? You can restore it with rxtools if I remember right. Else try to update your emunand if you arent at 10.3 already.
     
    Last edited by Nestar, Jan 7, 2016
  8. samiam144

    OP samiam144 Régulier
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,876
    Country:
    Canada
    BBM automatically chooses the correct place to install the CIA file (SD or Nand). Yes, you can just install BBM.CIA with FBI!

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    You should be able to see it in RXMODE SysNAND, even if regular sysnand can't see it.
     
  9. nylehino

    nylehino Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Thailand
    Thanks again :) , i'll try BBM for next game.
     
  10. CheatFreak47

    CheatFreak47 Catgirl Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,516
    Country:
    United States
    Okay so I formatted the EmuNAND and it went smoothly, linked my NinID but now it won't let me restore the EmuNAND. The tool says Invalid NAND size? O.o
    It say this to both my EmuNAND backup and my original NAND backup. ):
    What do I do now?

    Dumping it again with the tool gives another file of the... exact same size?
    Why won't EmuNAND tool work?

    Oh lol, I switched to another version 1.0.1 and it worked. Never mind. (:
    Thanks all. (:
     
    Last edited by CheatFreak47, Jan 7, 2016
  11. Silaesu

    Silaesu Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    So I formatted emunand and the H&S is still gone. So, I'll I feel like I screwed up before I even got to BigBlueMenu and things just hadnt broken yet. Should I just use the format option in system settings?
     
  12. Nestar

    Nestar GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Did you try updating your emunand? If you formated anew your emunand will be at 9.2/9.0 correct? Or do you mean your h&s in sysnand? That should show up in rxMode.

    You can try using https://gbatemp.net/threads/release-emunand9tool-open-source-emunand-formatter-manager.405921/ to restore your emunand. I think rxTools has also an option to inject emunand, but iam not sure.
     
  13. alternativend

    alternativend Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Country:

    I downgraded my o3dsxl to 9.2 in order to get all the hacks working.
    I tried to acess both via sys and emu, always the same error. It tries to conect with a account a had previously, then i thought "why don't just make a new NNID?!"
    when in SYSnand i tried it by deleting the two files inside "dbs" folder, however it asks me to update my 3ds to the latest version.

    I don't care about my old account, how can i make a new one just to aplly the updates to my emunand games?
     
  14. Nestar

    Nestar GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Try this with your old account:

    1) Backup emunand and backup its folder in sdmc:/Nintendo 3DS/ (easier method: add a _ or something at the end of the folder so you don't have to copy it off your SD card, OR cut/paste it to the root of your SD card)
    2) Go in emunand system settings, pick system format
    3) Let it do its thing
    4) Log into your NNID on newly formatted emunand
    5) Restore emunand backup and put its folder back in sdmc:/Nintendo 3DS/

    Should now be working.
     
  15. alternativend

    alternativend Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    rxtools > emunand > settings > format system. Right?
    do i have to remove the SD card when it asks to format?
    What to you mean "backup emunand"?
    just copy its folder full of numbers in /Nintendo 3ds to my pc?
    I'm not going to lose my games and saves?
     
    Last edited by alternativend, Jan 7, 2016
  16. Nestar

    Nestar GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Use Emunandtool to make a backup of your emunand (you can make a backup and inject it later with emunandtool)
    Yes rxtools > emunand >settings >format DO NOT REMOVE YOUR SD CARD, since the emunand is on your sd card.
    Make a copy of your Nintendo 3ds folder on your pc or just rename it. If you do everything right you will not lose any saves or games.
     
  17. alternativend

    alternativend Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    how to use emunandtool?
    if i place the launcher.dat file that comes with it in the root of my SD card it will replace another one, so, something will not launch (i dont remeber from where the existing launcher.dat belongs).
     
  18. Nestar

    Nestar GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    emunandtool doesnt have a launcher.dat. You just run the .exe while your sd card is in your computer and it will detect the emunand partition and asks you where to save your emunand.bin.
     
    alternativend likes this.
  19. alternativend

    alternativend Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    that's great.
    download blocked due to virus on the package.
     
  20. Nestar

    Nestar GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Its a false positive, turn off your antivirus -> download & use tool -> turn on again
     
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Tutorial], Installing, Firmware

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.