Things I may need?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by jwmghf, Mar 13, 2012.

Mar 13, 2012

Things I may need? by jwmghf at 12:34 AM (1,180 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. jwmghf
    OP

    Newcomer jwmghf Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys:

    I took my xbox360 slim apart today. I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to take apart. My dvdrom is a Lite-on DG 16D4S F/W Ver. 0225. The H/W Ver. A0A0.

    I purchased the X360USB Pro Jungle Edition & CK3i Mega bundle to update the firmware on the drive. Is there any other hardware I should be purchasing??(like the Nand & JTag)?

    I'd prefer to play the xbox games through an external hdd and be able to access xbox-live without getting banned if that's possible. If that's not possible than dvd backups will have to do.

    I have also noticed that I should know what dashboard my box is at. I took it apart already and I won't know what it is until I put it back together again. Is that a problem??

    Thanks
     
  2. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,885
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If you want to fork out 100 dollars for a ODDE like the Wasabi 360/Xk3y etc then yes you can load games off of an external HDD.

    Other then that it's not possible unless you reset glitch your box.
    RGH'd consoles can NEVER EVER connect to XBLive!

    To flash your Drive you need to gain write access to it.
    Refer to the Jungleflasher manual on how to achieve write access.

    Possible hardware that you might need are the Probe 3 and a Sputnik360 (requires soldering)
    And a Liteon iHAS B drive for burning XGD3 backups (newer 360 games)

    Your dashboard is VERY important.
    It tells you what updates you have and what firmware is safe to use on XBLive.
    The dashboard version can only be seen when you power on your 360 and go to the console settings tab.
     
  3. jwmghf
    OP

    Newcomer jwmghf Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks Dinohscene!!!
     
  4. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    you will be banned within seconds I believe
     
  5. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,885
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Nah it can last a few hours.
    If you're very very lucky.

    But basically yes you will get banned very easily.


    You're welcome ;]
     
  6. jwmghf
    OP

    Newcomer jwmghf Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I finished hacking my console and it works gr8. I have never accepted an Update from MS. I have owned the box for 2 years. A backup I have says it needs an update to be able to work. I have never done this. Is there a tutorial I can follow?

    Thanks
     
  7. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,885
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    What dash are you on?

    Usually it's recommended to reflash back to stock and then apply the update.
    After the update it's safe to flash back to LT 3.0 again.
     
  8. jwmghf
    OP

    Newcomer jwmghf Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks Dinohscene:

    I reverted back to OFW and updated to 14699. I then reloaded LT 3.0 again. It went well. Now I got the one game that wasn't working fixed, but, a game that was working isn't amymore?? I think I'm in need of a Title update. I am going to have a look around and see what I can find. I haven't done a title update before so any support would be gr8!!! Do you know what they are??

    Thanks
     
  9. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,885
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Is it a XGD3 game?
    Then you'll have to burn it with a Liteon iHAS B drive and patch it with the latest ABGX.
     
  10. jwmghf
    OP

    Newcomer jwmghf Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United States
    I bought the Lite-on iHAS B drive. So what do I need to look for so I know if the game is an XGD3??
     
  11. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,885
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    XGD3 game is 8.3 ish GB (ABGX also responds to those with a message stating it's an XGD3)

    You have flashed your iHAS with LT MAX?
     
  12. jwmghf
    OP

    Newcomer jwmghf Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, that's good to know. I did flash the drive with LT Max. So I guess I just need to get some practice now using ABGX. Let the good times roll :)
     
  13. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,885
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    ABGX is pretty straight forward.
    It's just loading up an ISO and let it launch.
    Then redo it again (to confirm it's safe)

    ABGX settings: here
     

Share This Page