SSBB NOT WORKING WITH WIIKEY NTSC-U *PROOF BY ME!*

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Hellfromabove, Jan 31, 2008.

  1. Hellfromabove
    OP

    Newcomer Hellfromabove Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United States
    Just finished the vid. It shows me holding the disc and comparing it to the bottom of Twilight Princess to show it has a gold tint. Also, it shows me booting Twilight Princess (original), SMG (copy), and finally booting SSBB with a fail "Disc cannot be read." (original). Let me put it on You Tube. Here's the link:

    First ever copy of SSBB!!!

    http://youtube.com/watch?v=8I7ohpqPUZU

    The video shows the first ever burnt copy of SSBB!!! Only thing is it is only the first layer of the game. So the game is recognized but crashes. It shows that the Taiwanese guy that supposedly dumped it is fake.

    UPDATE:

    Ok guys I'll post all the vids here:

    Wiikey - not working:
    http://youtube.com/watch?v=KW1P5hS_t00

    CycloWiz - Recognizes Disc:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1cridzaNrB0

    CycloWiz - Ran Update on NTSC-U Wii and it PLAYS!!! (You get double channels):
    http://www.youtube.com/v/2enlWg2rIpE

    It works with D2Ckey. I will upload a video soon...

    NOT AN UPDATE!!!

    We tested it and we checked the Firmware and it stayed at 3.1U. I think it was upgrading the drive properties for the Dual Layer.

    Update:

    We read the information on the disc and it seems to be around 7.8~7.9gb. Now we are not sure if this is the true game file size. There might be a dummy file that takes up extra space. I can tell you this, the pictures of the game disc with all the files are fake. Currently until last night there was no way to dump DL Wii games. So I'll keep you updated, it's taking over 8hrs.
     


  2. Pikaash2586

    Member Pikaash2586 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds like good news, indeed.
     
  3. platypusrme427

    Member platypusrme427 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    United States of America
    Country:
    United States
    Wow I just caught your post on bc. I'm angry that it won't work. [​IMG]
     
  4. Smidget

    Newcomer Smidget Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    You mistyped bad.
     
  5. lhnguyen

    Newcomer lhnguyen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Oh well. The only thing we can do now is wait.

    At least this proves all those "rumors" to be true.
     
  6. H8TR

    Member H8TR GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    796
    Location:
    t-Dot
    Country:
    Canada
    Don't tell me you couldn't get better lighting. Oh so your using NTSC-J legit SSBB on a NTSC-U/C Wii. That wouldn't work anyway. What we really need to try is a burned copy of SSBB on a NTSC-U/C Wii. Thank a ton for the info though Hellfromabove.
     
  7. MSW0

    Newcomer MSW0 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United States
    Fucccck.
     
  8. Kiok

    Member Kiok GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    Jamaica
    damn it
     
  9. Bob Loblaw

    Member Bob Loblaw Read the Bob Loblaw Law Blog!

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Country:
    United States
    I believe you. But just for the record gold doesn't mean dual layer. It's probably still a dvd5.
     
  10. timster788

    Newcomer timster788 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    what if you update to the next u.s firmware then try
     
  11. Milr

    Newcomer Milr Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Canada
    What if you used a DL DVD to burn it, since my Cyclowiz firmware supports DL, i was wondering if that could be a fix.
     
  12. Omnigamer

    Newcomer Omnigamer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Center of Everywhere
    Country:
    United States
    lol i r dumb.
     
  13. platypusrme427

    Member platypusrme427 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    United States of America
    Country:
    United States
    Gold either means ultra new protection film to make [​IMG] it impossible for modchips to detect, or dl disc.....
    Maybe they are using different types of discs that are cheaper to manufacture? Stupid idea I guess.....
     
  14. Aoko

    Newcomer Aoko Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    This will probably take another modchip firmware update, then.

    Here's hoping the Wiikey team (wherever they are) comes through like the last time.
     
  15. platypusrme427

    Member platypusrme427 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    United States of America
    Country:
    United States
    I think it may be more than an update. We will most likely need to get a modified image of the game.
     
  16. ninjya

    Newcomer ninjya Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    Where does one get the Wiikey software updates nowdays? And config disc?
     
  17. Seraph

    Member Seraph GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Country:
    United States
    Finally some proof...

    Wiikey supposedly is able to read DL discs...but the game doesn't even boot...So is it really a new protection? Someone with a modded NTSC-J Wii needs to see if the original works...it's going to suck if I have to remove my modchip to play the game...
     
  18. Aoko

    Newcomer Aoko Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Well, they tried that with Super Mario Galaxy, right? Editing the image and such.

    I think the Wiikey team will have to add in Dual-Layer support. They managed to do it with 1.9b (that is, DVD9 support), I don't see why they can't make it with another update.

    If they don't, though, this probably means I'll have to take out my Wiikey and buy SSBB. [​IMG]
     
  19. Tomobobo

    Member Tomobobo Champion.

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    985
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, first of all, did the disk ask for an update before you made this video? There are some rumors going around that the game has to update your system in order to boot the disk for the first time.

    Also, have you tried disabling your wiikey? Try disabling your wiikey by holding reset or however you do it, I"m not sure on how to but it's possible without removing the chip.

    Also, have you tried making a backup of the disk and trying it with a backup instead of an original? This might be a dual-layer issue with both the Wii system software, and the Wiikey's dual-layer compatibility. I would doubt that the Wiikey team included any kind of Dual-Layer support for original disks, as Nintendo's yet to come out with any originals on dual-layer until now.

    Also, try making a backup and using the autoboot tool that was recently released.

    I bet it'll be hard to make a backup though, if your Wiikey isn't configured to read dual-layer originals. This is an interesting issue.
     
  20. xiaNaix

    Member xiaNaix GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Country:
    United States
    It is not unusual for some Japanese games to not boot on a U.S. system. Until this backup is testing on an NTSC-J machine, there is no reason to get all worked up.
     

Share This Page