[Rumor] Asus leaks AMD Bulldozer (Zambezi) specs?

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by DSGamer64, May 22, 2011.

  1. DSGamer64
    OP

    Member DSGamer64 Canadian, Eh?

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,931
    Location:
    A cold cold place
    Country:
    Canada
    Source

    The FX Turbocore is based on TDP. So when only one or two cores are being utilized the FX boards will automatically overclock those cores up to 125w, compared to only 95w on the lower end models. While this may not affect overclockers, for the general public this could be huge. IF the 8130P does say 4.5 turbo core on eight cores at 125w you could see stock Turbo cores of 5Ghz on one core. Put that into a single thread benchmark at stock clocks for a review and even if IPC is down on Sandy Bridge it will be hard for Sandy Bridge to beat it with a Turbo of only 3.8Ghz stock. Looks like it's pretty promising to me if the article is true.

    There are images linked in the article if you wish to view the new board from Asus which looks pretty sexy.
     


  2. purechaos996

    Member purechaos996 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    765
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Country:
    United States
    8 Core CPU's Yes Please [​IMG] Anyone know when these are supposed to be released? I now have to decide to wait for these or buy myself the i7 2600k....
     
  3. sergster1

    Member sergster1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    F-F-F-F-F-FOUR POINT TWO GIGAHERTZ PROCESSOR PER CORE.... I musta been raptured yesterday as im in heaven
     
  4. Dangy

    Member Dangy Twisting Your Mind & Smashing Your Dreams

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,391
    Country:
    United States
    What now, Intel?
     
  5. DSGamer64
    OP

    Member DSGamer64 Canadian, Eh?

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,931
    Location:
    A cold cold place
    Country:
    Canada
    Release is in a month's time from now, so expect them to be a little more readily available a few weeks after they launch. I'd say give it a month after release before deciding and seeing what the benchmarks are like.
     
  6. Rabbi Nevins

    Member Rabbi Nevins GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    NOOOOO why did I just buy an i5 2500k [​IMG]
     
  7. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    I'm more interested in the actual benchmarks in a real world scenario than hearing about the clock speeds. They tell us very little in terms of performance. An i7 CPU can beat a Phenom II x4 CPU clock-for-clock at the same frequency. It'll be interesting to see how Bulldozer fares against i7.
     
  8. DSGamer64
    OP

    Member DSGamer64 Canadian, Eh?

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,931
    Location:
    A cold cold place
    Country:
    Canada
    Might as well have bought an X6, only the i7 beats it out in performance.
     
  9. Chhotu uttam

    Member Chhotu uttam DOH HO HO HO

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Location:
    TEH WORLD
    Country:
    India
    I guess this processors are great competitors for Intel.
    maybe intel will also come up and make some 8 core processors. [​IMG]
     
  10. DSGamer64
    OP

    Member DSGamer64 Canadian, Eh?

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,931
    Location:
    A cold cold place
    Country:
    Canada
    The X4 runs on different architecture, though the X6 is superior to the i5 and i3 by a reasonable margin, while the i7 is currently the dominating processor. One of the main differences I have noticed is that AMD processors run with more L2 cache while the Intel counterparts have more L3 cache and I think this is one area where AMD needs to improve. Sure, you can have 512kb of L2 cache per core, but L3 is more important in modern computing to be honest. Most of what I have read about the new Bulldozer processors is that they will be up to snuff with Intel for performance in every aspect of computing, and the Bobcat processors will be along shortly as well which have the IGP in them like the i3 does. Also, an i7 2600k has more cache then any AMD processor on the market.
     
  11. DSGamer64
    OP

    Member DSGamer64 Canadian, Eh?

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,931
    Location:
    A cold cold place
    Country:
    Canada
    Last time Intel tried to compete with AMD on the 'more then 4 cores market', marketing something with a price tag of 600 or 1100 dollars was pretty difficult. Aside from server processors, I can't see Intel trying to get beyond quad cores for home computing just yet.
     
  12. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,352
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    looks like i'll be buying a new m/b again soon [​IMG]
     
  13. DSGamer64
    OP

    Member DSGamer64 Canadian, Eh?

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,931
    Location:
    A cold cold place
    Country:
    Canada
    Not sure if I will get the 8 core or not, depends on whether or not it benchmarks higher then the i7 2600k which is only 20 dollars less. Even if it's equal in performance, there is so much more that could be done with 8 cores assuming it threads more like an Intel does then the current models.
     
  14. Chhotu uttam

    Member Chhotu uttam DOH HO HO HO

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Location:
    TEH WORLD
    Country:
    India
    *cough*hexacore*cough*
     
  15. SamAsh07

    Member SamAsh07 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,693
    Location:
    Bahrain
    Country:
    Bahrain
    i8 is in town [​IMG], or atleast it's going to be.
     
  16. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's true, a Core 2 Duo in single core mode could beat the pants off of a Celeron processor, both at 3ghz.

    Also did anyone get why it's called "Bulldozer"? It's because Intel's been developing "Sandy Bridge"
     
  17. SamAsh07

    Member SamAsh07 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,693
    Location:
    Bahrain
    Country:
    Bahrain
    I lol'd [​IMG]
     
  18. FireGrey

    Member FireGrey Undercover Admin

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,916
    Country:
    Australia
    And every spoiled kid would want it even though they will only use it for internet browsing [​IMG]
     
  19. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    So yeah, I'm going to wait on actual benchmarks as well.
     
  20. Frederica Bernkastel

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sandy Bridge sucks, this is not at all surprising. However, Intel has something else up it's sleeves.

    AMD will win overall this generation of CPUs, when all of the Fusion range is released (Bulldozer, Bobcat etc...) but I'm not so sure that they'll score so well in terms of sales. I mean, it's likely that they're gonna be pricing these cores at similar prices to i7s/high-end i5s. And lets face it, with the complete failure of their past few micro-architectures, who's really gonna buy AMD's offering?

    @Granville this architecture is better than Sandy Bridge by a longshot, whereas AMD's K10 microarch was horrible (what Phenom II's have). Also K10 is out of date, so that really isn't a fair comparison you've got going on there. Benchmarks will only prove this further, but then again benches will be available before they're available for purchase.
    @Rydian nice useless copypasta there
     

Share This Page