Hacking Emulation RetroArch/Libretro Thread: PS Vita Edition! Nightlies Included

Mobutu16

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 17, 2018
Messages
37
Trophies
0
Age
111
XP
225
Country
Nigeria
Open retroarch menu, do not go in to quick menu. (If you are in quick menu then press X and then press right for settings menu)
You should see the options for driver/video/audio/input/core etc. Go down to video and then down to rotation. You can rotate the screen till it is correct.

Rotate option has vanished in 1.7.5 version...

How to correct it?
 
Last edited by Mobutu16,

FmT

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
85
Trophies
0
XP
427
Country
Japan
Pretty every nightly since 1.7.5 have this problem. Only rgui is working... and PSTV problem is not fixed.
 

Smoker1

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2015
Messages
4,364
Trophies
1
Location
California
XP
4,592
Country
United States
Thankfully I still have 2018-10-02 Build that still works. 2018-10-08 Crashes when you try to run it, and yeah, Current Builds only have the rgui Menu working
 

zewindsor

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 18, 2018
Messages
31
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
592
Country
France
Hi everybody,

Do you know if improvements are planned on retroarch cores for Vita ? I think to VBA Next, Picodrive (to play 32x games), BlueMSX for Colecovision,...

Thanx :)
 

SeongGino

The Average One
OP
Member
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
939
Trophies
0
Age
23
Location
Jersey, Jersey
Website
www.twitter.com
XP
1,908
Country
United States
It looks like the core can be built, but who knows if it will actually work

There's no standard set for hardware acceleration with Vita Libretro, so currently the possibility of this happening is somewhere between shit and fuckall.

Probably with low-accuracy plugins or something, at the best. I'm frankly tired of hearing about N64 everywhere anyways.
 

Smoker1

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2015
Messages
4,364
Trophies
1
Location
California
XP
4,592
Country
United States
There's no standard set for hardware acceleration with Vita Libretro, so currently the possibility of this happening is somewhere between shit and fuckall.

Probably with low-accuracy plugins or something, at the best. I'm frankly tired of hearing about N64 everywhere anyways.
Well we were only wondering due to both Mupen64 Github Pages having "psp2....". In theory, it could be possible since the Vita has more recent Hardware. The PSP's CPU is from 1991. The Vita has ARM yes, but so do a lot of other Devices like Android. Plus, which hardware would be more to work with - the Vita or the GPD XD?
 

Smoker1

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2015
Messages
4,364
Trophies
1
Location
California
XP
4,592
Country
United States
Googled "GPD XD Specs" and the first result says that (at least the plus version), has a quad core processor running at 2.1 GHz, while the Vita's is downclocked from 2 GHz to a 500 MHz maximum.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GPD_XD

GPD XD Specs:
Rockchip RK3288 / ARM Cortex-A17 / 2GB DDR3-SDRAM / ARM Mali-T764 / 1280x720p

Vita Specs:
Quad-core ARM Cortex-A9 MPCore / 512 MB RAM, 128 MB VRAM / Quad-core PowerVR SGX543MP4+ / 960x544 qHD
 

potato6666

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2018
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
59
Country
Slovenia
Hello there, need help here with dosbox. I can run commander keen normally in dosbox in retroarch, but not buttons work, cant navigate menu or select start. Any idea? Tried remmaping keys but i dont have remap option in retroarch option
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
777
Trophies
0
XP
1,003
Country
Australia
Hello there, need help here with dosbox. I can run commander keen normally in dosbox in retroarch, but not buttons work, cant navigate menu or select start. Any idea? Tried remmaping keys but i dont have remap option in retroarch option

DOSbox core key mapping is under quick menu | Controls
Set 'user 1 device type' to 'keyboard + mouse' in that section then scroll down to map vita buttons to keys.
 
  • Like
Reactions: potato6666
General chit-chat
Help Users
    NoobletCheese @ NoobletCheese: wont happen anytime soon as the size of games now is enormous and most people have speed and...