Homebrew Post your custom sleep screen

MikaDubbz

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
3,271
Trophies
1
Age
35
XP
5,803
Country
United States
I know we've had capabilities to edit the sleep screen for some time. But when the news first dropped on this, I remember feeling that it sounded to convoluted and complicated. Looking recently, I found a very simple and straightforward tutorial on how to do so here: http://dungeonfire.tk/ I followed it, and within 15 minutes or so I had my custom sleep screen up and running. It is a bummer that when new firmwares drop, you must first reinstall a non edited home menu and then reedit and reinstall the sleep screen edit. But updates do seem to drop less and less often for the 3DS and eventually we'll be on the latest and final firmware for the system, and this issue will not even really be an issue any more.

Regardless, this is what I turned my Sleep Screen into:
O1wUtZd.jpg

If you're curious I use both MikeDubbz and MikaDubbz as screen names. I tried to make my sleep screen a bit informative to the more secretive features that my hacked 3DS has in the event I ever lend it to someone and they aren't sure how to do some of these things.
 

NekoMichi

Retro Collector
Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2015
Messages
1,441
Trophies
0
Location
Minus World
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
2,428
Country
I went the opposite route and tried to keep the system as stock-looking as possible with minimal indication that it runs a CFW. The sleep screen was edited to display my contact information in case the console is lost:
59EE011D-E609-4EAA-B368-7768F14B3402.jpeg
What's nice is that this text is persistent and should stay intact even if the system is formatted.
 
Last edited by NekoMichi,
D

Deleted User

Guest
How do you get a custom sleep screen?
Edit: Nevermind didn't read the description :rofl2:
 

Giodude

GBAtemp's official rock
Member
Joined
May 17, 2015
Messages
5,093
Trophies
1
Age
22
Location
New York
XP
2,719
Country
United States
I wish you could edit the luma button lock to display contact info, since people wouldn't even see these screens if it got lost past that if it's enabled.
 

Nutez

Assimilator of Lumas
Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2018
Messages
175
Trophies
0
Location
The other side of paradise.
XP
1,802
Country
United Kingdom
I wish you could edit the luma button lock to display contact info, since people wouldn't even see these screens if it got lost past that if it's enabled.
You can do that too.
"PIN lock: Require a PIN to be entered before continuing boot. A message can be displayed on the bottom screen at the PIN input screen by placing a text file named pinmessage.txt in /luma (800 characters maximum!)."
https://github.com/AuroraWright/Luma3DS/wiki/Optional-features
 
  • Like
Reactions: Giodude

SuperMario22

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 16, 2022
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
18
Location
lufkin,texas
XP
31
Country
United States
HI, i am also customizing my sleep screen and liked the colors you used and wondered if you could give the codes for each color and their corresponding section.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    spouting nonsense and throwing baseless accusations won't get them anywhere
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    That's true
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Honestly, when will they learn.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Right now I'm re-calibrating the laser for my SCPH-1002
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    As many of the earlier models are prone to failure
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    I'm so glad the boyfriend his laser still functions without any issue
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    The eBay listing said that it won't read discs, but it actually does although FMV is laggy as well as CDDA. So it most definitely needs re-calibrating.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    I wish I could get things from ebay, just sit there and spend tonnes of money
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    m4x, you're a new user but very knowledgeable and helpful on the forums - why did it take you so long to register?
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @DinohScene,
    Now the spindle doesn't seem to spin properly :(
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Might have to go figure
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @cearp,
    I have autism and am quite knowledgeable when it comes to computers.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    check the wiring on it, might have gotten loose over the years
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @cearp,
    My brain works differently to other people.
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    sure, but most new users wouldn't be answering ds + gba questions. == we are lucky to have you, thanks!
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Why it took so long is because I've been on Discord throughout my life, but have met a lot of toxic people on there and was always treated a lot like shit.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @cearp,
    Thank you so much! :)
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    discord is shit :x
    +2
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @DinohScene,
    I know right. I did originally have an account here on GBATemp back in 2021, hardly ever used it so I ended up deleting it.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Reason was because of Discord, was so attached to it that it affected my mental health really bad.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I'm much better and I am so happy to be with this community.
  • cearp @ cearp:
    glad to hear it mate
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    discord is just a bit weird, all separate things merged into one. a discord server can't really replace an actual site like this
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    just modern irc
    +1
    cearp @ cearp: just modern irc +1