new Neo Geo HW by SNK?

ciaomao

Well-Known Dude
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2014
Messages
560
Trophies
1
XP
1,834
Country
Albania
Last edited by ciaomao,

ciaomao

Well-Known Dude
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2014
Messages
560
Trophies
1
XP
1,834
Country
Albania
even if there was zero response by you guys, I like to add the answer to my original post:


I am a bit disappointed....about the actual surprise. Anyway, nobody cares at Gbatemp, so it should be good enough.
 
  • Like
Reactions: andyhappypants

urherenow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
4,683
Trophies
2
Age
47
Location
Japan
XP
3,528
Country
United States
Wasn't the original hardware like $500 a game, or something crazy like that? Goes without saying that not many people in these forums ever owned one. Others... can wait until MAME is able to play the games.
 
  • Like
Reactions: andyhappypants

ciaomao

Well-Known Dude
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2014
Messages
560
Trophies
1
XP
1,834
Country
Albania
yes, not many had an AES, some owned a consolidized MVS. Games were up to ~780 MBit. Other module based consoles at this time had max 32MBit, which explains the massive prices a bit. Anyway, you dont need to play the waiting game. MAME is capable of Neo Geo for more than a decade.
 
Last edited by ciaomao,

subcon959

@!#?@!
Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
5,817
Trophies
4
XP
9,999
Country
United Kingdom
SNK are daft. All they had to do was copy Nintendo and people would've been lining up to buy it. Instead, they keep releasing a million different colours of handheld-but-not-portable console.. and now a new arcade stick that exactly nobody wanted for it.
 

ciaomao

Well-Known Dude
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2014
Messages
560
Trophies
1
XP
1,834
Country
Albania
SNK are daft. All they had to do was copy Nintendo and people would've been lining up to buy it. Instead, they keep releasing a million different colours of handheld-but-not-portable console.. and now a new arcade stick that exactly nobody wanted for it.
You know about the pocket device, they had? I would call this portable....
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neo_Geo_Pocket_Color
Also we dont know exactly what the new arcade stick has to offer.
 

subcon959

@!#?@!
Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
5,817
Trophies
4
XP
9,999
Country
United Kingdom
You know about the pocket device, they had? I would call this portable....
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neo_Geo_Pocket_Color
Also we dont know exactly what the new arcade stick has to offer.
Yes, the NGPC is actually my favourite portable console of all time. I'm a big SNK fan I even have the Neo Geo X Gold abomination where they couldn't even manage to emulate their own games properly.

My point was, the Neo Geo mini is known for having a terrible HDMI output so instead of releasing tons of different colours of it or this new arcade stick, they should be working to improve that.. or better yet, forget it and release a whole new console that is just a mini AES with a decent upscaling implementation.
 

ciaomao

Well-Known Dude
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2014
Messages
560
Trophies
1
XP
1,834
Country
Albania
Yes, the NGPC is actually my favourite portable console of all time. I'm a big SNK fan I even have the Neo Geo X Gold abomination where they couldn't even manage to emulate their own games properly.

My point was, the Neo Geo mini is known for having a terrible HDMI output so instead of releasing tons of different colours of it or this new arcade stick, they should be working to improve that.. or better yet, forget it and release a whole new console that is just a mini AES with a decent upscaling implementation.

Ok, explanation accepted :)
 

subcon959

@!#?@!
Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
5,817
Trophies
4
XP
9,999
Country
United Kingdom
Btw, I just looked more closely at the bottom of the stick and I think I see 1P and 2P USB C ports? Is it possible they just took the inside of the mini and put it in a controller to compete with the Capcom system coming out soon?
 
Last edited by subcon959,

ciaomao

Well-Known Dude
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2014
Messages
560
Trophies
1
XP
1,834
Country
Albania
Btw, I just looked more closely at the bottom of the stick and I think I see 1P and 2P USB C ports? Is it possible they just took the inside of the mini and put it in a controller to compete with the Capcom system coming out soon?

yes, possible. nobody outside of the inner circle knows yet
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2012
Messages
616
Trophies
1
Age
45
Location
Devon
XP
2,213
Country
United Kingdom

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Veho @ Veho:
    For batch operations.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Massivley so. Glad I'm getting more experienced with it now
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "Hey can you make this [inane change] on 50 servers?" Yes.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    The scenario in question is to do disk erases on some storage servers at my job that have I think 12x 14TB spinners, SATA SSDs, and nvme disks. The process I'm using to erase the spinners is to kick off an ATA Security Erase in the disk's firmware, then once that's done do a dd zero-fill as a second pass.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    These spinners take like 22h per each of those operations
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I'll admit sometimes it takes me longer to write and debug a script that will do that for me, than it would take me to make the changes manually, but this is more fun.
    +1
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    And running it over a serial console I'd either have to spin up a dozen and a half screen sessions or just run one operation at a time
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Wrote a horrifyingly long one-liner to do all of that - spin up a shitload of screen sessions, run these commands to it, pipe output to kmsg so it shows up in the default tty's shell, and some other shit on top of that.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Can't you run pssh?
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Some day I'll write out a properly formatted shell script that lives on our firmware server or git repo and just call that, and have that handle every kind of server we run much more gracefully than my hobbled together atrocity does right now
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    pssh - nope. 1, what I'm doing gets done from our bootable provisioning environment, and you can only interface with that via serial console - we don't accept ssh connections on the servers in that state, and 2, I don't even know if our bootable environment has pssh baked into it
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    3, I've never even heard of it before lol
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Anyway I can open serial console sessions to multiple devices at the same time, and broadcast my input to all of them (iTerm on Mac is the terminal emulator I'm using). It's just a matter of how many commands I'd have to run by hand, and how long they'd take otherwise lol
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I just assumed you were working via SSH. I know my way around that. If a server is only accessible locally it's waaay beyond saving from my end so I let the DC team work on that :tpi:
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I *am* the DC team :P the remote arm of it, anyway
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Trust me, I wish I could do everything I need to do via ssh. Working through these serial console servers suuuuuucks in comparison
  • HiradeGirl @ HiradeGirl:
    SSH rules
    +1
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I love that there's a network filesystem that runs on top of ssh - sshfs
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I use it in most of my home network for mounting network storage in various *nix VMs
  • Veho @ Veho:
    sshfs you say...
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I use SFTP but it doesn't have the bells and whistles.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Dumb dx11 and lutris
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    sshfs allows you to mount networked storage on a machine as a FUSE filesystem. It's sftp under the hood but has all of the interactivity and usability you'd expect of a locally mounted filesystem. Downside, it can slow down a little bit with massive directories, but I haven't personally run into that yet
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    This perspective is all linux oriented fwiw. I believe there's an sshfs driver for Windows, but I haven't used it yet. and no idea for MacOS
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Ftp is life if not on wifi
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: Ftp is life if not on wifi