Mini vMac DS R3

Urza

hi
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
6,493
Trophies
0
XP
773
Country
United States
Mini vMac DS R3
Now DLDI compatible


A new release of the now DLDI-compatible Mini vMac DS. Download below.

download.gif
Download
icon11.gif
Source
 

94dan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
122
Trophies
0
XP
21
Country
United States
Grr... I just went through the whole thing, and even had to use an old OS9.1 Mac to unstuff the files (as Stuffit harasses me if I use it on windows... Well, actually, I use linux. Which I can't figure out how to get stuffit to work on.), and now is just has a "?" mark error. Can anyone share working files with me if at all possible?
 

noONE

~~~~~~~~~~~~
Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
968
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Linköping/Norrköping, Sweden.
XP
282
Country
Sweden
You would need a RAM pack to run it smoothly , and it runs overall better, because you would have more RAM availably (obviously..)
There's no reason why DLDI would remove the need for RAM pack.. I guess it just give you access to the files on your card.
 

OSW

Wii King
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
4,787
Trophies
0
XP
482
Country
um, i think you can run it with or without a ram pack, but the ram pack is strongly recommended...
 

ZAFDeltaForce

Specialist
Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
2,794
Trophies
1
XP
597
Country
Singapore
I cant extract the system install disks because I don't have a Mac. Can any kind soul upload the necessary files (System Startup and System Additions) to Mediafire.com or something?

Thanks
 

Mikesch

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
10
Trophies
0
XP
75
Country
Canada
Has ANYONE got this to work? I get the keyboard layout, and then one file on the top screen with a blinking '?' on it...All I wanna do is rock some Oregon Trail. PM with some guidance or the files I might need...
 

CYatta

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
328
Trophies
1
XP
354
Country
United States
Link to the tutorial for creating the first HD. A few things to keep in mind

It was created around the time R2 was released, and talks about using system 6.0.8, but this should work for any OS or version.
The current version of Mini vMac now is 3.0.4.
You don't have to rename the dummy file to "mac_hd.img" It should probably be "disk1.dsk"

http://lazyone.drunkencoders.com/mac_hd_howto.html
 

94dan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
122
Trophies
0
XP
21
Country
United States
Link to the tutorial for creating the first HD. A few things to keep in mind

It was created around the time R2 was released, and talks about using system 6.0.8, but this should work for any OS or version.
The current version of Mini vMac now is 3.0.4.
You don't have to rename the dummy file to "mac_hd.img" It should probably be "disk1.dsk"

http://lazyone.drunkencoders.com/mac_hd_howto.html

We all know. The tutorial comes in a .txt file in the download.
 

Bamboo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2003
Messages
377
Trophies
0
XP
279
Country
Has ANYONE got this to work? I get the keyboard layout, and then one file on the top screen with a blinking '?' on it...All I wanna do is rock some Oregon Trail. PM with some guidance or the files I might need...
do you wanna rock some Oregon trail because you live near it ?
I wanna rock some Oregon trail too.
But I have two problems :
where do I download the mac games ?
AND
I also have the blinking '?'....Even after I made a mac disk with the OS on it
it worked once and now it just does the '?'...
arigato
 

Mikesch

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
10
Trophies
0
XP
75
Country
Canada
I'm happy to report I finally made my own system boot disk file with the tutorial provided. (Not at all easy...) MAC loads! Now the only thing left is to find a game...I found a copy of Oregon trail for apple II but it's in color...and the mac emulator tells me these are not proper disks and then asks if i want to initialize them.
 

Bamboo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2003
Messages
377
Trophies
0
XP
279
Country
the tutorial doesn't work..
it says
"Open Stuffit Expander and drag both system disk archives into the window that says "Drag and drop archives and encoded files here"."
There is no such window
 

ZAFDeltaForce

Specialist
Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
2,794
Trophies
1
XP
597
Country
Singapore
Stuffit Expander is a program you'll have to download and install. After installing it, run it and the Stuffit Expander window will open.
 

Bamboo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2003
Messages
377
Trophies
0
XP
279
Country
What I meant was in stuff it there is no such window....
also I tried all the option in stufit to extract but it wont extract correctly on all the files i tried
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • BakerMan
    The snack that smiles back, Ballsack!
    BakerMan @ BakerMan: i bet