Mini vMac DS R3

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Urza, Jan 15, 2008.

Jan 15, 2008

Mini vMac DS R3 by Urza at 1:00 AM (8,999 Views / 0 Likes) 57 replies

  1. Urza
    OP

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Mini vMac DS R3
    Now DLDI compatible


    A new release of the now DLDI-compatible Mini vMac DS. Download below.

    [​IMG] Download
    [​IMG] Source
     


  2. 94dan

    Member 94dan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    Grr... I just went through the whole thing, and even had to use an old OS9.1 Mac to unstuff the files (as Stuffit harasses me if I use it on windows... Well, actually, I use linux. Which I can't figure out how to get stuffit to work on.), and now is just has a "?" mark error. Can anyone share working files with me if at all possible?
     
  3. sylux92

    Member sylux92 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States
    So does this mean we wont have to use the RAM pack to run it anymore?
     
  4. noONE

    Member noONE ~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Linköping/Norrköping, Sweden.
    Country:
    Sweden
    You would need a RAM pack to run it smoothly , and it runs overall better, because you would have more RAM availably (obviously..)
    There's no reason why DLDI would remove the need for RAM pack.. I guess it just give you access to the files on your card.
     
  5. Pulka

    Newcomer Pulka Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Sweden
    Where can I get the files I need?
     
  6. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    um, i think you can run it with or without a ram pack, but the ram pack is strongly recommended...
     
  7. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    I cant extract the system install disks because I don't have a Mac. Can any kind soul upload the necessary files (System Startup and System Additions) to Mediafire.com or something?

    Thanks
     
  8. Mikesch

    Newcomer Mikesch Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Canada
    Has ANYONE got this to work? I get the keyboard layout, and then one file on the top screen with a blinking '?' on it...All I wanna do is rock some Oregon Trail. PM with some guidance or the files I might need...
     
  9. CYatta

    Member CYatta GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    327
    Country:
    United States
    Link to the tutorial for creating the first HD. A few things to keep in mind

    It was created around the time R2 was released, and talks about using system 6.0.8, but this should work for any OS or version.
    The current version of Mini vMac now is 3.0.4.
    You don't have to rename the dummy file to "mac_hd.img" It should probably be "disk1.dsk"

    http://lazyone.drunkencoders.com/mac_hd_howto.html
     
  10. 94dan

    Member 94dan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    We all know. The tutorial comes in a .txt file in the download.
     
  11. Bamboo

    Member Bamboo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    377
    Country:
    Australia
    do you wanna rock some Oregon trail because you live near it ?
    I wanna rock some Oregon trail too.
    But I have two problems :
    where do I download the mac games ?
    AND
    I also have the blinking '?'....Even after I made a mac disk with the OS on it
    it worked once and now it just does the '?'...
    arigato
     
  12. CYatta

    Member CYatta GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    327
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, didn't really look that deep into the docs myself since I had it set up before. Wonder what's causing all the blinking ?'s then. Followed it and it worked just fine. [​IMG]
     
  13. Mikesch

    Newcomer Mikesch Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm happy to report I finally made my own system boot disk file with the tutorial provided. (Not at all easy...) MAC loads! Now the only thing left is to find a game...I found a copy of Oregon trail for apple II but it's in color...and the mac emulator tells me these are not proper disks and then asks if i want to initialize them.
     
  14. matriculated

    Member matriculated GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    598
    Country:
    Canada
    AppleII != Mac

    I think there's a Mac abandonware site affiliated with The Underdogs. You might find it there.
     
  15. Bamboo

    Member Bamboo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    377
    Country:
    Australia
  16. Bamboo

    Member Bamboo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    377
    Country:
    Australia
    the tutorial doesn't work..
    it says
    "Open Stuffit Expander and drag both system disk archives into the window that says "Drag and drop archives and encoded files here"."
    There is no such window
     
  17. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    Stuffit Expander is a program you'll have to download and install. After installing it, run it and the Stuffit Expander window will open.
     
  18. Bamboo

    Member Bamboo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    377
    Country:
    Australia
    What I meant was in stuff it there is no such window....
    also I tried all the option in stufit to extract but it wont extract correctly on all the files i tried
     
  19. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    I heard you can only extract the stuff on a Mac OS. Are you using a Mac?
     
  20. PuyoDead

    Member PuyoDead Hey! Hey! Oh!

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    698
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Same deal here. It says to download "Stuffit Expander for Windows". It has no such window for dragging and dropping. Nor can you actually open the .bin files.
     

Share This Page