Tutorial [HOW-TO] Have a homemade Streetpass Relay

What method you are using?

  • Linux

    Votes: 93 7.9%
  • Android

    Votes: 133 11.4%
  • Router

    Votes: 226 19.3%
  • Windows

    Votes: 426 36.4%
  • A pony with a wifi antenna O.o?

    Votes: 292 25.0%

  • Total voters
    1,170
Status
Not open for further replies.

CrescentLeaf

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 21, 2014
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
44
Country
I keep loading maccheck in command prompt but it will not give me that adapter information

Anything to force cmd to print it?
 

duke_srg

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2011
Messages
1,862
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
Moscow
XP
807
Country
Serbia, Republic of
The first string should include it, try to redirect output to the file like
maccheck.cmd > c:\maccheck.txt
 

CrescentLeaf

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 21, 2014
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
44
Country
Wow, I'm having horrible luck - I have a new problem

When I run maccheck.cmd I still don't get the adapter information but still get the 16 zero's.
However I now get this...

C:\Users\******>C:\maccheck.cmd
0000000000000000
Invalid number. Numeric constants are either decimal (17), hexidecimal (0x11), or octal (021).
Missing operand.
FFMissing operand.
FFInvalid number.
Numeric constants are either decimal (17), hexidecimal (0x11), or octal (021).
Missing operand.
EEMissing operand.
EEInvalid number.
Numeric constants are either decimal (17), hexidecimal (0x11), or octal (021).
Missing operand.
DDMissing operand.
DDInvalid number. Numeric constants are either decimal (17), hexidecimal (0x11), or octal (021).
Missing operand.
CCMissing operand.
CCInvalid number. Numeric constants are either decimal (17), hexidecimal (0x11), or octal (021).
Missing operand.
BBMissing operand.
BBInvalid number. Numeric constants are either decimal (17), hexidecimal (0x11), or octal (021).
Missing operand.
AAMissing operand.
AAInvalid number. Numeric constants are either decimal (17), hexidecimal (0x11), or octal (021).
Missing operand.
99Missing operand.
99Invalid number. Numeric constants are either decimal (17), hexidecimal (0x11), or octal (021).
Missing operand.
88Missing operand.
88Invalid number. Numeric constants are either decimal (17), hexidecimal (0x11), or octal (021).
Missing operand.
77Missing operand.
77Invalid number. Numeric constants are either decimal (17), hexidecimal (0x11), or octal (021).
Missing operand.
66Missing operand.
66Invalid number. Numeric constants are either decimal (17), hexidecimal (0x11), or octal (021).
Missing operand.
55Missing operand.
55Invalid number. Numeric constants are either decimal (17), hexidecimal (0x11), or octal (021).
Missing operand.
44Missing operand.
44nvalid number. Numeric constants are either decimal (17), hexidecimal (0x11), or octal (021).
Missing operand.
33Missing operand.
33Invalid number. Numeric constants are either decimal (17), hexidecimal (0x11), or octal (021).
Missing operand.
22Missing operand.
22Invalid number. Numeric constants are either decimal (17), hexidecimal (0x11), or octal (021).
Missing operand.
11Missing operand.
11Invalid number. Numeric constants are either decimal (17), hexidecimal (0x11), or octal (021).
Missing operand.
00Missing operand.
00

C:\Users\******>
 

CrescentLeaf

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 21, 2014
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
44
Country
Here is a direct copy-paste of that text file

0000000000000000
FFFFEEEEDDDDCCCCBBBBAAAA9999888877776666555544443333222211110000
 

Deleted member 358315

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 21, 2014
Messages
98
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
95
Country
Netherlands
Hi, I managed to get my streetpass relay working with the following method:



Method 1 (NEW)
This new method is the same as below, but it's easier for the user because it's just a simple script (which is a hibrid script, it as the ubuntu and DD-Wrt in one script) with automatic mac changing and running on boot automatically.
Thanks to duke_srg for making this script.

So first we are going to download the script:
Code:
sudo wget -O /tmp/nzone.sh http://goo.gl/39fq1n
Then we are going to make it executable
Code:
sudo chmod +x /tmp/nzone.sh
And finally we are going to run it, you need only to run this command once, because the script starts on boot. The last part of this command defines which mac's lists to use and it also, based on the total number of macs, it defines how long it takes to change to the next mac. Base16 is about 30min between macs.
8 * 60 / number_of_macs_in_lists= time_between_changes
Some possible options are: BASE16, GBATEMP, BASE256. You need to have a "," in between like below:
Code:
sudo /tmp/nzone.sh BASE256,GBATEMP
After running you should open your 3ds and see if you can connect to your AP and get any streetpass.
If you want to temporarily stop it run:
Code:
sudo /usr/local/bin/nzone.ap stop
And to run it again:
Code:
sudo /usr/local/bin/nzone.ap start


(Except I had to download the nzone.sh on my Windows PC and drag it with WinSCP to my router)

I aswell had to change the MAC address manually (like shown in the picture)

How can I verify that the mac rotation is working? Only thing I am not certain off if it works
 

CrescentLeaf

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 21, 2014
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
44
Country
OK, I'm ditching the windows 7 method.
It seems the android wi-fi tether method is the easiest.

Now i just need to know how to root my Samsung Galaxy Tab 7.7 GT-P6810

EDIT: Don't look on Google Apps to root your device. But I managed to root my tablet. I'll try connecting my 3DS to it in the morning.
 

SaebaRyo

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Messages
21
Trophies
0
XP
122
Country
United States
I excluded nzone.exe from process and folders/files in Bitdefender the automatic mac address doesn't take effect.


I found those in the windows event log :

"WLAN-AutoConfig :
Le module d’extensibilité WLAN n’a pas pu démarrer.

Chemin d’accès du module : C:\Windows\system32\Rtlihvs.dll
Code d’erreur : 126"
>> WLAN module couldn't be start

"SharedAccess_NAT
L’agent proxy DNS n’a pas pu allouer 0 octets de mémoire. Ceci peut indiquer que le système n’a plus beaucoup de mémoire virtuelle, ou que le gestionnaire de mémoire a rencontré une erreur interne."
>> DNS proxy agent couldn't allocate 0 bytes memory. It can indicates that the system doesn't have much virtual memory left, or that the memory manager met a internal error.

"SharedAccess_NAT
Le service ICS_IPV6 n’a pas pu allouer  octets de mémoire. Cela pourrait indiquer que le système n’a pas assez de mémoire virtuelle ou que le gestionnaire de mémoire a rencontré une erreur interne."
>> ICS-IPV6 service couldn't allocate bytes memor ..."

Any idea anyone ?

I copied the result of my Maccheck just in case but I doubt that's the issue :

D-Link Corporation,D-Link DWA-131 Wireless N Nano USB Adapter(rev.B),USB\VID_2001&PID_330D\00E04C000001,RTL8192cu

0000000000000000
3792379215B015B073D673D673D673D673D673D69D389D389D389D38D97CD97C
 

serginator

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 14, 2014
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
54
Country
How can I verify that the mac rotation is working? Only thing I am not certain off if it works

Just run "ifconfig wlan0" and see the MAC, and run it again after it should have changed, for example half an hour later if you set up it with BASE16.
 

duke_srg

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2011
Messages
1,862
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
Moscow
XP
807
Country
Serbia, Republic of
I copied the result of my Maccheck just in case but I doubt that's the issue :

D-Link Corporation,D-Link DWA-131 Wireless N Nano USB Adapter(rev.B),USB\VID_2001&PID_330D\00E04C000001,RTL8192cu

0000000000000000
3792379215B015B073D673D673D673D673D673D69D389D389D389D38D97CD97C

Yes this looks like your wireless adapter can't change MAC address. Check if the updated driver is available.
 

chinh789

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 21, 2014
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Hanoi, Vietnam
XP
81
Country
I try making streetpass at home for Animal Crossing, im using window 7 method, i wonder does it work? because when i set up everything( using SSID NZ@McD1 and MAC address 4E:53:50:4F:4F:47), only nintendo zone icon keeps flashing and it seems i dont receive any streetpass notifications at all :(. Does android method still work because im having galaxy s3 without moblie network?
 

SaebaRyo

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Messages
21
Trophies
0
XP
122
Country
United States
Yes this looks like your wireless adapter can't change MAC address. Check if the updated driver is available.

Sadly that's the newest driver available since ... 2012.

I remember that I already had to update it because a windows miniport issue.

I double checked just in case but there isn't newer driver with D-link yet (?)


I confirm that I can't change the mac address by using the classic DEvice manager so that's why I had to use tools such as maccshift.

But even the combo maccshift + nzone don't seem to work /cry
 

duke_srg

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2011
Messages
1,862
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
Moscow
XP
807
Country
Serbia, Republic of
Sadly that's the newest driver available since ... 2012.
I remember that I already had to update it because a windows miniport issue.
I double checked just in case but there isn't newer driver with D-link yet (?)
I confirm that I can't change the mac address by using the classic DEvice manager so that's why I had to use tools such as maccshift.
But even the combo maccshift + nzone don't seem to work /cry
All common methods use the registry key, so driver just do not support this feature.
 

Liborio07

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 19, 2014
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
41
Country
Italy
duke_srg
Sorry to bother you again, but i have something i'd like you see: I've followed entirely your guide and got my 3DS displaying both the connection and the icon of nintendozone flashing, but when put it into sleep mode the only light i see is the one of the battery of my laptop flashing because of low-power xD. I've also checked if the mac address is changing but it seems to stay the same. Apart from this, here are the data:

Network interface controller:
Realtek RTL8723AE Wireless LAN 802. 11n PCI-E NIC

maccheck.cmd results (the exact disposition and amount of the numbers):
0000001000000001
0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000

version of my 3DS:
9.4.0-21E

Thank you in advance for the patience!
 

ArceusRules

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 21, 2014
Messages
8
Trophies
0
XP
41
Country
New Zealand
OK, I'm ditching the windows 7 method.
It seems the android wi-fi tether method is the easiest.

Now i just need to know how to root my Samsung Galaxy Tab 7.7 GT-P6810

EDIT: Don't look on Google Apps to root your device. But I managed to root my tablet. I'll try connecting my 3DS to it in the morning.


I can't see it working when that tablet does not seem to have 3G capabilities. Hotspots without passwords on Android require mobile data.
 

SaebaRyo

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Messages
21
Trophies
0
XP
122
Country
United States
All common methods use the registry key, so driver just do not support this feature.

I suppose so : When searching for the Wlan-autoconfig error 126, most of the recommendation are regarding some Trustinstaller key and such.

I'm sure that if I can solve that one I might get home pass again :D


What bothers me is that when using "nzone start BASE256", i get the mac address C8-D3-A3-F4-4D-6D for my wireless adapter and the miniport.

(And I get home pass ... but only between my 3 3DS)

Since that the auto mac change doesn't kick off, i change manually my wifi mac address (I miss the time that my main 3DS was in 9.2 ...): Both my wifi adapter and the miniport do get the new mac address but still nothing :(
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    What a weird game
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Yeah I wanted to see shards of the titanic
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I kept thinking jaws was gonna come up and attack
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Jaws is on a diet
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Damn power went out
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Ok xdqwerty, your little bro prob tripped On the cord and unplugged you
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Ya I'm afraid of the dark hug me
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Grab and hold close your AncientBoi doll.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Damn didn't charge my external battery either
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Take the batteries out of your SuperStabber3000... Or is it gas powered?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I stole batteries from your black mamba
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    My frozen food better hold up for an hour I know that
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Or else gonna be a big lunch and dinner tomorrow.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Did you pay your power bill? Or give all yo money to my wife, again.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Oh good the estimated time is the same exact time they just said
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Load up your pc and monitor, and head to a McDonalds dining room, they have free WiFi
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Sir please watch your porn in the bathroom
    +2
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    No sir we can not sell you anymore apple pies, after what you did with the last one.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    We ran out
  • HiradeGirl @ HiradeGirl:
    for your life
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    My life has no value my fat ass is staying right here
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: https://youtube.com/shorts/2n3nUOadWxM?si=7QMANPmqPdFcdlfm