Help Installing Visoly Advanced Gear Drivers on Windows 7

Discussion in 'GBA - Flashing Hardware and Software' started by AceWarhead, Jun 12, 2012.

  1. AceWarhead
    OP

    Member AceWarhead "Must Construct Additional Pylons"

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    I recently acquired a Visoly Advanced Gear and a Flash Advance Xtreme 256MBit, but I have no idea how to install the USB drivers for this device. Windows 7 just says, " USB Device Not Recognized" and doesn't let me manually install the drivers.
    Any help is appreciated.
     
  2. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,803
    Country:
    Antarctica
    http://gbatemp.net/topic/275407-using-virtualbox-to-manage-legacy-gba-flashcarts/

    Requires you have windows 7 x64 version and a copy of windows XP. you can also use any other VM like VMware, VirtualPC, etc.
     
  3. AceWarhead
    OP

    Member AceWarhead "Must Construct Additional Pylons"

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    Thing is, VirtualBox doesn't detect the Visoly Gear, so I cannot enable it.
    I did a Dual-boot with XP, but it still wouldn't let me install the USB drivers... just says it's up-to-date. But when I stat the Xtreme utility, it doesn't detect the Visoly Gear in the USB port.
    Also, WIndows XP just says Device not Recognized.
     
  4. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,803
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Requires XP SP2 or lower. SP3 made older drivers not work with the new security setting.


     
  5. AceWarhead
    OP

    Member AceWarhead "Must Construct Additional Pylons"

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, I've tried this, but the problem is that they do not detect the unknown USB device.It doesn't show up in the "manage USB device" section of the VM.
     
  6. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,803
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The port your using isn't powering it long enough for you to add it. Use a USB hub that uses an AC adaptor to power it.
     
  7. AceWarhead
    OP

    Member AceWarhead "Must Construct Additional Pylons"

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    I don't understand how this affects the VM reading the "Malfunctioned USB device (As Windows XP and 7 say."
    But I will try this.
     

Share This Page