first ds need advice

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by fostina1, Nov 30, 2010.

Nov 30, 2010

first ds need advice by fostina1 at 5:01 PM (2,057 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. fostina1
    OP

    Newcomer fostina1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    got my first ds on black friday for $89. i assume its a normal fat ds. i have previously had gba with what i believe was a m3 card, that was several years ago. i still have the card if it will work with the ds. and that is my question, what do i need to do to emulate gba and ds games. ive been looking over this site for a while and cant find a "for Beginners" guide.

    thanks for any help.
     


  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
  3. fostina1
    OP

    Newcomer fostina1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    You have three choices for carts that have proper support/updates.
    [*]The original R4.
    NOT "R4-III Upgrade", NOT "R4-SDHC", NOT "R4i", NOT "R4 Gold", NOT "R4 Red", NOT "R4 King"...
    NOT ANYTHING ELSE WITH "R4" IN THE NAME! JUST "R4 Revolution".
    • Price: $6 from shoptemp.com
    • Rank: The cheap card for somebody that just wants to play some games on a DS/Lite.
    [*]Acekard 2i
    • Price: $16 from shoptemp.com
    • Rank: Mid-range card for people that want to play lots of games on a DSi/XL with some extra features.
    [*]Supercard DSTwo[​IMG]
    • DS / DS Lite
      The card will work on an original (fat) DS or a DS Lite.
    • DSi / DSi XL
      The card will work on a DSi or DSi XL as well.
    • Game Updates
      Firmware updates are what let cards play newer games, these are the life-blood of the card.
    • SDHC
      SDHC refers to SD cards larger than 2GB (gigabytes). If there's no SDHC support, you can only use SD cards up to 2GB.
    • WiFi Update
      The Acekard 2i can update it's cheats (and get minor bug fixes) over WiFi without having to connect to a computer.
    • AP Bypass
      The DSTwo has special features to ignore AP in most games, letting you play them without having to wait for a firmware update first.
    • RTS
      The Real-Time Save (Save State) function lets you save and reload your game progress at any moment you wish.
    • In-Game Guide
      You can pull up text files and images in-game, in order to check a walkthrough or map you downloaded at any time during a game.
    • Slow Motion
      The card lets you slow down the game speed as you wish.
    • In-Game Cheats
      The card lets you create and modify cheats while the game is running.
    • Special Homebrew
      The card has multiple pieces of special homebrew, such as it's own GBA and SNES emulators, as well as text/PDF reader and video player.
    • Battery Life
      Unfortunately the DSTwo's extra CPU and RAM (which give it the special features) eat into the battery life a bit.



    If you don't like referral links, the non-ref versions are here.
    R4
    Acekard 2i
    Supercard DSTwo
     
  5. fostina1
    OP

    Newcomer fostina1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for your help. what is the preumium update +flashing service mean. is it a free flash to the wood firmware?

    for the cheap $6 card.
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The update+flashing means they update your cart to the latest bootloader, it doesn't matter if you're just getting the $6 card, you can simply put the Wood firmware on it yourself.
     
  7. fostina1
    OP

    Newcomer fostina1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    sweet. from looking at the r4 beginners guide it seems to play nds natively. would it need an emulator for gba? i think that was my last question, you have been a great help.
     
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Slot-1 carts cannot play GBA games (except the DSTwo through emulation, and that's the $35 cart).

    You will ALSO need a slot-2 (GBA slot) cart to run GBA ROMs with the R4, and those are more expensive.
     
  9. fostina1
    OP

    Newcomer fostina1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    thanks, i believe thats all i needed to know.
     
  10. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you should get the ez flash 3-1 for the slot 2 (it's the best there is)
     
  11. Wolvenreign

    Member Wolvenreign Transhuman Satanist Furry Technocrat

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    629
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    Country:
    United States
    Aaaaaand let me just go ahead and defend Rydian's omission of the CycloDS Evolution before anyone goes after him for it. (I am a current CycloDS Evolution user.)

    CycloDS Evolution is currently pricier AND has fewer features than the SCTWO.

    So I back his chart here. Although it could have used a "plays GBA games" column as well.
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Nobody's gone after me for not putting the cyclo there because it's about what you get for the money, and the cyclo would not look good on that chart.

    All three carts can play GBA games with a slot-2 cart, and while the DSTwo can emulate GBA games it can also emulate SNES and has extra features, so I put a general column with an explanation of it down below.
     
  13. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Shouldn't AceKard have a "O" in the AP Bypass column?
    [​IMG]
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    AKAIO's Anti-Anti-Piracy (AAP) is NOT the same thing as the DSTwo's "clean mode".

    DSTwo has Clean Mode. This enables new games at the cost of soft-reset and cheats and in-game menus.
    AKAIO has AAP. This is just a new type of AP fixing, it will NOT work on all games, it's currently a little buggy, and it still allows soft-reset and cheats.

    The AP it bypasses is the new "generic AP we'll stick on games" that Nintendo came up with, that's why it's working on new titles. It's not something that can be done on "weaker" carts, it was mentioned the R4 is not capable of it properly, that's why Wood doesn't have that option and is patching the individual games as they come out.

    The DSTwo's Clean Mode makes more games play because it's an all-around method, whereas AKAIO's AAP is focused on one specific type of AP, however it's focus is the AP that new games RIGHT NOW are coming out with, which is why it's playing the same new games as the DSTwo.

    It can currently break single-cart download-play, that's why it's optional (so you can turn it off in order to use that feature), future AKAIO versions will not have the AAP option on the screen once it's fixed up properly.

    Clean Mode (DSTwo) and AAP (AKAIO/Acekard) are not like Coke and Pepsi. They're like Coke and Iced Tea. They are not the same thing. I'm not saying "they're not the same" for some stupid pedantic political shit, I'm saying they're not the same thing because they're really not the same thing, outside of the fact that both are meant to allow new games to run.
     
  15. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    No one ever said it was, but it's still AP Bypass.
     
  16. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Fine, I'll change the damn chart to "clean mode".
     
  17. fostina1
    OP

    Newcomer fostina1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    could i buy this from anywhere else?
     
  18. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Buy what?

    And 'else' where? Like a retail store? No.
    Apparently you can get them at some 'Mom and Pop' shops (I've never seen one), or flea markets/swap meets, but I wouldn't unless you can identify a clone on sight. Otherwise you're better off buying from a reputable place like GameKool.com or Lightake.com.
     
  19. fostina1
    OP

    Newcomer fostina1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States

    thanks thats what i meant a website to get the r4 from since shop temp isnt selling them right now. i got 2 before they stopped selling them would like 5 or 6 more.
     
  20. fostina1
    OP

    Newcomer fostina1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    26 days later and my package from priceangels finally arrives. yay. atleast they work lol.
     

Share This Page