Densetsu no Stafi - Font Question

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by Blackmage907, Mar 2, 2012.

Mar 2, 2012
  1. Blackmage907
    OP

    Newcomer Blackmage907 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I'm attempting a translation for this game, and I was wondering If i've located the font, I realize its magnified by 400, but it still looks.....wrong, so I was wondering if anyone could tell me if I've located it and give possible suggestions as to what I should do to have it display properly.
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  2. Sora de Eclaune

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    I can't view the image. Can you upload it somewhere else?
     
  3. Blackmage907
    OP

    Newcomer Blackmage907 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
  4. Auryn

    Member Auryn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    529
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Let's forget for a moment that I know anything about romhacking.
    The game is in japanese....right??
    The little you can see is english letters....right??
    So if that should be the text font for the game, where are all the japanese letters???
    Don't get me wrong, that is a font but sure not the font you need for translation.
    Like the most graphics you can see in that rom, the real font you need, is probably compressed.
    Go to RHDN utilities page and search for unLZ-gba, nlzgba or else and give it a new try.
    By the way, be ready to make alot of graphic editing in this game:
    [​IMG]
     
  5. Blackmage907
    OP

    Newcomer Blackmage907 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you very much :) I actually have the program you have pictured there, so my best bet would be to export that particular image, edit it, and then reinsert it?
     
  6. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    The font used in the game dialogue is compressed. I have a tool that can decompress it but as of yet no re-compressor. If you don't know ARM assembly i'd highly recommend either giving up now or learning it as it will definitely be required to hack/translate this game.
     
  7. Auryn

    Member Auryn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    529
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Well yes, but unless you like puzzles, better go other ways.
    Example a combination of that tool for the values and CrystalTile for the actual editing.
    You still need to puzzle but at least they are all the same size and can be groupped to put together the actual image you need and it will automatically split the edited image.
     

Share This Page