1. npavlovici

    npavlovici Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    Romania
    https://www.anandtech.com/show/11181/a-look-at-nintendo-switch-power-consumption/2

    Stay for now with the 2 A fuse, from the anandtech article seems the switch draw under 2 amps , but if will burn replace with 3a.
     
  2. npavlovici

    npavlovici Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    Romania
  3. mattytrog

    mattytrog You don`t want to listen to anything I say.
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    3,657
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    SolidSnakeUk89 and npavlovici like this.
  4. SolidSnakeUk89

    SolidSnakeUk89 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2019
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Omg awesome I will give it a go putting it in one of my donor boards* what is also missing and I'll let u guys know if it worked!

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    By the way if someone wants any measures from any caps let me know.. I may need to also learn how to measure... so far I use the diode method with red probe on ground but happy to learn
     
  5. Ace_

    Ace_ Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2019
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry if this has already been covered but does anyone know what the component is above the USB-C port with 7C written on it?
     
    maddrake likes this.
  6. Pintglass

    Pintglass GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Messages:
    271
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
    maddrake likes this.
  7. Ace_

    Ace_ Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2019
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks
     
    maddrake likes this.
  8. Pintglass

    Pintglass GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Messages:
    271
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can anyone tell me what component this is please, or if you could tell me the code which is printed on your version.
    Mine has the code J03 of which i can't find a part.

    switch 20.jpg
     
  9. SolidSnakeUk89

    SolidSnakeUk89 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2019
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    are all the caps around the PI3USB the same? there are 2 on top next to the 0603 and another 2 to the left in vertical.. I have a switch that is missing a bunch lol seems like someone sacrificed this board but tested all the chips and all are working..

    I have noticed they are quite cheap so I was thinking about giving it a go.. another thing is going to be to solder them.. Im scared! lol
    Im a newby here so cant post pics.. but will put one up when Im allowed :)

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    not too sure but I have a couple of boards and they are different numbers lol

    1 is J03... (looks like it although scratched)
    2 is "PP5 732"
     
  10. mattytrog

    mattytrog You don`t want to listen to anything I say.
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    3,657
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No they are not the same.

    You have:
    From memory...

    2 or 3 100k resistors
    1 4.7k resistor
    100nF caps (loads in-between filters and pi3 output)
    100pF filter caps between each signal line (all for vcc) (4 or 5)

    Like I say... This is from memory.

    My memory shot it. Only did one yesterday.
     
    SolidSnakeUk89 likes this.
  11. SolidSnakeUk89

    SolidSnakeUk89 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2019
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    LOL thank you so much I will try get a pic

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I think I can post this now! I just took one...

    EDIt: pic as attachment
    Green Joy-Con D-Pad Shells for Nintendo Switch

    [​IMG]
     
  12. mattytrog

    mattytrog You don`t want to listen to anything I say.
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    3,657
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Red box on left 100nF x 2

    The otherb 100pF
     
    SolidSnakeUk89 likes this.
  13. Pintglass

    Pintglass GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Messages:
    271
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Could the PP5 be PPs could you double check for me.
     
  14. SolidSnakeUk89

    SolidSnakeUk89 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2019
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Im pretty sure is a "5", here it is :)
    https://imgur.com/WhqghDa
     
  15. Pintglass

    Pintglass GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Messages:
    271
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK thanks for that.

    @mattytrog
    Have you any idea what this device is or a link to a datasheet?
     
  16. mattytrog

    mattytrog You don`t want to listen to anything I say.
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    3,657
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It seems to be a dcdc converter to turn vbus voltage (20v max) to 5v max on that rail. A buck regulator in other words.

    It is going to hi side enable and boost enable. My guess is it senses when vbus is over 4v and kicks in, bringing voltage back down to safe vccin level (max 6v).

    This is only a theory as I'm not near a meter or pc at the minute.
     
  17. rokko

    rokko Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    mattydog where in the uk can i buy the panasonic filter/chokes mouser want 12 quid to ship from the states
     
  18. mattytrog

    mattytrog You don`t want to listen to anything I say.
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    3,657
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I got mine from RS components. I think.
     
    SolidSnakeUk89 likes this.
  19. Pintglass

    Pintglass GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Messages:
    271
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @mattytrog
    Can you tell me if you get continuity between pin 3 and pin 6 on this device.

    I found this https://toshiba.semicon-storage.com/info/docget.jsp?did=6578&prodName=SSM6P49NU
    datasheet for the pp5 version of the device can't find one for the J03 version, does this look like the right one to you.
     
  20. mattytrog

    mattytrog You don`t want to listen to anything I say.
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    3,657
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Looks like the right part.

    So it's a dual channel MOSFET.

    I'm not near a scrap board at the moment.

    But I'd hazard a guess both channels are connected in parallel. Therefore continuity should be the same across source 1,2 gate1,2 and drain 1,2. If one channel has gone down I'd say it would fail open circuit.

    I'll take a look when I'm home
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - motherboard, Components, console)