Wii IOS / System Inspection please!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by D-an-W, Aug 22, 2010.

Aug 22, 2010
  1. D-an-W
    OP

    Member D-an-W GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi folks, my (Pretty much launch day) Wii has been neglected recently so I decided to backup my nand and have a go at updating everything.

    DOP-Mii and MMM were the weapons of choice for the mission and my aim was to get the 4.1E (Dual modchip installed) system as up to date and "clean" as possible.

    I have the latest HBC, BootMii and PriiLoader installed (Boot2v2) along with some of my favorite homebrew with it booting just how I like it into DarkWii.

    I also am in the process of dumping my originals onto a Samsung 500GB external HD split into NTFS and FAT32 partitons for use with Configurable USB Loader, my fiancee enjoys the singing games so a Logitech microphone is also used.

    NANDClean has been run, then PriiLoader reset as I did used to have PreLoader on there and read it can leave things behind.



    Anyway, here is what I started off with...

    [​IMG]

    And this is my effort so far...

    [​IMG]



    I know people usually say "If it aint broke" etc but I am pretty sure I am not alone in wanting to have a nice up to date tidy / working system, so would really appreciate your input on what I have done so far and what else I need to do to complete my task?
     
  2. LocoRoco

    Member LocoRoco GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Country:
    Australia
    the only thing i see is updated ios..and removed hermes cios...you can remove ios20,16 and 4 as they are no longer used

    music games require base 37 or 56 for instruments to work
     
  3. D-an-W
    OP

    Member D-an-W GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cheers Loco, i'll remove them.

    I installed cIOS249 as base 56, is that sufficient?
     
  4. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,546
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    You want your wii as clean as possible? You could use Dop-Mii to remove IOS4,11,16,20 and 30, these IOSes are not needed anymore.
    Yes, that's the best base now.
    edit: You forgot to update the patched IOS36, it's not needed, but if you want the latest IOSes...
    Download THIS trucha bug restorer mod, reload IOS36, go to the IOS36 menu, check that all four patches are on and install to slot 36.
     
  5. flo

    Member flo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    242
    Country:
    Hungary
    Second log is what you have now ? Why do you have IOS 4 ,11,16 and 20 patched ?
     
  6. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,546
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    These IOSes are not "patched", these are the old original bugs [​IMG] Programs like dop-mii will only re-insert the old IOS bugs into the new IOSes, that's it.
     
  7. D-an-W
    OP

    Member D-an-W GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had wondered that myself flo, thanks for clearing it up FIX94 [​IMG]

    Here is how it looks now...

    [​IMG]
     
  8. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Looks good to me. Although I would also install a patched IOS36 into IOS236 just as an extra backup.

    You don't have bootmii install in IOS?
     
  9. D-an-W
    OP

    Member D-an-W GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have just been reading about IOS236 here strangely enough.

    My BootMii is installed as Boot2 (I think that's what it's called!), that ok?
     
  10. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Its okay to have bootmii in boot2 only. Just make sure you have the latest bootmii.
     
  11. D-an-W
    OP

    Member D-an-W GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    From the BootMii info screen...

    Code:
    BootMii v1.3
    Stub v1.3
    Mini v0.4
    
    SysMenu 4.1E boot1b boot2v2
     
  12. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Yep, it looks good.

    If you want to use shop channel, install latest IOS61 and Shop Channel (v19) in DOP-Mii.
     
  13. D-an-W
    OP

    Member D-an-W GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I updated the Shop Channel recently to v19 getting the WAD from NUS and using a WAD Installer as the Wii said I couldn't use it without a system update first [​IMG]
     
  14. LocoRoco

    Member LocoRoco GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Country:
    Australia
    advice NEVER use PimpmyWii
     
  15. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Also install IOS57, notice that was missing from you Wii.
     
  16. D-an-W
    OP

    Member D-an-W GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    We need a thanks button on here, some really great advice in such a short time...THANKS folks [​IMG]

    I had read bad things about PimpMyWii Loco before starting on this venture, cheers.
     
  17. D-an-W
    OP

    Member D-an-W GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, I think we are about there folks?

    IOS36 TBR Mod applied, IOS236 also added, IOS57 installed...a fresh nand backup time?

    [​IMG]
     
  18. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,546
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Yep, that's perfect! Now it's time for a NAND backup [​IMG]
     
  19. Patryc

    Member Patryc GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    452
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You do not say why?
     

Share This Page