Which Slot1 Card Should I Get?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by drfsupercenter, Sep 5, 2008.

Sep 5, 2008
  1. drfsupercenter
    OP

    Member drfsupercenter Flash Cart Aficionado

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,891
    Country:
    United States
    Hi,

    Right now I have a Supercard SD and Supercard Mini, both of which are slot 2 and do basically the same thing (I bought the Mini one so it didn't stick out of my original DS)

    Well, I was thinking of buying a slot 1 device so I could use a Micro SDHC card and keep the slot 2 card exclusively for GBA (Trying to put all my DS games and GBA on a 2GB card is too hard now, since there are so many.)

    I was originally going to go with a Supercard One, but someone suggested the CycloDS to me. What exactly are the differences? What would you suggest? Here's what I want...

    -Save state support
    -The ability to show both the contents of my slot 1 and slot 2 cards in the same menu (I know Supercards can do that)

    From what I understand, both can play games in slow-motion and have a cheat mode? I don't care about viewing .txt files in-game since it's just as easy to save state and run Moonshell!
    The Wii connectivity of the CycloDS sounds nice... but are there even that many games that use it? The only one that I know of is Pokémon Diamond/Pearl, and since I own the real game too I can use REIN to copy saves back and forth for that.

    So what would you suggest? Money is a factor here... and the CycloDS is like $15 more than the Supercard. Will the Supercard suffice or is the CycloDS that much better?
     
  2. ShiningSaber

    Member ShiningSaber Tiger

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Clemson, South Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    (thanks Ferrariman)


    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=100201
    Chart of the features and stuff.
    I only have a CycloDS, but I can say, it works awesomely, its very sturdy, and I've had no compatibility issues.
     
  3. drfsupercenter
    OP

    Member drfsupercenter Flash Cart Aficionado

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,891
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah well linking to a bunch of sites isn't really helpful, I want someone who's actually compared the two.

    The chart pretty much shows that the two I'm looking at have 99% in common... the auto saver thing isn't a big deal as long as the saves are the correct size to begin with. So it's just the slow motion and Wii connectivity.

    Another question is, though, can the CycloDS show the contents of my Supercard slot-2 card along with the contents of the slot 1 card? If not, how would I do it?
     
  4. tedmg09130913

    Member tedmg09130913 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Country:
    United States
    Users often report that the cyclods is fatser than the supercard ds one. But that the supercard ds one can be made faster by adjusting the menu. They also often report that the cyclo ds has better updates form the support team. However they often report they are very satisfied with the supercard ds one for the money. The cyclo ds may not have your second requested feature. But the team may add it if you ask them. The team has allready mentioned that they are adding some new features in the future. Probably either card would work well for what you want.
     
  5. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?dynamic=8

    And, I made that list them so you could see ALL the other people who ask the EXACT same question.
     
  6. drfsupercenter
    OP

    Member drfsupercenter Flash Cart Aficionado

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,891
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I'm just too lazy to read all those threads.

    I actually like the menus that the Supercard SD uses... I don't need big fancy menus, just a list of files is fine.
    But the SCSD1 doesn't have Wii connectivity? As I said before, for Pokémon DP it's not a big deal since I own the game but how many other games even have that feature?

    So CycloDS has Wii connectivity but not slot2 card support, the Supercard has slot2 support but not Wii connectivity?

    What's the story with the slow-motion too? I noticed with the Supercard it said "cheat only"... what's that mean? Do you just go into the cheats menu and tell it to slow down? Or what?
     
  7. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    Geometry Wars also has Wii-connectivity.

    Both Scds1 and CycloDS Evo supports booting to slot 2 since both of them can act as "passme:s", but only Scds1 has DSGBA linkage when used with a slot 2 Supercard.

    Scds1's has slow-motion as an implemention in the cheat-system which requires cheats to be enabled and cheat files to be merged with the slow-motion.scc while CycloDS Evo has slow motion implemented in it's enhanced menu.
     
  8. TheWingless

    Member TheWingless Wafuu~

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Country:
    United States
    I think people are sick of these threads, and they are also sick of excuses. No matter what, your going to get answers similar to this:
    Cyclo is the best because it has RTS(Real Time Save for saving anywhere), Real Time Guide(For reading a FAQ while playing your game without a computer), great support, fast updates, that ingame menu thingy, and more.
    Then you have people saying, GET SUPERCARD CUZ IT'S CHEAPER and has very similar/most of those features and are pretty reliable.
    Then you have the people saying the AceKard 2/RPG is great too! The AceKard 2 has a neat menu, great support, and a bunch of neat fatures if you use AKAIO or something like that.
    Then you have the trolls/whoever they are saying YOU SHULD GET THE DSX/R4!
    Then you have the people saying the DSTT is good too because it's cheap, it works, and YSMenu is also good.
    Then you have the people who say the M3Real is great because there are those neat little bundles, built in support for the GBA Expansion pack and stuff. But you know what? The AceKard 2 also has that with AKAIO or something and so does YSMenu, but they don't work with GBA Expansion by the M3 team. You gotta use an EZ 3in1. And if not, you can use GBAEXPLoader.
    Then you have a long argument on you forgot about this, or you didn't get this info right, or you'll get a long rambled post like this. You know what? I'll answer these questions anyways because the newcomers asking this question will not search, and will not see this post either.

    EDIT:
    And to continue...
    CycloDS: Wii-DS Connectivity. RTS. RTG. Built in support for EX 3in1. Great English speaking team. Fast updates. Pretty much perfect compatibility. Homebrew softreset. Ingame menu. Brightness change. Moonshell for media. Softreset. Cheats(Action Replay).
    SuperCard DS One: RTS, RTG(Not so great). Built in moonshell into the menu. You need to use GBAEXPLoader for GBA games+Slot 2. Updates occasionally when needed. Good compatibility. Soft Reset. Brightness adjustment. Cheat support.
    M3Real: M3Sakura is great but STILL hasn't gotten an update. Sakura has built in support for media. Decent compatibility. Pretty reliable team. Bundle packs are great. GBAExpansion support(NOT EZ 3in1). Softreset works sometimes. Brightness adjustment. Yay! more info that most people won't read.
    AK2/RPG: Good support. Custom menus. AKAIO has support for EZ 3in1. Soft Reset. You know what, I give up listing all of the basic features.
    DSTT
    EZV:I hardly ever hear EZV even though support has been pretty decent lately.
    EDGE
    R4DS(People like to say DON'T GET THIS CART)
    DSX(Oh come on. Trolls and people who are sick of topics like this say this one)

    Edit2:
    Basically, read this or research on your own and be the buyer. We aren't the people who buys things FOR you.
    And most likely because of constant arguments or constant questions, the topic drags on, the person ends up oh I'll get the one I originally planned for/CycloDS/etc.
     
  9. ShiningSaber

    Member ShiningSaber Tiger

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Clemson, South Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I'm just too lazy to give a hell and give you a proper answer, then. [​IMG]
     
  10. Shardnax

    Member Shardnax GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    175
    Country:
    United States


    Just link him to a site that sells flash carts and stop going on about something that you claim to be tired of.
     
  11. drfsupercenter
    OP

    Member drfsupercenter Flash Cart Aficionado

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,891
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, well I don't have the DS Geometry Wars but if I was really bothered I could probably buy that used somewhere. That feature doesn't bother me then, since it's only for 2 games.

    Now, um, how would you use the CycloDS as a Passme? I have my firmware flashed so it'll currently autoboot from the GBA slot if there's a cart in it... obviously I'd have to uninstall that when I get a slot 1 card. But is there some option in the menu like "boot slot 2 card"?

    At this point I'm leaning toward the Supercard since it has the integrated DS/GBA menu... but when you talk about real time guides... what exactly does that mean? Do they come with one? Or does that just mean I can download a .txt FAQ off GameFAQs or somewhere and patch it into the game? That's really not a big deal since I can just as easily read the .txt file in DSOrganize or Moonshell and with real time save, why would it really matter? Assuming I can easily reset to the menu, it's like a 2-click process.

    Does the cheat thing mean the Supercard One games still need to be patched? I read that you can just take the .nds file and put it on the card and it'll work fine. But how do you do cheats then? I don't have cheats enabled on any of my slot 2 files, simply because they don't come with cheats and I'm really not bothered. But if it's easy enough I might look into it.
     
  12. TheWingless

    Member TheWingless Wafuu~

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Country:
    United States
     
  13. drfsupercenter
    OP

    Member drfsupercenter Flash Cart Aficionado

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,891
    Country:
    United States
    OK, so you would just put the file in the same name as the game, like how you'd have Game.nds and Game.sav? And then you press some hotkey and enable cheats while playing the game?
     
  14. TheWingless

    Member TheWingless Wafuu~

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Country:
    United States
    Oh. Well I think all it does it load the GBA game from your SuperCard DS one memory card and load it on to the RAM the SD one has. Not too sure about this. But if you want to use the SD card in the second slot, you might have to boot to slot 2.

    No, the cheat file(which is one file) goes into like a system folder or something and can have hundreds of games on them... The SuperCard has an ingame cheat menu to change cheats and you can also change it before the game starts as it is more stable that way. But I just noticed the the cheat database does not have a SuperCard one... I think there was another website that had a cheat database for the SCDSOne.
     
  15. drfsupercenter
    OP

    Member drfsupercenter Flash Cart Aficionado

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,891
    Country:
    United States
    Oh... Well either way I'd probably be better off Supercard + Supercard instead of trying to mix them.

    A question I forgot to ask earlier:
    The DS Web Browser will work, right? I know there was a hacked one they made a while back that you put the ROM file on your slot 1 card, and it'll use your slot 2 card as a RAM expansion. Will it work on Supercards? I only saw it mention DS X-treme, and I haven't heard anything of those cards in years.
     
  16. TheWingless

    Member TheWingless Wafuu~

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. You need to use a patch on the Internet browser first though... But it's not that great of a browser anyways.

    Patch: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=525
     
  17. drfsupercenter
    OP

    Member drfsupercenter Flash Cart Aficionado

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,891
    Country:
    United States
    Well, as far as I know it's the only one that works. (DSOragnize's browser doesn't work at all for me)

    I actually own the DS Web Browser, I just like having all my stuff in one place, if you know what I mean.
     

Share This Page