1. bluebright

    bluebright GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    643
    Country:
    I'm so sick of not being able to upscale on my vga box. Ahtin, how much are your HD boxes?
     
  2. jelbo

    jelbo Ōkami!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    As far as I can tell the HD Box Pro doesn't do any upscaling either. I don't see any real difference between my X2VGA2 in terms of image quality.
     
  3. martin633

    martin633 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Ok but then i will still need a cable to connect the box to my soundcard. It doesn't realy matter if I connect the box or the Wii (like in my case) to my soundcard...
     
  4. Valif

    Valif Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Netherlands
    HI,
    I'm also planning to get my wii on my monitor. I have a Hp w2408h 24" 1920 x 1200
    will i be able to play on my wii with no quality loss or any other problems?

    thanks in advance [​IMG]
     
  5. vladislaus

    vladislaus Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:

    Not as I know of many people have very similar setups using this box so i think your OK. ok that [​IMG]

    Just Jaggies which are due to the high definitioon of your Hardware (Monitor) nothing else should be that bad.
     
  6. Valif

    Valif Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Netherlands
    maybe a newb question. But what are jaggies?
     
  7. arctic_flame

    arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Country:
    Harsh "jagged" edges around objects in poorly resized images, or images with no anti-aliasing.
     
  8. Valif

    Valif Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Netherlands
    How anoying are those Jaggies?
     
  9. arctic_flame

    arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Country:
    It really depends. If your TV is huge, or you sit quite close to it, then mildly irritating. But you shouldn't notice too much otherwise.
     
  10. vladislaus

    vladislaus Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Hmm, its an compromise. Colours will look great, but the Jagged edges will be notice able if your sitting close. but due to the Wii remote hardware you will be sitting fairly back anyway. So as Arctic_flame said, they wont be to noticeable but They will be there unfortunately.
     
  11. jelbo

    jelbo Ōkami!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
  12. bluebright

    bluebright GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    643
    Country:
    i thought he said you can play gamecube games and VC games? isn't that called upscaling?
     
  13. jelbo

    jelbo Ōkami!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No, upscaling is upsizing the image with some kind of filter to make it look better. It doesn't do that any better than my screen's 'upscaling', though I believe in both cases no real filter is applied.
     
  14. martin633

    martin633 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I can give you my opinion about it wednesday, because then jelbo's vga box will arrive... Im also a bit worried about those jaggies..
     
  15. Valif

    Valif Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Could you make some photo's close up and from a distance if it arrives [​IMG]?
     
  16. ahtin

    ahtin GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    544
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    The market price of it is USD55, my HD Box pro is a free review sample for my forum located in Hong Kong
     
  17. ahtin

    ahtin GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    544
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    for the Jaggies, this is becasue the souce is 480P but not 1080P, I have try 1080i with TV set top box and 1080P with PS3, there is no Jaggies problem.

    I have try different VGA solution for Wii, Vdigi Cable have the best quality for the Jaggiesfix, then hdboxpro and XCM VGA box, then XVGA2

    [​IMG]
     
  18. Valif

    Valif Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Netherlands
    What is that Vdigi Cable?

    EDIT:
    Now i know what vdigi cable is i have a other questioN [​IMG]

    does it also work for the pal wii?
    Some people say they have trouble with a pal wii. But vdgi itself says there isn't any and it's all the consumers fault.
     
  19. jelbo

    jelbo Ōkami!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The Vdigi cable supports only 480p @ 60Hz and that's the same for PAL and NTSC (if you chose 480p in the Wii options), so yes, the Vdigi cable works on a PAL Wii.
     
  20. vladislaus

    vladislaus Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Apparently Vdigi Cable is great though, I would like to mention that it doesnt support anything but 480p.
    This means 99% of all Gamecube games wont work and I can almost say for sure 100% of all Virtual Console games wont work. However ive read that it appaears to produce no Jaggies or Ghosting of any kind but pay require to book contrast up a little.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - options,