Updating Bootmii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by OmerMe, Dec 19, 2009.

Dec 19, 2009

Updating Bootmii? by OmerMe at 6:07 PM (846 Views / 0 Likes) 2 replies

  1. OmerMe
    OP

    Member OmerMe GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    491
    Country:
    Israel
    I have Bootmii installed, I have no idea what version, I installed it because a guide about updating to 3.4 or 4.0 I can't remember said so.
    I don't like it, feels like I'm killing the Wii. >< But I'll keep it since I know it can help if I ever brick my Wii (I'm kinda sure I won't, I'm the only one using the Wii and I don't do things that could kill it.)
    Anyway, I remembered I have it installed, so I tried using it (Powering the Wii on while pressing select), and I saw there was an "Update" option, so I pressed it.
    And now all I see it "downloading changelog..." for quite some time. And my Wi-fi is working.
    Can I just turn the Wii off at this point and update using a wad or something?

    Also, I'd like to update my Shop Channel, but I don't want to install things that mess with the NAND.. seems like trouble to me.
    Is there a way to install a IOS or cIOS or something tot update the channel? I'm on 4.1E.

    Thanks.
     
  2. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Wait, is this about bootmii or preloader?
    If you have to hold reset, it's preloader (bootmii is the thing that starts automatically)

    Anyway, I think it should be safe to turn it of as long as it's only downloading

    For the newest shop channel, run WiiSCU
     
  3. OmerMe
    OP

    Member OmerMe GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    491
    Country:
    Israel
    Huh.. I guess preloader then..? xD
    I got passed that screen, and it said: "Press A to update or B to cancel" so I pressed A, and it told me I can't update because I use IOS60 or something, so I didn't update.

    Doesn't WiiSCU do stuff with the NAND that can mess up my Wii or something?
     

Share This Page