1. justinweiss

    justinweiss GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    I spent most of the last month working my way through Dragon Quest XI, so... not really :-)

    I did add auto-frameskip to snes9x 2010 (https://github.com/libretro/snes9x2010/pull/139) -- you'd usually still want to use a 2005 core, but this at least makes some games playable that don't work in 2005 for whatever reason.

    Auto-frameskip also works in mainline snes9x, but it's not really worth it -- games are _really_ choppy. I might still submit the PR just to get it building, in case people wanted to give it a try.
     
    Last edited by justinweiss, Jan 1, 2021
    MrHuu, Nutez and ber71 like this.
  2. MrHuu

    OP MrHuu GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Just a minor heads up about the latest nightly builds:

    These builds enable the option to update retroarch and it's cores from within the application itself.

    To be able to use this feature, you have to delete your existing 'retroarch.cfg'.
    Remove every core (.3dsx / .cia) from your sd, 'sdmc:/retroarch/cores/'.
    Then grab a single core from the buildbot, and copy it to your 'cores' directory.

    Launch the updated core, and use the build-in 'Online Updater' to download other cores.


    You can find the options to: Lock, Backup, Restore and Delete cores here:
    'Main Menu / Information / Core Information'


    NOTE:
    Currently, the .cia builds, do not update the actual installed title on your 3DS. Only the .cia file found in your 'cores' directory.
    You have to re-install those manually using FBI, for now.
     
    spyro3dsguy, Dartz150, cvskid and 2 others like this.
  3. MarioKartFan

    MarioKartFan GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2019
    Messages:
    428
    Country:
    Algeria
    Thanks for the explanation. I started using 3DSX for Retroarch since the CIAs are kind of goofy (poor artwork, cumbersome to update, inconsistent behavior when changing cores in app and returning to HomeScreen, etc.). These changes are really great.
     
  4. UltraSyko

    UltraSyko Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry but I don't see it. I deleted my cfg. wiped all my cores and tried the Jan 2nd nightly build. I only see Lock, Backup, Restore and Delete
     
  5. MrHuu

    OP MrHuu GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Which version are you using? .3dsx or .cia?

    The options to download cores are available here:
    'Main Menu / Online Updater / Core Downloader'
    or
    'Main Menu / Load Core / Download a Core'
     
  6. g_west

    g_west Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    These are the image files for BlueMSX. They aren't perfect but I think they'll work. If you're willing to add them you have my gratitude.
     

    Attached Files:

    MrHuu likes this.
  7. UltraSyko

    UltraSyko Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, sorry about that. I downloaded the new Jan 2nd nightly build (12 hours after the build I previously downloaded). After adding that on my microsd, it popped up.
     
  8. MrHuu

    OP MrHuu GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    Netherlands
    These look great!
    I have one minor request tho, if you don't mind of course.

    Could it be possible for the banner to include something indicating it's part of retroarch?

    Most core banners have a text like: `Libretro Core`
    or a small white retroarch logo maybe?
     
  9. UltraSyko

    UltraSyko Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
  10. MarioKartFan

    MarioKartFan GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2019
    Messages:
    428
    Country:
    Algeria
    These are awesome. I had been working on a DS one as I had no idea these existed. Thanks for sharing.
     
  11. MrHuu

    OP MrHuu GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Having a virtual keyboard on the bottom screen might be closer that you'd expect.
    I've been able to get most basic keyboard functions to work correctly.

    But, just a keyboard doesn't cut it. I was thinking about having a few options (tabs) available on the bottom screen.

    I'm currently thinking about having 4 options:

    - keyboard
    - touchpad (mouse)
    - some 'Quick Menu' options ( mainly quick saving / loading )
    - achievement overview ( i like earning atari 2600 achievements )

    ..and a persistent 'Menu' button.

    Being able to run vertical games, displayed on both screens would be something interesting to look into afterwards.
    Moving the entire top screen to bottom, while possible, is something i'm personally not interested in.

    Does anyone have any other great idea's on which functions to add to the bottom screen?
     
    Last edited by MrHuu, Jan 11, 2021
    Tebra, UltraSyko and justinweiss like this.
  12. justinweiss

    justinweiss GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    Nice!!

    When I was pinging the idea around in my head, I was thinking that it might be easiest to hook into the overlay system and display custom overlays on the bottom screen. They could provide extra buttons, hook into save / load state, etc. It might also allow less-technical people to contribute. But I didn't think about it too much or get very far.

    Are there any cores that work with ff / rewind on 3ds? That's the only additional thing I can think of besides what you mentioned.
     
  13. wanderindirk

    wanderindirk Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Vietnam
    I find fast-forward working ok enough for quite a few cores that I regularly use (bar psx). Rewind is generally more taxing but works well enough for gpsp, which is the principal reason why I’d abandoned VC and opted for that method when it comes to GBA.

    Regarding save/load states, I personally have them remapped to the C-stick (to prevent accidental pressing of buttons), and find it very comfy to use. To be honest, I think the N3DS has enough surplus buttons for these features to be remapped to, so virtual buttons for quick-saving/loading would seem a bit redundant to me. Perhaps for changing save slots it might be more reasonable, but even changing slots is not something that occurs so often for me personally.
     
  14. UltraSyko

    UltraSyko Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    A keyboard would be nice I don't know what I'd be able to use it for. I use badda71's Commodore 64 and Amiga emulator for the nice interface. I really want to enjoy PC-98 games through Neko Project II Kai but it crashes on a lot of games. I got the first Touhou game booting but I got stuck on what I'm assuming is an unmapped default button config idk. I can see this being useful for dosbox but idk if we'll ever get dosbox-pure on 3DS. I think that makes it easier on controllers?
     
  15. MrHuu

    OP MrHuu GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The assets used for the bottom screen are currently included as a binary format, those will be eventually available as .png converted during compilation. These are very easy to change to your liking. Overlays could indeed be an option, i haven't looked into those at all. Overlay support is currently not implemented, if i recall correctly. So that should be fixed first, i guess.

    Fast-forward and rewind are good options to have available. Although i've never actually used it myself, but i can see it being useful for some older consoles.

    To me, mapping save / load states to the c-stick or any other controller button doesn't seem practical. Not every core i use has the same controller layout, which requires those options to be mapped to different buttons on different cores.
    While the bottom screen is basically unused, and available for each core.


    My main reason to look into this is dosbox. I'm always a button short. But, i've ran into other cores which may benefit by having a keyboard or numeric pad available. And i can definitely see the first Touhou games requiring a keyboard.
    Dosbox-pure should make loading games easier, but i still want to enter my name when i reach a new highscore.
    Automatic game detection and button mapping is nice, but you'll still be limited to your controller buttons. A keyboard offers way more buttons, and a touchpad plays way better than emulated mouse using circle-pad.

    Otherwise, if your into commodore and amiga. Keep using badda's emulators, they are awesome. Retroarch will probably never outperform those. But i do like having multiple options available.

    An other reason to work on this is practice, without any other development experience, retroarch is kind of familiar territory by now. As you may have noticed, none of my ports have the bottom screen utilized. For me, this is the next step in my learning process. DevilutionX with dual screen support would be the goal.
     
    justinweiss likes this.
  16. UltraSyko

    UltraSyko Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    Just like the Online Updater, this would be a huge milestone! Keep up the good work!
    The only other 3DS QoL I would love is Virtual Boy being fullspeed and have a true 3D option. I know that's asking a lot but I think it would be a nice emphasized feature like the touchscreen. I'm aware some supported handhelds have rumble and the Wii is perfect for lightgun games. So it'd be nice to see the 3DS spread it's wings. Hell, that would be insane if we could swap the display and play Duck Hunt with a stylus. Something crazy badda's C64 emulator did that I never saw anywhere else is that he binded the 3D slider as a scalable speedup. Just spitballing pipedream stuff, no demands. tbh I'm super grateful for how far Retroarch 3DS has gotten in late 2020. I was so limited back in early 2019.
     
    Last edited by UltraSyko, Jan 12, 2021
  17. Thingley

    Thingley Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't know if you've played with ZXDS, but I like the way it shows save slots on the lower screen as scaled down screenshots to choose from. But honestly, just a PC style keyboard on the lower screen would be amazing. (If it was a simple bitmap that you could point to the location, the option for users to 'theme' it a little to fit the machine being emulated would be a nice touch - but that's just luxury, obviously the keys locations have to line up and there's not many pixels to play with!)

    Here in the UK, the big 3 computers of the 80s were Spectrum, C64 and Amstrad cpc. The first 2 have amazing stand alone emulators with on screen keyboards - the perfect mobile computer.

    Simply adding a keyboard to the bottom screen would make the amstrad (croco ds) core an amazing emulator (it's good already but is crying out for a keyboard). It just makes those weird older systems a lot more usable. MSX and Atari XL cores might also benefit but I don't have nostalgia for those systems myself. Someone probably loves them though.
     
    kenseiden likes this.
  18. UltraSyko

    UltraSyko Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    Ah yes, ZXDS. I wish it had a 3DS cia banner and knew how to play that emulator
     
  19. MrHuu

    OP MrHuu GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Getting Virtual Boy to run full speed may be possible, but rendering in full 3d is not within retroarch's scope.
    It may be possible if a hardware context (picaGL) is exposed to to the cores, but it will require a lot of work.
    A stand alone solution would be a better way to go in my opinion.

    As i mentioned in my previous post, i'm not really interested in moving the top to bottom screen. But now you mention lightgun games.. that may be interesting to use on the bottom screen. I'll keep this in mind.

    Retroarch already has the option to take a screenshot of the savestate, it just isn't displayed yet. But yeah, that's how i have things in mind.

    Eventually it should be possible to easily change the used assets for the bottom screen. I'm not sure yet if it will be using the overlay system. Initially, to have matching assets to each core, we'll just have each core compiled with it's own set of assets.
     
    Thingley and MarioKartFan like this.
  20. cvskid

    cvskid GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2,614
    Country:
    United States
    For virtual boy turns out there was a standalone 3ds emulator being made at 1 point but development stopped.

    [WIP] r3Ddragon - Virtual Boy emulator | GBAtemp.net - The Independent Video Game Community
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Unofficial, RetroArch, builds