1. J-Machine

    J-Machine Self proclaimed Pog champion
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Country:
    Canada
    trying to use emuMMC and failing hard. takes 5 mins to boot and it loves to freeze.on firmware 3.0 with a 256GB sd formatted fat 32. anything i might be doing wrong? i also cant seem to access the homebrew menu.

    solved it. needs to be a partition on your sd card of 32GB in fat 32 with an alocation table of 32.

    ok i've been trying to figure out how to not have my switch freeze while loading the homebrew menu.
     
  2. Xxxadub

    Xxxadub Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I'm having a issue with retroarch crashing in the settings. I seen somewhere that I just gotta use full ram by using a title instead of album but it's not working spite me having the newest version of atmosphere it just opens the title
     
  3. Adran_Marit

    OP Adran_Marit Walküre's Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,909
    Country:
    Australia
    nro2nsp
     
  4. RichardTheKing

    RichardTheKing Wolf Blass Shiraz Drinker
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2020
    Messages:
    365
    Country:
    Australia
    Okay, today I updated my Hekate/Atmosphere things to v15.6/v12.0, then tried to inject the payload. However, for the first time, I got the error:
    "Error while injecting payload (RC=-50)"

    What does this mean?
     
  5. Roimeo

    Roimeo Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    France
    Xkj40007579901
     
  6. Centrix

    Centrix Stop Poking the Moogle!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    960
    Country:
    United States
    so I'm a huge handheld guy and have been playing around with the idea of just buying the switch lite, I have no need for the dock, so I my question is do these hack methods work on the switch lite? thanks.

    Sorry if it's been asked already.
     
  7. Adran_Marit

    OP Adran_Marit Walküre's Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,909
    Country:
    Australia
    No sorry, You'll need either an RCM or if you are more unlucky an ipatched console to use these
     
  8. Centrix

    Centrix Stop Poking the Moogle!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    960
    Country:
    United States
    So it is true then. I've been reading around since my post here, and it sounds like they not only remade the switch lite; well, lite - but also retooled the OS or something to that effect. Some have even said its a completely different OS, not sure how true that is though lol.

    So curiosity, why hasn't the lite been hacked yet? I figured custom firmware would be have been up and running on the lite by now or at least easier to softmod then the switch.

    Thanks for the help. :D
     
    Last edited by Centrix, May 28, 2020
  9. Adran_Marit

    OP Adran_Marit Walküre's Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,909
    Country:
    Australia
    They changed the cpu which removed the major exploit we used for cfw (RCM) There was a period during the cpu change which are the ipatched consoles which can run cfw if they arent updated.

    Mariko(Red box switches) and the lites arent exploitable to those current methods....

    HOWEVER..... there is a possibility with the new TX chips coming out, I'll update the post if that happens and they work properly - initially from what I've heard they are having some issues with it ending with a purple screen (there was a picture in discord)
     
    Last edited by Adran_Marit, Jun 3, 2020
  10. veenx0704

    veenx0704 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    thank u
     
    Adran_Marit likes this.
  11. boondoksaint

    boondoksaint Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Great info! thank you!
     
  12. Kev_Morrison

    Kev_Morrison Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    Hello everyone, I need a little help updating my Switch OS...
    Usually, I follow this:
    It's been a while since I did it, so...
    My FIRMWARE folder already has files in it. Do I delete those files or add to it with the new files?
    I also have a folder called UPDATE, I don't remember what that one is for.
    I'm on SX OS 3.0.4
    I'm trying to update Switch OS to 10.1.0 via ChoiDuJour

    Thanks in advance.
    [​IMG]
    free picture hosting
     
    Last edited by Kev_Morrison, Jul 31, 2020
  13. Adran_Marit

    OP Adran_Marit Walküre's Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,909
    Country:
    Australia
    You can delete the old firmware files in the folder or keep them...

    but just get the latest cfw files and follow that guide
     
  14. KingLir

    KingLir Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Israel
    Thanks!!
     
  15. nitroflux

    nitroflux Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks to everyone contributing to this thread - so much useful information to be found here!
     
  16. N0b0dy1234

    N0b0dy1234 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    i installed cfw on my switch but it got updated accidently to 10.1.0 does this mean my cfw will no longer work?
     
  17. hendrickxm

    hendrickxm Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Belgium
    Similar problem here. I was on FW 9.X when I first ran Atmosphere. I was not very carefull and got banned a few weeks later but I could still play offline and I have a second switch to play online. I thought as long as games don't need a newer FW, I just don't update and keep my config as is. Now my kids accidently updated to FW 10.1.0 and games no longer boot. Any advice?
     
  18. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    13,540
    Country:
    United States
    The exploit used by unpatched consoles relies on a hardware vulnerability. In other words, the firmware is irrelevant. CFW however needs to be updated to support the newer firmware versions.

    Try using the latest version of ReiNX.
     
  19. hendrickxm

    hendrickxm Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Belgium
    Thanks. I tried ReiNX. The switch does not start when I inject the Reinx.bin. I prepared the SD card. When I inject another payload with Tecra, it wants to boot REINX but gives an error about an outdated version of some sort.
    I tried deleting all folders except the Nintendo and then it does not even boot to the error whatever payload I select.
    Very annoying and frustrating all this.
    I also tried sigpatches for 10.1.0 I found in an older post, nope, same error about network functions unavailable.
    I might be doing something wrong, it all changes so fast.

    EDIT: Managed to get it to work after re-initializing my switch, formatting and following the guide for Atmosphere. Any tips on getting my old saves? I still have the old files on the SD card.
     
    Last edited by hendrickxm, Sep 10, 2020
  20. scratchw0rker

    scratchw0rker Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you so much! alot of helpful information!
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Updated, Hacking, Switch