1. gnilwob

    OP gnilwob GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    This tutorial uses TegraRCM command line to send payloads to RCM enabled Switch.
    Command line is used since it offers a more detailed explanation on what is going on.
    So it is a definitive way to confirm if your Switch is patched or not without further questions.
    This tutorial does not make any modification to your Switch console.

    Requirement:

    No Micro SD Card is required.
    1. Any way of entering Recovery Mode. Please read here, https://gbatemp.net/threads/the-ultimate-list-of-mods-to-enter-rcm.502145/
    2. biskeydump.bin payload(please get the latest version, as of 30th July 2019, the latest version is V9), can be downloaded from https://switchtools.sshnuke.net/
    3. TegraRcm GUI, can be downloaded from https://github.com/eliboa/TegraRcmGUI/releases
    4. USB C to USB A cable
    5. A PC with USB port (Sorry I don't have Mac so I could not cover this area)

    Step-by-Step (in total 7 steps):
    1. put in your RCM Jig on the right joy con rail. Press and hold Vol+ then press the power button.
    You should see a black/blank screen after you press the power button.
    If you see a Nintendo logo, you can power off your console and try to adjust your RCM Jig position.

    2. To install APX driver
    2.1 Launch TegraRcm GUI, go to Settings tab, click on "Install Driver" button.
    2-1-1.jpg

    Confirm the driver installation.
    2-1-2.jpg

    2.2 For those having problems installing APX driver :
    Install and launch Zadig. Plug your Switch in RCM mode, then select Options > List All Devices.
    Select the APX device and check which driver is installed for this specific device. If libusbK is not the current driver, install it.
    zadig.png
    (This step is copied from https://gbatemp.net/threads/tegrarcmgui-simple-gui-for-tegrarcmsmash.503510/)

    3. Plug in USB cable from your PC to Switch(in RCM).
    Open TegraRcm GUI and you should see this window with "RCM OK".
    3.jpg

    Alternatively, you can use Device Manager to confirm if the APX device is recognized.
    3-2.jpg

    Now you can close the TegraRcm GUI application.

    4. Copy biskeydump.bin to the TegraRcm GUI folder.
    4-1.jpg

    5. Open a command line and go to the TegraRcm GUI folder.
    4.jpg

    6. Run this on the command line
    Code:
    TegraRcmSmash.exe -w biskeydump.bin BOOT:0x0
    7. Check the result
    7.1 Switch accepts and executes payload, which mean your Switch is not patched.
    Please refer to 0X7000
    working.png

    You will also see QR code on your Switch screen.

    7.2 Switch accepts but does not executes payload, which means your Switch is patched.
    Please refer to 0X0000
    not-working.png
     
    Last edited by gnilwob, Jul 31, 2019 - Reason: update biskeydump version
    f0li0, teve, gatekeeper1122 and 34 others like this.
  2. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    11,600
    Country:
    United States
    This is also the cheapest way of doing it.

    On another note, considering that you were the first one to discover your unit was patched, maybe it was fate brought out by Reggie himself that it ended up in your hands on that day.
     
    Latyana and Deleted User like this.
  3. gnilwob

    OP gnilwob GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    :rofl2:

    By the way, Thanks for the idea.

    FYI, I shipped mine to them yesterday.
    So it is not in my possession anymore.
     
    ch4chi and Subtle Demise like this.
  4. Multimegamander

    Multimegamander GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    R.I.P anyone who updated a patched Switch
     
    Latyana and jimmyj like this.
  5. fst312

    fst312 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    850
    Country:
    United States
    Waiting for my jig, should get it by Monday, I have two switch’s at home, one that isn’t mine that was bought on launch month and one that is mine that was bought this month, thanks for this guide. The way I was going to test was trying to make a backup but this way seems to be the best way. If my switch is patched, I’m returning it.
     
    Last edited by fst312, Jul 20, 2018
  6. Elliott1986

    Elliott1986 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Is there any reason you have to inject the payload through command line? For some reason I couldn't get that to work so we just injected it through the TegraRcmGUI program itself, and a qr code came up on my switch. Just wanted to be sure since I couldn't confirm on command line.
     
    Lokipoki23 likes this.
  7. gnilwob

    OP gnilwob GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Command line is used since it offers a more detailed explanation on what is going on.
    But if you use GUI and it works(you can see QR code) then you have an unpatched unit.
     
    Elliott1986 likes this.
  8. Andalitez

    Andalitez GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    470
    Country:
    United States
    Nice guide. Glad I have an exploitable unit though. I just decided last month to get one.glad I did when I did
     
  9. meuhflo

    meuhflo Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    France
    Think mine is patched as it's brand new and as I get the 0X0000 answer

    I was just wondering if it might be my USB C to USB C cable not suitable for the process ?
     

    Attached Files:

    Jax_Ripper likes this.
  10. jamesq97

    jamesq97 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States

    looks patched. does noot look like a cable issue.
     
  11. fst312

    fst312 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    850
    Country:
    United States
    How long did it take for the qr code to appear. I’m also having trouble getting the command to work. Either my usb c isn’t that great or my switch is patched.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    is it normal that my usb says device not recognized, when I put it in the port, even though my switch still charges.
     
  12. gnilwob

    OP gnilwob GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Have you installed driver ?
     
  13. fst312

    fst312 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    850
    Country:
    United States
    Will test launch switch again, the driver is now installed but so far my new switch doesn’t load anything, not responding.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by fst312, Jul 24, 2018 - Reason: Posts keep merging
  14. magico29

    magico29 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Messages:
    1,236
    Country:
    United States
    you are missing the driver,looks like u installed the wrong one.
    also run tegraRCM b4 plug the switch to the pc.
    i got same problem with tegra,b4 ask always to install the drivers.use zadig 2.3 with tegrarcm open.
     
  15. wurstpistole

    wurstpistole GBAtemp MVP
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    Messages:
    4,351
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So if I just put my SX PRO dongle in the switch and it boots SX OS, I think that means unpatched.
     
  16. magico29

    magico29 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Messages:
    1,236
    Country:
    United States
    yes sir,if not then is patched.
     
  17. magico29
    This message by magico29 has been removed from public view by x65943, Jul 24, 2018, Reason: Dupe.
    Jul 24, 2018 Show
  18. wurstpistole

    wurstpistole GBAtemp MVP
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    Messages:
    4,351
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If the driver is installed correctly, and the Switch is in RCM mode, the Switch will show up in Windows device manager as APX device under an entry called libusbK. If it does, then it is in RCM and you can launch the payload. This is like instant.
     
  19. Andalitez

    Andalitez GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    470
    Country:
    United States
    Did you get a new Switch
     
  20. wurstpistole

    wurstpistole GBAtemp MVP
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    Messages:
    4,351
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's on the way to me. What alternative do I have, really...
     
  21. Andalitez

    Andalitez GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    470
    Country:
    United States
    Alright man. Good luck
     
  22. gamesquest1

    gamesquest1 Nabnut
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    15,028
    seems crazy they would patch the bootrom exploit and then still ship them with a hackable firmware version..Nintendo eh :rolleyes:

    I wonder when the first patched bootrom + 5.x consoles will be hitting the shelves
     
    yacepi15 and Subtle Demise like this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - definitive, (purchases, patched