1. Technicmaster0

    OP Technicmaster0 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4,198
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    It's required to short pin 10 (the lowest pin of the right joy con rail) to the ground in order to enter RCM. Ground can be found at pin 1 or 7 of the joy con rail, at the middle screw of the joy con rail or at the fan at the top of the switch.
    Currently I think that the best ways are to either use a paperclip or a 3D printed piece (from thingiverse) and a paper clip.
    You can also use these as inspiration and try to find another way that works best for you. An idea would be to stack cardboard and draw a conductive trace with a pencil on it, labo style ;)

    No soldering/ teardown/ 3D printer required

    Use a cable to bridge the connection between the 10th pin and a GROUND. It's the easiest to use the GND of the middle screw in the joy con rail or at the fan.
    Demonstration: https://gbatemp.net/threads/can-som...g-apart-the-joycon.501933/page-7#post-7934863
    You can also hot glue a jumper cable to touch specific pins: https://gbatemp.net/threads/can-som...-apart-the-joycon.501933/page-11#post-7935469
    Or bend a cable (but make sure not to touch any other contacts): https://gbatemp.net/threads/diy-joycon-pin-jumper-free-to-1.502139/
    Or use the pins from a SATA power cable: https://gbatemp.net/threads/my-sata-power-cable-rcm-jig.502363/
    Or bend alu foil (but make sure that it only touches pins 9 and 10, not 4!):

    Pros:
    -No hardmod required
    -Very cheap

    Cons:
    -Not permanent
    -Might take a few tries to get good contact at the joy con pins

    Bend a paperclip to make contact between pin 1 and pin 10.
    Demonstration: https://gbatemp.net/threads/paperclip-rcm-jig.502087/

    Pros:
    -No hardmod required
    -Very cheap

    Cons:
    -May have to rebend the paperclip

    You can use two screwdrivers to touch the first and the last pin. Make sure not to touch any other pin!
    Demonstration: https://gbatemp.net/threads/can-som...-apart-the-joycon.501933/page-10#post-7935356
    It can even be done with one screwdriver by shorting pin 9 and 10: https://gbatemp.net/threads/the-ultimate-list-of-mods-to-enter-rcm.502145/#post-7939355

    Pros:
    -No hardmod required

    Cons:
    -Requires two screwdrivers
    -may not be very relieable (depending on the size of the screwdrivers etc)

    Taken from briccmii: "Corrupts the first byte of every BCT's pubkey in BOOT0 so your Nintendo Switch always enters RCM mode".
    You need another JIG at least one time to install AutoRCM.
    There are two implementations:
    briccmii: https://switchtools.sshnuke.net/
    ipl: https://github.com/Reisyukaku/hekate/blob/master/ipl.bin?raw=true

    Refer to https://github.com/pixel-stuck/reboot_to_rcm for a guide

    Pros:
    -Very relieable
    -No hardware required

    Cons:
    -Only for switch consoles with 1.0.0

    3D printer required. No soldering/ teardown required

    3D print the model and follow the guide: https://github.com/fail0verflow/shofel2/tree/master/rcm-jig
    Demonstration: https://twitter.com/fail0verflow/status/988445232445378561

    Pros:
    -Pretty relieable
    -No hardmod required

    Cons:
    -Requires 3D printer + MicroUSB cable

    3D print the model and stick a paperclip into it. 3D model: https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2877484

    Pros:
    -More relieable then paperclip method
    -No hardmod required

    Cons:
    -Required 3D printer + paperclip

    Teardown required. No soldering/ 3d printer required

    Screw the joy con apart and bend contact 9 in the rail of the joy con to contact 10.
    Demonstration: https://twitter.com/ktemkin/status/988461301650280448

    Pros:
    -Cheapest way
    -pretty relieable (if done limited times)

    Cons:
    -Contact will bend itself back after a few uses
    -Contact 9 might break if done too often

    Teardown and soldering required. No 3d printer required

    Another way is to take the joy con apart and solder to the joy con contacts. You can solder a button/switch between the contacts to be able to disable the mod.
    Demonstration: https://gbatemp.net/threads/can-som...-apart-the-joycon.501933/page-10#post-7935275
    It might be prettier to solder to the test points and not to the connectors of the rail: https://gbatemp.net/threads/tutorial-how-to-test-fusee-gelee.501846/ (see the image)
    A really elegant solution is to solder a reed switch into the joy con, you can use a magnet to trigger rcm (magnethax 2.0 confirmed?): https://gbatemp.net/threads/the-ultimate-list-of-mods-to-enter-rcm.502145/page-4#post-7944986

    Pros:
    -Very relieable
    -Cannot be seen from the outside

    Cons:
    -Requires soldering

    Another option to solder to are the switch joy con rails: https://gbatemp.net/threads/the-ultimate-list-of-mods-to-enter-rcm.502145/#post-7939246
    You can also solder to the joy con PIN 10 and put the GND at one of the spots known for it: https://gbatemp.net/threads/the-ultimate-list-of-mods-to-enter-rcm.502145/page-2#post-7940243

    Pros:
    -"included" into the console

    Cons:
    -Not much space
    -Requires soldering & unscrewing a part of the switch
     
    Last edited by Technicmaster0, May 21, 2018
    kimbra, relauby, yiku_00 and 40 others like this.
  2. Kubas_inko

    Kubas_inko "Something funny goes here."
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    6,273
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Repair your cons in soldering method. The Switch will detect joy-con normally.
     
  3. Technicmaster0

    OP Technicmaster0 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4,198
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Huh? There are serveral reports that the joy cons get charged but not detected properly if line 10 is shorted to ground? Or did I understand something wrong?
     
  4. Kubas_inko

    Kubas_inko "Something funny goes here."
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    6,273
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    It is not confirmed, that it is caused by the pin being shorted to ground. More likely they screwed it somehow. I have it permanently solder on my joy-cons without any problem.
     
  5. Technicmaster0

    OP Technicmaster0 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4,198
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    I removed it from the list, but I'd be happy about reports from other users.
     
  6. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    I’d like to mention that I have found an alternative area on the joycon rails, reached by unscrewing the rail.

    It seems safer, and is less likely to damage the joycon rail pins.

    I’d just like to show this area because I ended up damaging the pins in my joycon rail with other popularized methods, and don’t want anyone else to have to order another rail lol.

    Thanks for the post.
     

    Attached Files:

    Technicmaster0 likes this.
  7. Milenko

    Milenko GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,031
    Country:
    Australia
    Is there more details about reboot to rcm for 1.0.0?
     
  8. ken28

    ken28 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,153
    Country:
    Germany
    using pin 1 or 2 instead of unscrewing or fiddeling with the placement in the fan is much more easier.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    https://gbatemp.net/threads/diy-joycon-pin-jumper-free-to-1.502139/
     
  9. rac

    rac Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United States
    is the software mod gonna come to 3.0.0 eventually? i think i would just wait for that as an inexperienced user
     
  10. kombos

    kombos GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    Ukraine
    It has been confirmed by more people than who says different :)
     
    Last edited by kombos, Apr 26, 2018
  11. Technicmaster0

    OP Technicmaster0 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4,198
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Yeah, it's the second post under the video guide that I linked. I thought that that would be enough to find it.
    And it's not hard to stick a wire into the fan or onto the screw that's there.

    I unscrewed the rail and teared the ribbon cable by accident. And there is not much space for cables (or a switch). But I will probably add it to the solder methods, thanks.

    There will be a softmod for 3.0.0 sooner or later, sure.
     
    rac likes this.
  12. Kubas_inko

    Kubas_inko "Something funny goes here."
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    6,273
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Then those more people somehow screwed it. Because soldering or bending has the same effect, people should report it when they just bend the pins. So it is not confirmed.
     
  13. Technicmaster0

    OP Technicmaster0 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4,198
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    And you are sure that you didn't count the wireless connection between the switch and the console as detected?

    It's probably related to https://gbatemp.net/threads/fusee-payloads-and-not-a-wire-in-sight-1-0-0-only.502103/
     
  14. Kubas_inko

    Kubas_inko "Something funny goes here."
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    6,273
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Pretty sure. It works the same as before, connected or bluetooth.
     
    Last edited by Kubas_inko, Apr 26, 2018
  15. Deathscreton

    Deathscreton GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    826
    Country:
    United States
    Go into Airplane mode and test it that way. Post a picture/video. Then no one can say shit unless they're trolling like a moron.
     
  16. kombos

    kombos GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Have you seen my mod ? ;-) It's totally fine and I didn't screw anything. On daily basis I'm prototyping SMD PCB's with my solder and soldering was clean. I even installed 2 position switch so I'm pretty sure I didn't screw anything ;-) It just works as expected when not grounded, and doesn't appear as attached when shorted. However I had to use PIN 1 & 10 rather than 9 & 10. For some reason shorting 9 & 10 wasn't working for me at all. Enough said, I'm not gonna convince anyone, I just want to recommend people not doing permanent mods for different reasons.
     
    aut0mat3d likes this.
  17. Kubas_inko

    Kubas_inko "Something funny goes here."
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    6,273
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Sure, here you go.
    http://imgur.com/gallery/iLGXjYk (one is 1.0.0, one is 4.1.0)

    That might be the problem. I used pin 9 and 10. And the image I and brycey have made shows pin 9 and 10 pads/test points, which works fine.
     
    Last edited by Kubas_inko, Apr 26, 2018
  18. Deathscreton

    Deathscreton GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    826
    Country:
    United States
    It's not about me being happy. I knew this was a non-issue, but SOME folks here are ready to butt heads simply for the hell of it. Pictures are the number one way to piss'em off and prove'em wrong all in one fell swoop. :creep:
     
    Kubas_inko likes this.
  19. Kubas_inko

    Kubas_inko "Something funny goes here."
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    6,273
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Sorry. Didn't understand your post at first (thats why I wrote "happy now?" :D )
     
    Deathscreton likes this.
  20. Soluble

    Soluble GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2017
    Messages:
    609
    Country:
    1 screwdriver shorting 9 and 10 does the trick for me.
     
    Technicmaster0 likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - ultimate, enter,