Hacking Super Mario Kart (snes)

Deleted member 194275

Edson Arantes do Nascimento
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Messages
2,685
Trophies
2
XP
4,351
Finally it is possible!!! Play Super Mario Kart on DSTWO!!!

I use the fallowing files:

SFC EMU v1.07 Unofficial - emulator
Super Mario Kart (U) [!].smc - rom name

Configurations:

Other:
CPU Frequence: 5
Video/Audio:
Sound Enable: Off
Graphic: Display Mode 2 (good for races, bad for menus, bad minimap)
Display Mode 0 (not so good for races, full menus, full minimap)

I've played 50cc mushroom cup with no problems at all (besides the lack of sound)

Edit: The auto save feature (present in the original game) works well
 

MasterPenguin

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2008
Messages
424
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
277
Country
Canada
Wait I fail
biggrin.gif
 

Recorderdude

Musician, Animator, Buffoon.
Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Messages
1,392
Trophies
0
Age
28
Website
Visit site
XP
272
Country
United States
Tanas said:
Dark Langin said:
Yes it works indeed ,good work sir!

Ill try Mario RPG, too bad! Not working
It does work, but speed wise I wouldnt exactly call it playable.

From a compatibility list on another site which I cannot mention, It gets a LOT faster after the sword falls for whatever reason.
 

cambridge_red

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 4, 2010
Messages
55
Trophies
0
XP
67
Country
Canada
Still reaaaaaalllly slow playing, not sure where I am going wrong with this. I am starting to lose hope and can't wait for the 3ds and some decent hardware..
 

BassAceGold

Testicles
Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Messages
496
Trophies
1
XP
441
Country
Canada
The trick to getting Mario Kart running at playable speeds is to disable audio before you get in a race, preferably at the title screen. I find if you disable audio in a race it still lags as if audio.
 

goncalodoom

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
420
Trophies
1
Age
32
Location
portugal
XP
1,151
Country
Portugal
BassAceGold said:
The trick to getting Mario Kart running at playable speeds is to disable audio before you get in a race, preferably at the title screen. I find if you disable audio in a race it still lags as if audio.
thank you so much for updating this emulator BassAceGold! its better than ever and i am able to play my favourite snes games without freezes and at full speed
 

Xarsah16

GBATemp's Official Village Dingus/Idiot
Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
722
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Hyrule
XP
450
Country
So if Mario Kart is working, does this mean other games with the advanced processor chip are working too? I'm specifically asking about Street Fighter II - The World Warrior. If you want to perform a test of that, if you could, that would be awesome!!
smile.gif
I want to know how it runs before I get a Supercard DSTwo. (I have an Acekard... I'd be investing in the supercard specifically for SFII.)
 

Xarsah16

GBATemp's Official Village Dingus/Idiot
Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
722
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Hyrule
XP
450
Country
Ahh, I thought they were the same in each game, stupid me
tongue.gif


If anyone can test SFII, though, that would be great. I tried it on SNESemulDS but it didn't run properly, obviously. I'm currently reduced to the mediocre GB port using Lameboy and I really love Street Fighter...

Also... in all these games, will the X+Y buttons on the DS function just like the X+Y buttons on the SNES controller in the emulator?
 

YayMii

hi
Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2009
Messages
4,916
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
that place
XP
758
Country
Canada
lacrymosa967 said:
Also... in all these games, will the X+Y buttons on the DS function just like the X+Y buttons on the SNES controller in the emulator?
Why would they not function as the X and Y buttons on the SNES controller?

SSF2T:HF and SSF2:TNC both work fine on the newest BAGSFC (unofficial DStwo SNES mod). Alpha 2 lags a lot though. Haven't tried the SF2:TWW though.
Correction: Street Fighter Alpha 2 doesn't lag if set to CPU frequency 5, sound off.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: @rvtr there is