Super Mario Kart (snes)

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by lokomelo, Nov 10, 2010.

Nov 10, 2010

Super Mario Kart (snes) by lokomelo at 6:57 PM (1,735 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. lokomelo
    OP

    Member lokomelo Edson Arantes do Nascimento

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    São Paulo
    Country:
    Brazil
    Finally it is possible!!! Play Super Mario Kart on DSTWO!!!

    I use the fallowing files:

    SFC EMU v1.07 Unofficial - emulator
    Super Mario Kart (U) [!].smc - rom name

    Configurations:

    Other:
    CPU Frequence: 5
    Video/Audio:
    Sound Enable: Off
    Graphic: Display Mode 2 (good for races, bad for menus, bad minimap)
    Display Mode 0 (not so good for races, full menus, full minimap)

    I've played 50cc mushroom cup with no problems at all (besides the lack of sound)

    Edit: The auto save feature (present in the original game) works well
     
  2. MasterPenguin

    Member MasterPenguin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    Canada
    Wait I fail [​IMG]
     
  3. Langin

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes it works indeed ,good work sir!

    Ill try Mario RPG, too bad! Not working
     
  4. lokomelo
    OP

    Member lokomelo Edson Arantes do Nascimento

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    São Paulo
    Country:
    Brazil
    The work is not mine... I just read GBATemp Review... there's a lot of usefull information there...
     
  5. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It does work, but speed wise I wouldnt exactly call it playable.
     
  6. Recorderdude

    Member Recorderdude Musician, Animator, Buffoon.

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,392
    Country:
    United States
    From a compatibility list on another site which I cannot mention, It gets a LOT faster after the sword falls for whatever reason.
     
  7. I am r4ymond

    Member I am r4ymond PFE

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,703
    Location:
    Ionia
    Country:
    United States
  8. cambridge_red

    Newcomer cambridge_red Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Canada
    Still reaaaaaalllly slow playing, not sure where I am going wrong with this. I am starting to lose hope and can't wait for the 3ds and some decent hardware..
     
  9. BassAceGold

    Member BassAceGold Testicles

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    494
    Country:
    Canada
    The trick to getting Mario Kart running at playable speeds is to disable audio before you get in a race, preferably at the title screen. I find if you disable audio in a race it still lags as if audio.
     
  10. goncalodoom

    Member goncalodoom GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Location:
    portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    thank you so much for updating this emulator BassAceGold! its better than ever and i am able to play my favourite snes games without freezes and at full speed
     
  11. Xarsah16

    Member Xarsah16 GBATemp's Official Village Dingus/Idiot

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    722
    Location:
    Hyrule
    Country:
    So if Mario Kart is working, does this mean other games with the advanced processor chip are working too? I'm specifically asking about Street Fighter II - The World Warrior. If you want to perform a test of that, if you could, that would be awesome!! [​IMG] I want to know how it runs before I get a Supercard DSTwo. (I have an Acekard... I'd be investing in the supercard specifically for SFII.)
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Different enhancement chips work differently... the one in Mario Kart's so... "unspecial" that many people don't even realize it has one.
     
  13. Xarsah16

    Member Xarsah16 GBATemp's Official Village Dingus/Idiot

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    722
    Location:
    Hyrule
    Country:
    Ahh, I thought they were the same in each game, stupid me [​IMG]

    If anyone can test SFII, though, that would be great. I tried it on SNESemulDS but it didn't run properly, obviously. I'm currently reduced to the mediocre GB port using Lameboy and I really love Street Fighter...

    Also... in all these games, will the X+Y buttons on the DS function just like the X+Y buttons on the SNES controller in the emulator?
     
  14. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Why would they not function as the X and Y buttons on the SNES controller?

    SSF2T:HF and SSF2:TNC both work fine on the newest BAGSFC (unofficial DStwo SNES mod). Alpha 2 lags a lot though. Haven't tried the SF2:TWW though.
    Correction: Street Fighter Alpha 2 doesn't lag if set to CPU frequency 5, sound off.
     

Share This Page