Shoutbox discrepancy

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by ProtoKun7, Dec 9, 2009.

  1. ProtoKun7
    OP

    ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Global Moderator
    7,516
    1,556
    Jan 3, 2009
    Gallifrey
    I was talking to deanxxczx earlier, and I posted [​IMG][​IMG] in the popped up shoutbox (in a new window), and in the embedded shoutbox on the portal, it shows the text itself, just
    Code:
    :dry::dry:
    The same thing happened a while ago with the [​IMG] emote.


    I posted another bug not even two weeks before this, be careful or I'll undermine the entire site [​IMG]


    EDIT: And another one (already), I spoke to MegaAce the other day too, I messed around with the filter for fuzzy kittens, and it appeared as "fuzzy kittens" on my windows, but still showed the L word for MegaAce, which he screencapped and showed me; again, in the shoutbox.
     
  2. DeMoN

    DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    7,651
    102
    May 12, 2004
    United States
    I think it could be because you didn't include a space in between them.
     
  3. ProtoKun7
    OP

    ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Global Moderator
    7,516
    1,556
    Jan 3, 2009
    Gallifrey
    Wasn't that, because not including the space on normal forum posts has no effect:


    [​IMG] [​IMG] (space)
    [​IMG][​IMG] (no space)


    Plus, the same thing happened with [​IMG] when there was only the one emote, and nothing else that could've distorted it.

    The [​IMG][​IMG] appeared perfectly normally in the separate shoutbox I posted them in, but not in the embedded one. I think if I post in the embedded shoutbox and then look at the separate one, they both appear normal.
     
  4. ProtoKun7
    OP

    ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Global Moderator
    7,516
    1,556
    Jan 3, 2009
    Gallifrey
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Still happening; I posted the [​IMG] in the separate shoutbox; appears as text in the embedded one.
     
  5. dice

    dice pansy-ass ex-staff member

    Former Staff
    9,554
    115
    Oct 26, 2002
    England
    It seems to be happening when you submit in the pop up shoutbox (only)...
     
  6. ProtoKun7
    OP

    ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Global Moderator
    7,516
    1,556
    Jan 3, 2009
    Gallifrey
    Exactly, shouting in the embedded box displays the emote in both boxes, but not shouting in the other.
     
  7. outgum

    outgum Pokemanz Master

    Member
    1,993
    27
    Sep 22, 2009
    New Zealand
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    .....since when did we have a shoutbox? and why cant i get into it? XD
     
  8. Raika

    Raika uguu

    Member
    4,866
    10
    Sep 15, 2008
    uguu
    It's at the front page. [​IMG] Check your board settings, you might have disabled it by accident.
     
  9. blainy

    blainy GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    381
    1
    Nov 1, 2008
    australia

    it is disabled by default isnt it?? also, you must be at a certain user level, IIRC..
     
  10. Raika

    Raika uguu

    Member
    4,866
    10
    Sep 15, 2008
    uguu
    You only need 100 posts to view the shoutbox.
     
  11. ProtoKun7
    OP

    ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Global Moderator
    7,516
    1,556
    Jan 3, 2009
    Gallifrey
    Yeah, outgum has more posts that me and he joined 8 months later [​IMG]

    If I can access the shoutbox, so can he.

    I think you needed to disable and re-enable it to see it properly.