Question about DSi vs DS GBA capabilities

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Searinox, Oct 25, 2010.

Oct 25, 2010
  1. Searinox
    OP

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    I was just looking at this list and something occurred to me. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nintendo_3DS#3DS_vs_DS_Series The DSi has 133 Mhz on one of its CPU, double that of DS Lite and DS' 67 Mhz. As I've seen, it is possible to emulate GBA with a flashcart like iPlayer or DSTWO thanks to the extra CPU power.

    As far as I know no flashcart or homebrew can use the DSi's extra features, including the extra 66Mhz processing power. But if they did, wouldn't it be possible to emulate GBA without the need of an onboard flashcart CPU?
     
  2. stylow

    Member stylow GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I think that it can emulate because it has 16 mb ram.
    The psp has 32 mb ram and it can emulate the ds.
    So why it can't emulate i don't know [​IMG]
     
  3. naved.islam14

    Member naved.islam14 Gbatemp's Official Dark Knightâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Gotham
    Country:
    Sri Lanka
    Maybe, if we could it would be awesome (but not for the Super Card Team).
     
  4. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    It MAY be possible (and I have asked the same thing, but people jump and say "NO!!!!" without even bother to read the question).
    From what I'm to understand, the SuperCard DSTwo has two CPUs that match the DS', which to my understanding multi-core or multi-processor speed is NOT additive (i.e. NOT 66MHz + 66MHz = 132MHz) and ends up being lower (i.e. 66MHz + 66MHz is closer to a single 100MHz CPU).
    That said I think it would be likely that it's possible, but the problem would be finding a way to code or port the GBA emulator to the DSi and finding a way to get it to run -- currently there is a limit to how much code can be injected (61KB) which limits the usability of the hack.
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    If it'd happen, then it'd remove the input lag, at least.
     

Share This Page