Problem with 3-in-1

Discussion in 'DSTT' started by GodMedia, Feb 4, 2008.

Feb 4, 2008

Problem with 3-in-1 by GodMedia at 4:00 AM (1,251 Views / 0 Likes) 2 replies

  1. GodMedia
    OP

    Newcomer GodMedia Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    Using:

    NDSL - Original condition
    DSTT - firmware v1.08
    Ewin EZ 3-in-1 Expansion Pack
    Rudolph's 3in1 Expansion Pack Tool v1.9d

    Problem:

    Every game I load returns the same error: "SRAM save data not found Can't backup to SAV file (A): Confirm"


    I have played up to a save point on Metroid Fusion, Metroid Zero Mission, Star Wars Trilogy - Apprentice of the Force, Super Street Fighter II X Revival, and Metal Slug Advance all in PSRAM Mode. After resetting the DS and going back to a game, I get the same error message. Once the game is started, there is no save data, as if I had never saved at all in the first place.

    I have patched a number of these games with GBATA's SRAM Patcher, but get the same results.

    In case it matters, I have set up the SoftReset.TTIO file and set the 3in1 .nds file soft reset to "ON." Other than the save problem, everything I've played on the 3-in-1 works flawlessly. I can also use the rumble perfectly, as well as use the RAM expansion with the Opera Browser (E).
     
  2. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    The 3in1 ExpPack Tool keeps its info about which games the current saves go with in a certain part of the SRAM. If that info is missing when you start the 3in1 ExpPack Tool, you get that error. It simply means that the program doesn't know which file to write the current save data to.

    It's most likely caused by a dead SRAM battery. You could test it by writing a game to NOR, then using the 3-in-1 like a normal GBA game pak (i.e. take out the slot 1 cart and start the 3-in-1 from the DS menu). You must SRAM patch the game unless it already uses an SRAM save type.

    If the game loses it's saves when you turn the power off even when the slot 1 cart isn't plugged in, it's definitely a problem with the 3-in-1.
     
  3. GodMedia
    OP

    Newcomer GodMedia Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    Yep, tried it like you suggested and the save still gets lost. I'll have to take it back to my retailer later this week.

    Thank you so much for the help!
     

Share This Page