Hardware PicoFly or PicoCra*?

Paffo

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Italy
Hello,
i am an experienced electronic technician and spent many years doing microsoldering for work and pleasure.
I was lucky enough to get an unpatched Erista back in 2018 and it has been working flawlessly with AMS ever since.
A friend of mine recently got what before was called a V2 (is it just a patched Erista or is it a Mariko?) and he's asking me to mod it.
As i never had the need, i am very much out of the loop when it comes to modchipping the switch and there are so many conflicting info here that i am pretty much confused.
Is that Waveshare's RPI2040 still the best choice?
Should i rather opt for one of those PCB-ready ones? (something like this )

This friend little tech knowledge, so ideally it would be something easy to use/update after the first setup (we live very far away) or that i can update via a teamviewer or smth.

Could anyone please provide the latest and bestest info regarding this?

Thanks

linuxares

The inadequate, autocratic beast!
Global Moderator
Trophies
XP
Country
Sweden
1709154380841.png

But I think honestly the RP2040 option is the best.

Here is a helpful guide with a range of chips even
https://gbatemp.net/download/a-definitive-picofly-install-guide.37968/

deeps

Trophies
XP
Country
get an rp2040-zero or rp2040-tiny and make sure to have 100/100/47 ohm resistance on dat0/cmd/clk. works perfectly every time. the pcb-ready china clones are garbage. Picofly itself is feature complete and does not need updating - the software on the SD card however (atmosphere, hekate, sigpatches, nintendo-firmware) might.
v2 is a mariko.

Paffo

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Italy