Hacking Pasta CFW - A CFW that allows unsigned CIA to be installed on Old and New 3DS! (required ninjhax)

Status
Not open for further replies.

pakrett

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2015
Messages
1,519
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,351
Country
France
That's the clarification I was looking for.

EDIT: Any ideas on when I will be able to download the firm.bin on my Mac?

I could share mine if you want but not on gbatemp... Or ou can install a virtual machine of xp/7/8 even ubuntu or another linux distro just to have this nearly 1MB file ^^
 

nastys

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2014
Messages
1,732
Trophies
1
Age
26
Location
Earth
XP
1,816
Country
Italy
What's the word on the Mac Companion app? When will I be able to download the firm.bin file?
Still working on it, it's very complicated :O
I'm stuck in PART 3. I'm trying to use TinyAES to decrypt file3 with the xorred key...
Code:
            byte[] file3_dec=AES_Decrypt(file3_array, key);
Then I'll have to port this looong piece of code:
Code:
//----------------------- PART 4: EXEFS ------------------------------
  textBox3.AppendText("Getting EXEFS info");
  textBox3.AppendText(Environment.NewLine);

  byte[] EXEFS_offset_array = new byte[4];
  EXEFS_offset_array[0] = file3_dec[0x1A3];
  EXEFS_offset_array[1] = file3_dec[0x1A2];
  EXEFS_offset_array[2] = file3_dec[0x1A1];
  EXEFS_offset_array[3] = file3_dec[0x1A0];
  var EXEFS_offset = EXEFS_offset_array[0] << 8 | EXEFS_offset_array[1]; //TODO: DO THIS BETTER
  EXEFS_offset = EXEFS_offset << 8 | EXEFS_offset_array[2];
  EXEFS_offset = EXEFS_offset << 8 | EXEFS_offset_array[3];
  EXEFS_offset *= 0x200;

  byte[] EXEFS_size_array = new byte[4];
  EXEFS_size_array[0] = file3_dec[0x1A7];
  EXEFS_size_array[1] = file3_dec[0x1A6];
  EXEFS_size_array[2] = file3_dec[0x1A5];
  EXEFS_size_array[3] = file3_dec[0x1A4];
  var EXEFS_size = EXEFS_size_array[0] << 8 | EXEFS_size_array[1]; //TODO: DO THIS BETTER
  EXEFS_size = EXEFS_size << 8 | EXEFS_size_array[2];
  EXEFS_size = EXEFS_size << 8 | EXEFS_size_array[3];
  EXEFS_size *= 0x200;

  progressBar1.Value = 70;
  //-------------------------- PART 5: FIRM --------------------------
  textBox3.AppendText("Extracting EXEFS");
  textBox3.AppendText(Environment.NewLine);

  byte[] file2_array = new byte[EXEFS_size];
  FileStream file2_stream = new FileStream("file2.bin", FileMode.Open);
  file2_stream.Seek(0, SeekOrigin.Begin);
  file2_stream.Read(file2_array, 0, EXEFS_size);

  byte[] firm = new byte[EXEFS_size];
  for (int i = 0; i < EXEFS_size; i++)
  {
  firm[i] = (byte)(file2_array[i] ^ file3_dec[EXEFS_offset+i]);
  }
  progressBar1.Value = 90;

  textBox3.AppendText("Saving the FIRM.bin");
  textBox3.AppendText(Environment.NewLine);

  FileStream firm_writer = new FileStream(comboBox1.SelectedItem + "3ds/PastaCFW/firm.bin", FileMode.Create);
  for (int i = 0; i < EXEFS_size-0x200; i++)
  {
  firm_writer.WriteByte(firm[0x200 + i]);
  }
  firm_writer.Close();

  file4_stream.Close();
  file2_stream.Close();
  file1_stream.Close();

  File.Delete("file1.bin");
  File.Delete("file2.bin");
  File.Delete("file3.bin");
  File.Delete("file4.bin");
So it may take a while.

even ubuntu or another linux distro just to have this nearly 1MB file ^^
The Mac and Linux versions are based on the same code...
 

ccfman2004

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2008
Messages
2,865
Trophies
2
XP
3,312
Country
United States
I could share mine if you want but not on gbatemp... Or ou can install a virtual machine of xp/7/8 even ubuntu or another linux distro just to have this nearly 1MB file ^^
Can you give me the MD5 or SHA1 of the firm.bin? I want to try something.
 

capito27

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2015
Messages
874
Trophies
0
XP
1,230
Country
Swaziland
Can you give me the MD5 or SHA1 of the firm.bin? I want to try something.
you won't be able to generate it without the PC companion, it is a complicated process that will give you a special firm.bin that is different from RxTools or cakeFW

Edit : but note that our firm.bin is generic on O3DS and N3DS : you can share the file (not in here though), and it will work
 

dkabot

Better With Others' Systems Than Their Own
Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2014
Messages
1,042
Trophies
0
XP
627
Country
United States
Pasta CFW 1.3 Beta 5.1
Changelog:
-Hold R during pasta boot to temporarly invert the firmlaunch settings (if firmlaunch is enabled by default, it will disable it, and the other way around as well.)

Download
Compiled: check first post
Source: https://github.com/capito27/Pasta-CFW
Does the logic of how this works mean you could enter the menu and hold "R" while choosing "Give me some Pasta" to do the same? (As opposed to it only working with the menu off/"L" not held)
Minor thing, but wondering.
 

nastys

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2014
Messages
1,732
Trophies
1
Age
26
Location
Earth
XP
1,816
Country
Italy
Can you give me the MD5 or SHA1 of the firm.bin? I want to try something.
If you can't wait, install Mono in Wine and run the Windows app. You won't able to change Pasta's configuration but you will be able to download firm.bin just fine.
 

ccfman2004

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2008
Messages
2,865
Trophies
2
XP
3,312
Country
United States
you won't be able to generate it without the PC companion, it is a complicated process that will give you a special firm.bin that is different from RxTools or cakeFW

Edit : but note that our firm.bin is generic on O3DS and N3DS : you can share the file (not in here though), and it will work
That's why I wanted the MD5 or SHA1 so I could try something.
 

capito27

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2015
Messages
874
Trophies
0
XP
1,230
Country
Swaziland
you won't be able to generate it without the PC companion, it is a complicated process that will give you a special firm.bin that is different from RxTools or cakeFW
Does the logic of how this works mean you could enter the menu and hold "R" while choosing "Give me some Pasta" to do the same? (As opposed to it only working with the menu off/"L" not held)
Minor thing, but wondering.
nope, that doesn't work that way, just go to the setting once in UI, you lazy F**K :P (the last part of the comment is obviously sarcasm)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://youtu.be/OUPRttnIyio?si=bm-9qNqiusvshBAz