Note taking on Acekard2 w/AKAIO

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by CoconutCake, Jan 24, 2009.

Jan 24, 2009
  1. CoconutCake
    OP

    Member CoconutCake GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    I tried DSorganize just now and it corrupted my sd card! Now I'm reformatting it (luckily I lost nothing important and had backups). So now I'm afraid to use it anymore even tho it seemed good.

    All I want is to take simple text notes and save them. What's a decent homebrew that won't corrupt my card?

    I'm using AKAIO 1.3 Final, AK2 on DS Lite, Transcend 8GB Class 6 MSDHC.
     
  2. ShAdOwFuRi

    Member ShAdOwFuRi GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    Australia
    If you're really that interested in having PDA functions you should have got the M3 Real =P
     
  3. CoconutCake
    OP

    Member CoconutCake GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    Actually you just reminded me, I have a G6 slot 2 cart and it has PDA stuff too. I never tried it. Maybe I will. Thanks for reminding me.

    But I'd rather have something to run on my AK2. Just a simple notepad that is reliable/safe.

    Shame about DSorganize. Can't afford to have my card corrupted just for notes. I have a paper notepad that works fine. Heh. [​IMG]
     
  4. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Which version of DSOrganize are you using? The latest version was released before it was completed because the author abandoned the project. You should always use the previous release, 3.1129 which is much more stable. I've never had a problem with it.

    -BRi
     
  5. CoconutCake
    OP

    Member CoconutCake GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks Bri.

    Can you confirm you used that version yourself with no card corruptions with AK2 + AKAIO? I just really don't want that to happen again.
     
  6. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,261
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    You could try DSNotes for simple note taking
     
  7. evilhomura89

    Member evilhomura89 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    Malaysia
    phew...luckily i saw this
    i almost used DSorganize but no time to dload it yt...and i don't have any game save backup
     
  8. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i've used it many times to take notes when i'm out and about. there is also WordDS. if you have a slot2 there are a few gba apps you can use.

    -another world
     
  9. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,261
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    DSO is one of my fav apps, as buggy as it may be. Its got sooo many different things you can do with it.
    Nowadays I mostly use it to play mp3s (it even recognizes playlists), and for listening to internet radio.
    I've even got Winamp set up to stream what ive got playing on my computer over to DSOrganize, so I can play audio straight from my PC on my DS, which is pretty amazing stuff!
    Like Bri said, just be sure to use 3.1129 because its the most stable version.



    but yeah, for quick notes try the DSNotes or WordDS
     
  10. CoconutCake
    OP

    Member CoconutCake GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, I'll check them out.
     
  11. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    really? i need to give that a try.

    -another world
     
  12. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,261
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, yeahs=) Here's the link to the tutorial I used on how to set up a winamp shoutcast server that'll broadcast to yer DSO.
     

Share This Page