Hacking Nintendont

Silix

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
56
XP
44
Country
Italy
If somebody can send me some links to freeware software needed to compile the source code on a windows machine I could try to investigate the problem (I have a Wii with Hollywood 0x21) as soon as I have some spare time (I studied some things on C programming more than 25 years ago, so I'm not sure to be able to make it work).
I hope to discover, if possible, which subroutine is responsible to the loss of video signal.
Thank you in advance.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ALSINJAN

crediar

Possiblenator
Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2006
Messages
342
Trophies
2
XP
2,565
Country
Antarctica
You sound like you know the fix?
maybe changing the HWAccess_ESPatch to smaller range will fix it?
(can't test anything just changed it by hand)

Code:
const unsigned char HWAccess_ESPatch[] =
{
  0x0D, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
  0x0D, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
  0x00, 0x8D, 0x00, 0x00,
  0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x0F,
  0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x03,
  0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
  0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x02,
};
 

naxil

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
846
Trophies
1
XP
665
Country
Italy
You sound like you know the fix?
maybe changing the HWAccess_ESPatch to smaller range will fix it?
(can't test anything just changed it by hand)

Code:
const unsigned char HWAccess_ESPatch[] =
{
  0x0D, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
  0x0D, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
  0x00, 0x8D, 0x00, 0x00,
  0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x0F,
  0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x03,
  0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
  0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x02,
};
CREDIAR!!! HERO!!!!!! how are u man??? is long time i not see u.. do u have some info about hollywood 0x21??? not exist a good documentation, and only nintendont do that problem on blackwii/wii family... thank u verymuch for your post!!!
 

JnL_SSBM

Experienced
Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2014
Messages
469
Trophies
0
Location
Donna, TX
XP
213
Country
United States
CREDIAR!!! HERO!!!!!! how are u man??? is long time i not see u.. do u have some info about hollywood 0x21??? not exist a good documentation, and only nintendont do that problem on blackwii/wii family... thank u verymuch for your post!!!
calm down dude!!!! e.e

maybe r51 it will up soon... well, crediar knows :lol:
 

faku1810

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
893
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
328
Country
Argentina
You sound like you know the fix?
maybe changing the HWAccess_ESPatch to smaller range will fix it?
(can't test anything just changed it by hand)

Code:
const unsigned char HWAccess_ESPatch[] =
{
  0x0D, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
  0x0D, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
  0x00, 0x8D, 0x00, 0x00,
  0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x0F,
  0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x03,
  0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
  0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x02,
};

I compiled nintendont after changing that in patches.c in the sources for the loader; and now it gets stuck in the error screen that shows loading patched kernel -1 and the kernel failed to load errors (before it was impossible to read the error because you lost signal immediately). I'm not sure how positive it is but it's a change nevertheless, thanks crediar.
 

Silix

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
56
XP
44
Country
Italy
Hint: HWAccess_ESPatch ...

If the problem is where you suggested then WiiU consoles (which are equipped with Hollywood 0x21) could work fine because the code for them is slightly different as shown below:

if( memcmp( NKernel+i, HWAccess_ES, sizeof(HWAccess_ES) ) == 0 )
{
#ifdef DEBUG_MODULE_PATCH
gprintf("Found HWAccess_ES at %08X\n", i );
#endif
memcpy( NKernel+i, HWAccess_ESPatch, sizeof( HWAccess_ESPatch ) );
PatchCount |= 4;
}

if( IsWiiU() )
{
if( PatchCount == 4 )
break;
} else {
if( PatchCount == 7 )
break;
}
}
}
 

gamer765

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2012
Messages
208
Trophies
1
Age
32
XP
1,069
Country
United States

faku1810

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
893
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
328
Country
Argentina
Yeah, it's in the bottom port, and works perfectly fine with LoaderGX set to read Usb port 0; also Nintendont finds the games without any problem. I've tried Wind Waker PAL and Twilight Princess, but the error is there. I don't think it's a problem with the isos though. But if anyone else has a Family Edition Wii they can test too.
 

Silix

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
56
XP
44
Country
Italy
Tested right now the "Crediar fix" linked by naxil: no more video shutdown but the "kernel -1" error is still here (with 11 "KERNEL FAILED TO LOAD! Shutting down" messages) even if this time i can read the errors without need to record the screen.
 

faku1810

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
893
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
328
Country
Argentina
I don't know if it's allowed to attach files here, but if it's not, tell me and I'll upload to mediafire or something. This one has all of crediar's suggestions (that includes removing the error messages)
 

SPIRE Florian

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 11, 2014
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Nice, France
XP
51
Country
France
Hello,

Sorry for my english.
I'm french and I want play at my game in french. I can read on the wiki of Nintendont :
"Region - Enter "USA," "JAP," or "EUR", or specific county code "FRN", "GER", "SPN", "ITL" "DUT" or "AUS". Do NOT change the region of an existing game entry. When there is a special release for a specific country, enter an appropriate abbreviation."
And :
"Template to add a new entry
{{ NIN| name = game_name | region = USA/JAP/EUR | sound = Works/Issues/Doesn't Work | dsp = vxx | ver = r5 | status = Works/Issues/Doesn't Work | comp = yes/issues/no | size = | mcemu = yes/issues/no | wide = yes/issues/no | 480P = yes/issues/no | fst = yes/issues/no | notes = }}"



But I didn't understand how add this template.

Thanks you :) ,
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    SylverReZ @ SylverReZ: https://www.youtube.com/shorts/T78NsMwZOA0