Homebrew WIP melonDS for Switch

Hydr8gon

Dragon Trainer
OP
Developer
Joined
Dec 15, 2014
Messages
307
Trophies
1
Website
hydr8gon.github.io
XP
2,305
Country
Canada
melonDS for Switch

This is my port of the Nintendo DS emulator melonDS for the Nintendo Switch. To use it, place your legally dumped Nintendo DS BIOS files in the sdmc:/switch/melonds directory with the names "bios7.bin", bios9.bin", and "firmware.bin".

The emulator does have a hardware renderer, but it is currently broken on the Switch and in most cases actually runs slower than the software renderer. To get better performance, there is an option to enable overclocking of the Switch processor, with a maximum frequency of 1785 MHz. However, even with this, most games will not reach full speed!

Huge thanks to @StapleButter (Arisotura) for developing the core melonDS project and for just being a cool gal in general! :)

My releases are available on GitHub or on the GBAtemp download center. Source code is available as well. However, @catlover007 has released a build with an ARM64 JIT, resulting in much better performance. It is recommended to use this build instead; find it here.

If you'd prefer to launch directly from the home screen, an optional .nsp forwarder by @OkazakiTheOtaku is attached. You'll still need the .nro in place to use it!

Screenshots:

2018121311004400-DB1426D1DFD034027CECDE9C2DD914B8.jpg 2018121310591500-DB1426D1DFD034027CECDE9C2DD914B8.jpg 2018121311023500-DB1426D1DFD034027CECDE9C2DD914B8.jpg

Gameplay video courtesy of @grabman (old version):

Check out the official melonDS website!
 

Attachments

  • MelonDS_05BDD6EBDC680000.nsp.zip
    345.7 KB · Views: 4,820
Last edited by Hydr8gon,

Billy Acuña

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2015
Messages
3,124
Trophies
1
Age
28
XP
3,566
Country
Mexico
Hope this goes somewhere, melonDS is very future-proof AND alreally surpased desmume in accuracy, but it fails on the lack on hw rendering, hope Staple gets it soon.

Enviado desde mi LG-X240 mediante Tapatalk
 
  • Like
Reactions: -----a

Hydr8gon

Dragon Trainer
OP
Developer
Joined
Dec 15, 2014
Messages
307
Trophies
1
Website
hydr8gon.github.io
XP
2,305
Country
Canada
Loading any ROM simply crashes my console. Firmware 4.1.0
That's weird. Do you have BIOS files in the melonds folder with the correct filenames? Not sure why it's crashing though, it should be bringing up a message saying the files are missing and then stopping...

Edit: I fixed the crash when an error occurs when attempting to launch a ROM. It should now properly display a message telling you that either the BIOS can't be found or the ROM can't be loaded. I updated the build for the initial release.
 
Last edited by Hydr8gon,

OkazakiTheOtaku

no thanks, I don't want a custom title
Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2016
Messages
1,438
Trophies
1
Location
127.0.0.1
XP
2,957
Country
Japan
That's weird. Do you have BIOS files in the melonds folder with the correct filenames? Not sure why it's crashing though, it should be bringing up a message saying the files are missing and then stopping...

Edit: I fixed the crash when an error occurs when attempting to launch a ROM. It should now properly display a message telling you that either the BIOS can't be found or the ROM can't be loaded. I updated the build for the initial release.
Hmm, I verified my bios with an MD5 hash. I wonder if it corrupted when I FTP'd it over. I'll try again.
 

Hydr8gon

Dragon Trainer
OP
Developer
Joined
Dec 15, 2014
Messages
307
Trophies
1
Website
hydr8gon.github.io
XP
2,305
Country
Canada
Hmm, I verified my bios with an MD5 hash. I wonder if it corrupted when I FTP'd it over. I'll try again.
Try redownloading melonDS too to get the updated build. It'll tell you whether the problem is with the BIOS or the ROM. And make sure the BIOS are named exactly how melonDS wants them: bios7.bin, bios9.bin, and firmware.bin.
 

Fadi5555

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2018
Messages
388
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,490
Country
United States
Sounds amazing.
I hope we can run ds games on full landscape mode with tiny square on upper left or right or completely fullscreen without second screen like (Drastic DS).

Here’s an image to get my point:
 

Attachments

  • 588B7246-4586-422E-8615-5D76691E487E.png
    588B7246-4586-422E-8615-5D76691E487E.png
    263 KB · Views: 2,076
Last edited by Fadi5555,

Wombleton

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
55
Trophies
0
XP
454
thank you for this, tested a handful of games this morning and everything seems to load, managed to play a very slow 200 line marathon on Tetris DS, looking forward to improvements. Keep up the good work
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Veho @ Veho: Or not.