1. catlover007

    catlover007 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    609
    Country:
    Germany
    8BitWonder likes this.
  2. Latyana

    Latyana GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    United States
    im honestly conused by what it means by >> "bios7.bin", bios9.bin", and "firmware.bin".
     
  3. arianadark

    arianadark GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    714
    Country:
    United States
    It means you need the ds bios
     
  4. TimeDevouncer

    TimeDevouncer GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2018
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    Spain
    These are the bios bios files, search with google to find them and use the newest release posted in the catlover thread.
     
    Last edited by TimeDevouncer, Aug 15, 2020
  5. shouldiluvu

    shouldiluvu Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Singapore
    This guy also says it works. So I am very confused whether it works or not.
     
  6. sorabora

    sorabora GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United States
    It does. Like many apps, however, devs do not support issues reported for various reasons. Which is totally fine. It's their project(s).
     
  7. Ace88

    Ace88 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    Germany
    Is there any was to set the laguage to German or french, when i Play an EU Rom? The default is english.

    And.another unrelated question: how is the Performance of the stand alone MelonDS version in comparison to retroarch in Terms of the zelda games?
     
    Last edited by Ace88, Oct 29, 2020
  8. catlover007

    catlover007 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    609
    Country:
    Germany
    developement continued here: https://gbatemp.net/threads/melonds-for-switch-continuation.570021/

    for the first question see the FAQ
    Zelda games currently still need cpu overclocking. In the latest version there's a bug where Spirit Tracks crashes while fastmem is enabled. THere's also an audio bug in Phantom Hourglass. The libretro core lags one version behind so it isn't up to date to all optimisations from the last version.
     
  9. Ace88

    Ace88 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    Germany
    On retroarch i use maximum oc. The gameplay is quite fluent with almost stable 60fps. Cutszenes however drop to 40 fps. Is this known, or might my settings be not optimized?
     
  10. catlover007

    catlover007 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    609
    Country:
    Germany
    nothing you can do
     
    Ace88 likes this.
  11. Ace88

    Ace88 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    Germany
    ok, thank you.

    Do you think this might change in the future?
     
  12. catlover007

    catlover007 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    609
    Country:
    Germany
    once I get to finally write an optimised 3d rasteriser, yes
     
    Ace88 likes this.
  13. Syph

    Syph Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2018
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    I'm trying to use the libretro core but whenever I attempt to run Chrono Trigger DS atmosphere crashes.

    Error code: 2162-0002
    Program: 0100000000000012
    Firmware: 11.0.1

    I'm launching it by holding R for full RAM access. I deleted all my configs incase I changed something which is causing it, but that hasn't fixed anything. The same file launches fine with the DesMuMe core so it isn't the rom itself either.

    Any ideas?
     
  14. Zukov

    Zukov Dinosaur
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    318
    Country:
    Chile
    bios files in place?
     
  15. Tomoire127

    Tomoire127 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2020
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Hello! Hope this thread is still being checked on occasion. So I've got MelonDS running on the Switch almost perfectly. Games are smooth, bios' are fine. But I'm running into an issue with game audio. All the games I run have really really quiet audio for whatever reason, and can only be heard at max volume with headphones.
    Edit: Going to post on the other forum, didn't see the earlier post. Sorry! (After checking the forum, I think this is an audio problem with some games for version 4 of Melon DS.)
     
    Last edited by Tomoire127, Jan 18, 2021
  16. notrea11y

    notrea11y GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2019
    Messages:
    266
    Country:
    Germany
    Ok, r5.

    I'll now award this one the "Best Emulator on Switch" award.

    Fullscreen, Savestates, Clean and stable.

    <3 it.

    Thanks :)
     
    sorabora likes this.
  17. SilentOne1994

    SilentOne1994 SilentOne2k94
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Messages:
    392
    Country:
    Australia
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - melonDS, Switch,