Hacking M3DS Real GUI Font

BinarySoup

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
84
Trophies
0
XP
208
Country
I like many before me am not too impressed by the typewriter serif font used for all the interface.

I've discovered that changing the language to any other (that uses the Roman alphabet) will change the font to a much nicer sans-serif!!.

This means it must be possible, and hopefully easy, to get the nice font in English.
smile.gif


So does the font exist in the language files (called menu.eng for example) or is it simply selected here and stored elsewhere?


Another discovery I've made is that the built in media player will reset to the main GUI if you click on the skin button and select internal, which saves you having to switch off and on again.
 

Catflap26

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
46
Trophies
1
XP
1,601
Country

BinarySoup

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
84
Trophies
0
XP
208
Country
excellent work!

can you let us know exactly what you changed. i'm presuming there's just a reference to the font to be used in that menu.eng file, no?
 

cray-

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Location
perth.au
Website
Visit site
XP
6
Country
Catflap: You rock! The amount of skill and expertise shown by people on these forums always amazes me. Makes tweaking these products a joy when there is so much help at hand.
 

Catflap26

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
46
Trophies
1
XP
1,601
Country
excellent work!

can you let us know exactly what you changed. i'm presuming there's just a reference to the font to be used in that menu.eng file, no?

The original file has FONT-GB and in the edited file that is replaced with FONTWEST

Original file at offset 00000940
464F4E542D47420042494735544F47422E42494E00 FONT-GB.BIG5TOGB.BIN.

Edited file at offset 00000940
464F4E54574553540042494735544F47422E42494E FONTWEST.BIG5TOGB.BIN
 

flygja

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
3
Trophies
0
XP
76
Country
Malaysia
I've got a question: If used together with the software mod to change the languages from Asian to European, which menu file needs to be modified and how?
 

Digital1980

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
499
Trophies
0
XP
190
Country
United States
No, v2.9 is different.
Here is the link with an edited v2.9 Menu.eng.

http://tinyload.com/r96xt

Will this file Menu.eng, allow me to choose a different font selection from the M3 Real Perfect Series setup menu? I don't know if it's the 2.9 version or what but it seems like there are not many options as I would like to find some sort of reset to default option or master clear if that exists?

Thanks for the file and knowledge!

Digital
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: currently banned